We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Bay

Tobacco Bay
#1 Coots Pond Rd, St. George GE03, Bermuda
+1 441-705-7263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

See my report on the Bay. Great fish, dreadful beach I am afraid. Concessions selling food and drinks like the one here should be made to clear up the crap.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    108
    50
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“You wouldn't believe the amount of fish there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

OK I took a couple of slices of bread with me when I snorkled, but boy oh boy, I have never seen so many fish. Believe me I have been to a great many places around the world. If I had a net I could have caught enough to feed the hotel. However, there is only one small scrappy cafe, chairs are the usual high price and they do not bother to clear litter from the beach so be prepared to find plastic bottles and other trash.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pancevo, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tobacco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great place to chill and enjoy the lovely Bermuda weather...never too crowded, but a bit difficult to access by car

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not to miss unless the cruise ships are in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a perfect bay for swimming. I could have been in that water for days. Plus, it's gorgeous with the rocks that form the bay and the beautiful clear water. We saw some snorkellers as well and we would have done that had we planned on being at the beach at all that day. As it was, we swam in our clothes we just couldn't bear being there and not swimming. We travelled off season though and went to Tobacco Bay on a day there were no cruise ships on the island. That's the way to do it, there were maybe 6 other people there and they weren't swimming so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Perfect!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
194 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“very pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ended up only wading into the water here because the beach was very crowded and we decided the process of changing into and out of swim clothes and dealing with wet stuff was going to be too annoying for the amount of time we planned to be there. However, just past the snack bar area, there are several paths leading to beautiful rocky areas. Fun to climb around, but watch your footing. It's worth the short walk up here from St. George. (Also, walk a little further down the road to check out Fort St. Catherine and the nearby beach - even if you don't go in the fort, it's a nice view.)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Bay also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Tobacco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.