We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach all to myself during off season. Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Bay Beach

Tobacco Bay Beach
St. George, Bermuda
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Activities in St. George
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Bermuda's most popular beaches, Tobacco Bay Beach is tourist friendly, with lots of facilities like equipment rentals and a snack bar.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beach all to myself during off season. Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went to this beach during off season and had the beach all to myself. Not a single soul came by for hours. It is a quick walk from the downtown area of St. George's. The beach has clear water that was warm enough to go swimming in in December. Some trash and other debris was washed up on shore, but nothing too bad as described by other reviewers. The rock formations are pretty cool and make for some fun climbing for the brave. Found some pretty colored tiles that I took home as souvenirs. Really loved the serenity and nice walk down to this beach. If you walk past this beach, there are some nice views to the East. I imagine this beach gets pretty busy in the summer. So glad I went during off season.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    18
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hopedale, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Beach for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

What's not to like about Tobacco Bay....Gorgeous views.... Clean beach and shallow water for kids, deeper water to explore for the "big kids". Great snorkeling to the right. For the more adventurous, there are great rocks to climb and jump off of, even little underwater caves to swim through... Hungry? Best fries and burgers at a beach. People are always friendly. We never feel nervous about leaving our stuff while we swim..... Before you leave you can change in the facilities. They are always clean :) Enjoy !!!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We made the trek from St. George's to this beach, quite a walk! Must have been when we were there, right after Hurricane Raphael had passed through, but we found this beach to be totally disgusting. The water near the shore was almost completely covered in seaweed or whatever that stuff is that washes up and with trash. Definitely not worth our time in finding. Maybe if we were interested in snorkeling, it would have been different and we would have waded through the muck. Gives me chills just thinking about it though! It DID NOT look like any of the pictures posted on here the day we were there. We kept walking over to the beach that is on the other side of the fort.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

See my report on the Bay. Great fish, dreadful beach I am afraid. Concessions selling food and drinks like the one here should be made to clear up the crap.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pancevo, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tobacco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great place to chill and enjoy the lovely Bermuda weather...never too crowded, but a bit difficult to access by car

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Bay Beach also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
 
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
St. George, St. George's Parish
 

Been to Tobacco Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.