We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Bay Beach

Tobacco Bay Beach
St. George, Bermuda
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Activities in St. George
Type: Beaches, Food & Drink
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Bermuda's most popular beaches, Tobacco Bay Beach is tourist friendly, with lots of facilities like equipment rentals and a snack bar.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We made the trek from St. George's to this beach, quite a walk! Must have been when we were there, right after Hurricane Raphael had passed through, but we found this beach to be totally disgusting. The water near the shore was almost completely covered in seaweed or whatever that stuff is that washes up and with trash. Definitely not worth our time in finding. Maybe if we were interested in snorkeling, it would have been different and we would have waded through the muck. Gives me chills just thinking about it though! It DID NOT look like any of the pictures posted on here the day we were there. We kept walking over to the beach that is on the other side of the fort.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    36
    18
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

See my report on the Bay. Great fish, dreadful beach I am afraid. Concessions selling food and drinks like the one here should be made to clear up the crap.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pancevo, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tobacco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great place to chill and enjoy the lovely Bermuda weather...never too crowded, but a bit difficult to access by car

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not to miss unless the cruise ships are in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a perfect bay for swimming. I could have been in that water for days. Plus, it's gorgeous with the rocks that form the bay and the beautiful clear water. We saw some snorkellers as well and we would have done that had we planned on being at the beach at all that day. As it was, we swam in our clothes we just couldn't bear being there and not swimming. We travelled off season though and went to Tobacco Bay on a day there were no cruise ships on the island. That's the way to do it, there were maybe 6 other people there and they weren't swimming so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Perfect!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“very pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ended up only wading into the water here because the beach was very crowded and we decided the process of changing into and out of swim clothes and dealing with wet stuff was going to be too annoying for the amount of time we planned to be there. However, just past the snack bar area, there are several paths leading to beautiful rocky areas. Fun to climb around, but watch your footing. It's worth the short walk up here from St. George. (Also, walk a little further down the road to check out Fort St. Catherine and the nearby beach - even if you don't go in the fort, it's a nice view.)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Bay Beach also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
 
Bermuda, Caribbean
 

Been to Tobacco Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Bay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.