We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, expensive wines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Screaming Eagle

Screaming Eagle
J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 228 | Eagle Beach, Aruba, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
+297 587 8021
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Screaming Eagle is a unique restaurant with Miami-style lounge bar atmosphere - edgy interior design, comfortable and chic lounge area, trendy French-Fusion cuisine and a wine and cocktail list to create the mixture for those who dare now a days lifestyle.
Weston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food, expensive wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Some of the wines were outrageously priced. I believe one bottle was listed at $10,000. But they also had two buck chuck for $30, which was ok. The food, however, excellent. The ceviche appetizer was very good. The Snapper and Grouper dishes were done to perfection. Our waiter did not know much about the fish on the menu and he never came back to pour our wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    246
    117
    52
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing food, beautiful restaurant, creative presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had reserved a bed to eat in, which was a very unique and delightful experience. The food was presented extremely well, and the service was amazing. Prices weren't much higher than anywhere else on the island, but it was cooked well, vegetables were fresh, portion size was perfect. I had the skirt steak and my husband had the kangaroo. Specials were very different and I've never seen reindeer, kangaroo and bison on the same menu. Not sure what the others were talking about, this place was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience, service, and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Aruba has no shortage of great restaurants, but Screaming Eagle was our favorite. While eating and drinking on beds may seem gimmicky to some, we enjoyed the experience which seemed to elevate the mood. While not a family-friendly restaurant since kids under 12 are usually not allowed, the manager worked with us so that our twin infant daughters could join us. (She put us in a corner after the girls began drifting off to sleep in their stroller.) Our waiter Jimmy was very knowledgeable and honest about the various drinks and dishes. I had the gazpacho which was delicious and the skirt steak which had a fantastic marinade. My wife had the catch of the day which she enjoyed, though I can't remember what it was. For dessert we had the apple pie and chocolate mousse, both stylishly presented. The waiter had suggested the apple cobbler which I think I would've enjoyed more, though the apple pie was good. Not as good as the mousse though, which my wife only let me have a taste of. I recommend the experience, especially for a romantic night out. While it wasn't cheap, as New Yorkers, it was much less expensive that a restaurant of similar caliber would be here, likely in the meat-packing district.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Faux trendy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a restaurant trying to be trendy and doesn't even do that well. Atmosphere disappointing from the pictures. My fresh catch swordfish caught same day in Aruba not as good not as the frozen swordfish I buy in Trader Joes. We were rushed. This place is interested in one thing only and that is profit. And dinner in bed? (which we didn't do). The last time I had dinner in bed was in the hospital.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Over-priced for non-inventive food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Went to Screaming Eagle tonight & was disappointed. Never mind paying top $ for great food but this was not close to the caliber of a restaurant charging $15-$20 for a starter & $35-50 for a main dish. Escargots were delicious. Ceviche was good but nothing special. You could barely find tuna in the tuna tartar. More like a seaweed salad. We ordered grouper, sword fish & kangaroos' steak. All dishes have exactly the same look: same vegetable, with carrots mixed with potatoes or rice. The difference is that red meat was served on a square plate while seafood on a round dish . Btw, vegetables are your every day broccoli & grilled tomatoes. When a restaurant charges $40 a dish, it'd better come up with something more creative. The ingredients are fresh & the cooking is good but the problem is they have a cook in charge of the kitchen, not a chef.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Screaming Eagle also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Screaming Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Screaming Eagle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.