We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but be careful of when you go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Bay

Tobacco Bay
#1 Coots Pond Rd, St. George GE03, Bermuda
+1 441-705-7263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great place, but be careful of when you go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We hit Tobacco Bay right at the end of April. It was closed! No restrooms, couldn't rent anything, no concessions - Nada. Turns out it opens May 1. Kind of made it a much less successful day than we had hoped for. We wanted to snorkel, but with no equipment available that was out of the question, so we laid on the beach a while and just left.

Probably a perfect place in June, but in April almost a waste of time. The water and air were both a little cold. Our fault naturally so I can't ding Tobacco Bay for our mistakes.

Not a bad walk from the town where the bus lets you off. No need to take a taxi here at all.

We will try again on our next Bermuda visit - as long as it is May - September time frame.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    93
    41
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Like a Fairy Tale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had a private guide take me to all the beaches in St. George's and I fell in love with Tabacco Bay. It is very shallow for those of you who cannot swim. I can swim very well but walking through the bay for such a great distance with clear and blue water made it my favorite. The rocks from volcanic action years ago make it even more interesting. Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Calm, quiet cove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Tobacco Bay is great if you're based in St. George's or are looking to hit the beach on a windy day - the enclosed cove beach is protected from nasty weather that roughs up the South Shore beaches. Though the sand isn't quite as pink and soft as the South Shore beaches and the water isn't as clear, still a great Bermuda beach with a very convenient beachside restaurant & bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
107 attraction reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Sweet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a nice protected little bay. Cannot imagine a more interesting place to snorkel. The water is clear and I like that it is so sheltered and convenient.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wait for the cruise ships to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I'm a certified diver and have seen more here than on some dives I've been on. The key is to wait for the cruise crowds to leave as many inexperienced snorkel want be's stir up the sand and ruin the experience. The food here is always fresh and excellent and The Buzz has a great menu. It's well worth the trip but again , watch out for the crowds and what time of the week you devise t go.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Bay also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Tobacco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.