We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Snorkeling Site.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Bay

Tobacco Bay
St. George, Bermuda
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 attractions in St. George
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This bay is known for its calm waters and crowded beaches.
Concord, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Snorkeling Site.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The protected cove makes a great place for snorkeling without being beat to death by the waves and current. Lots of fish to see. Walking distance from St Georges or someone may just stop and offer you a ride. The concessions here are weak. Overpriced for what you get and the crew is not really interested in taking care of you but flirting with each other. A great place to hang out for a few hours or spend the day. Sunsets here are magnificent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“You wouldn't believe the amount of fish there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

OK I took a couple of slices of bread with me when I snorkled, but boy oh boy, I have never seen so many fish. Believe me I have been to a great many places around the world. If I had a net I could have caught enough to feed the hotel. However, there is only one small scrappy cafe, chairs are the usual high price and they do not bother to clear litter from the beach so be prepared to find plastic bottles and other trash.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Alright, this might not be hidden but from many Parishes this beach takes some time to get to due to it's location at the tip of the island. We were staying in the Southhampton Parish and had no troubles using the bus system. One bus to Hamilton and another to the beach. The beach has a restuarant that had awesome fish and chips and many other items. There's a bar which is reasonably priced. The beach was one of my favourite on the whole island!! The snorkeling was phenomenal - I was in the water for over two hours and I could have stayed longer. They rent umbrellas and such. We brough our own snorkel equipment and were very happy we did. While this is a little off the beaten path - it's worth your time checking it out.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A small but beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Tobacco Bay is just a short walk from the main town of St. George, and it's definitely worth the trip (or ride, you can get a shuttle if you prefer not to walk). It's pretty small for a beach, which means it can get crowded with tourists, especially when multiple cruise ships are in port. But it's very pretty, the water is clear, and there are some nice facilities nearby. I've heard it's also a great place for snorkeling and you can rent equipment there - we didn't have enough time to try that on our trip, but we look forward to doing it one day in the future when we go back to Bermuda!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A good walk from St. Georges. Can rent snorkelling equipment there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a beautiful bay for snorkelling and swimming in calm and clear waters. Safe for children and offers some change facilities and a cafe for drinks and snacks. There are often multitudes of tourists off cruise boats here and often cannot get a spot to sit. Check out with tourist bureau the times to avoid. Make sure you have sun screen and don't leave things unattended on the beach as it is a bit remote and a place for thieves. When busy it can be cluttered and dirty as people leave their garbage and butts on the beach. For safe snorkelling this is the spot and worth the walk in hot sun on mopeds or on foot or by taxi for the not so energetic. Bring money for water and food as it might be a long day. A must if you are a snorkel loving person, but again try and avoid the busy times.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Bay also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Tobacco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tobacco Bay to your Saves list