We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   J. E. Irausquin Blvd. 250, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our friend's parents own a timeshare and this hotel is part of the assigned locations we could stayed in Aruba. We rented a car from the airport and it took us about 20-30 the first time to get to the hotel. It is about 15minutes away from the high rise hotels. The check in was smooth. The room; which we shared (4 adults) was clean, but it felt a little crowded. The view was spectacular as we had an ocean view unit in a top floor. We didn't use many of the amenities, but we joined for happy hour and the cocktails as well as the music was very good. The best part I enjoyed was Eagle beach and the proximity to restaurants by car at night time. The Internet was very slow, but since we only used it prior to dinner time for directions/reviews about restaurants choices we never mentioned anything to the front desk. Overall I would recommend this place to anybody....oh and don't forget "it is ok to drink the nice warm top water".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    316
    122
    42
    22
See reviews for
221
366
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The negatives sadly outweigh the positives. This is our 6th time, and 10th resort we've been to on Aruba. We had a 1 bedroom, 4th floor. It's down a long corridor, that echos miserably! The doors are very heavy, and slam so loudly, that we were woken every morning very early. At night, the same problem, with the added echoing laughter of returning guests. The room itself is part of the problem with the bedroom located right at the front door, with a glass block window facing the corridor. The queen bed was another disappointment, coming from another resort with king beds. You pass down a corridor to a rather small bathroom, with a tiny vanity. Nice granite counter top, but tiny. The kitchen/living/dining room is very small. Again, nice granite counter tops, but not enough space to prepare a meal for a family. There are no coffee filters and no salt and pepper provided. Unusual for a time-share location. The balcony is very tiny, enough for two chairs and a tiny table.

The Check-in/Check-out process was an absolute nightmare. It took a good 30 minutes for check-in, even though we were first in line, with long explanations of charges, and potential fees. Then having to purchase a $35 WIFI card from Setar, the local phone/internet company. Then - the ABSOLUTE WORST IDEA I've ever encountered - they shackle you with a plastic wrist band, that you must wear the whole time you are there, with no way to take it off in the evenings. That is in such bad taste, for that reason alone, I would never come back there.

We had been on Aruba for two weeks, and La Cabana was our third week there - and we did our check-in at 11 am. We were told that the people who had our room had already checked out, and we would have our room by 1 pm. No problem - we went off had a snorkel, came back at 2:30 and were told our room was not ready. We sat in the lobby, until 3:30, when a staffer came by and said you can have your keys now, but you have to promise not to go into the room for another twenty minutes!

Checking out took so long, because they refuse to dedicate one service person to check outs. Checking out itself, once you manage to get to a clerk, is about a 5 minute process, but we waited in line for 90 minutes to do so, because of the incredibly long check-in process. One clerk managed to process only two check-ins in the whole 90 minutes we were in line!

Some positives: Ernie the bell guy was amazing. He helped get our bags into a back room while we waited for our room to become available, and put our food/drinks we brought from the other resort into the fridge for us. He greeted us by name every time we saw him, and was extremely pleasant. The casino called Glitz was small and intimate. I've never played a casino where my money lasted as long. In 5 visits, we were on the plus side 4 times, with one pretty big win. The cocktail waitresses in the casino are simply amazing. I've never had such wonderful service in any casino anywhere in the world. My glass was never empty, never. Terrific.

The pool is fairly large, and had a nice water fall, and a slide for kids. There are two hot tubs, one for "families" and one for adults. The adult hot tub is hotter, but kids jumped into it and basically hogged it. The staff tried once in the 7 days we were there to get the kids out. Blame the parents for letting their kids in there, but the resort could do a bit better there I think. I also liked the poolside service - nice at happy hour after coming back from a long of snorkeling to just place your order and have it brought to you, rather than fight the crowds at the bar.

Being right on the beach it is, is ok if you are just sunning. It is not a snorkel/diving beach. For that you should try Boca Catalina or Malmok up toward the California Lighthouse. We never failed to see green and hawksbill turtles, barracudas, coronet fish, barjacks, porcupinefish, big green morays, chain morays, flying gurnards, Queen and French Angels, etc. at these beaches. If you have a car, you MUST go to Mangel Halto, the best snorkeling site on Aruba that easily rivals the best Curacao has to offer. In the three weeks we there, we snorkeled every day, and the water was wonderfully clear 15 of them, 3 were so-so, and 3 were flat out bad. (We were on Curacao the first week, and snorkeling was good on 3 days of the 7 - luck of the draw I'm afraid.)

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have a nicer patio than upper floors, but no view, except of the pool. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just got back from a week at La Cabana. We had a great weeks. We had stayed at La Cabana around 20 years ago and said then we should come back at some point. Some things take awhile! Last year we returned to Aruba and stayed at the Marriott which was also very nice but does have a different feel. Everyone at La Cabana is very nice and went out of their way to help us. We would return here in a minute and hopefully will again next year. We have been to several locations in the Carribean and so far, this makes us feel the most comfortable. We met several people who have gone to Aruba for years and La Cabana in particular.

We exchanged in through Interval. We had a second floor one bedroom with a pull out couch for the three of us. The ocean view was nice although I would have preferred a fourth floor level to see the entire pool area. Hey, any ocen view is good. The balconey was nice to sit out on and listen to the music playing in the pool area every evening until dinner time. Check out the La Caban webcam and you will wee what I mean.

There were some signs remaining of the renovation but nothing that made a difference to us. The wrist bands were a little annoying but we got used to them. The new casino was very nice and the drinks were free. The odds were no different that we could tell however.There is a new Superstore (grocery) about a 5 minute walk away and that was very handy.

We did not have a problem getting a good hut on the beach but, quite frankly, after kitesurfing for over 2 hours everyday, we hung out at the pool after the first day in the afternoon and anxiously awaited happy hour and the drink of the day specials.

My daughter and I learned to kitesurf at Armando's Kite Shack north of the Marriott. They are great! Highly highly recommend them for learning the sport. They also have a rescue service for those who either do or just think they know what they are doing! It was a quick bus ride away to the Fisherman's Hut area. The three of us also did the full day ABC jeep tour. It was a BLAST! The guides were outstanding and the lunch was a real restaurant meal which was a pleasant surprise. It included pick up and drop off so it was very convenient. The people at the activities desk were very helpful in making (and changing) reservations.

The onsite places were convenient. The fahita special night at the Islander Grill onsite was a good deal and hit the spot after a busy day. We had dinner at two great places a short cab ride away- Madame Janette's and the Buccaneer. We were advised last year to book Madame Janettes's before we arrived to ensure a reservation so we did that. There is no shortage of excellent places to eat although we prefer to frequent those that are local establishments.

We were too tired to do much island nightlife activity except the casino a couple of evenings but we have a list of places to go from some people who did for the next trip!

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously have better view. Ground floor rooms had very large nice patios however. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our room was missing the in shower soap/shampoo dispenser but that was fixed ASAP. While we were unpacking someone from housekeeping knocked and wanted to make sure everything was all set and we told her about the dispenser. The TV in the living room was missing but we did not even say anything as not a big deal to us and at some point during the week we noticed there was there-who knows when it showed up. We had no issues with any construction noise. I love the fact they removed the carpet in the hallways-no musty smell. They are still working on painting the hallways. The housekeeping was excellent all week! The casino opened on Thursday (we had been told it was going to open all week). It is nice and not smoky yet :) I am not sure but I am thinking we might have been the only ones tipping the waitresses as one chased us down to give us more drinks that we had not even ordered :) The bar there looked very cool but we never went down there. We contributed to their profits but overall we probably spent an hour or so between Thursday and Friday night. Overall the resort looks great.. We only ate at the resort for one breakfast and once for wings for a snack-it was fine. The rest of the week we just grabbed Dunkins next door at the Tropicana for breakfast and headed to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our trip was in October (Thursday to Thursday), it was our first trip to Aruba. We had a great time despite the outer effects of Sandy. Sandy gave us clouds and rain every day. We saw brief moments of the sun. There were 6 to 10 foot waves; locals were surprised to see the water so rough. With all that said we will be back again, La Cabana was a great experience, we meet nice people. The rooms were really nice; we had a studio and could not have been happier. I highly recommend staying there. There was construction going on our side of the resort (right outside my balcony) but I knew that going in and expected it, it did not bother me in the least. We rented a car and went to Baby Beach; we used the rental agency in the lobby. Take the extra insurance for $5.00 a day; we had a local crash into the back of us. We did not get hurt and there were no problems with the rental agency because we had the insurance. With the weather and the accident we still would not hesitate to go back to Aruba and will stay at the LA Cabana.

Room Tip: All the rooms are centrally located. I did notice that if you had kids it would be worth will to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just finished a week at La Cabana. Great place with nice rooms. They were clean and well kept. The resort is under construction so there was a lot of noise during the day which kept it from being 4 stars in my book. The restaurants are fine on the property, but uninspired. There are not enough huts on the beach. The property says it has a policy about people who leave their towels on the chairs or in the huts and then removing their belongings after 1 1/2 hours if no activity. We never saw it enforced. It was irritating to see prime hut space with no people around for hours on end. There is no place for "saving a hut" if you are not going to be there, especially as some people who were getting to the beach to stake out huts at 6 am.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor (3rd or 4th) to see the sunset over the pool house at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetawan, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We exchanged into LaCabana for Nov 24 - Dec 1, 2012 (Saturday - Saturday) and were assigned unit 430A. This unit is on the 4th floor and has a good ocean view. A and C units at LaCabana are the 1 bedroom units and B's are the studio's.

This 1 bedroom unit appeared smaller than the studio because it was broken up into separate rooms (bedroom, bathroom and livingroom/kitchen). Actually however studio and 1 bedrooms are the identical size but the studio's layout makes it appear much more open. The kitchens of both studio and 1 bedrooms had the same features (dishwasher, cooktop, microwave, fridge, sink, etc) and would function identically. The balconies of ALL units were particularly small with barely enough room for a small table and 2 chairs.

LaCabana Resort has a rather unique timeshare check-in pattern. Their Saturday – Saturday rooms are on the left hand side of the resort (looking from the ocean) and these all have ocean views! The Sunday – Sunday rooms are on the right hand side of the resort and these too all have ocean views! The Friday - Friday and Thursday - Thursday buildings however do not have any ocean views as these are located behind the main resort. You can check out the resort layout map on the resort's website.

The resort itself is located directly across the road from Eagle Beach which allows very easy access to a great beach! It is very wide, walkable and is very beautiful if beaches are what you like. There are quite a number of shade huts however many do get reserved by people leaving their towels and gear on the lounge chairs. We however never had any trouble finding a place to chill in the shade.

Although the resort supposedly had renovations occurring throughout 2012 it appeared to us that those projects were mostly completed as all we saw was some scaffolding around and we did not experience any construction noise. The new casino however still wasn't open however they were predicting sometime early in the new year.

Internet is not free at this resort and the cost for in room WiFi was $35 per week. There were free computers in the lobby for guests to use however the internet was very slow and intermittent at best. There are no resort shuttles to take you too and from the high rise section however we found it to be only about a 15-20 minute walk and although we didn't use the local buses there is a bus stop located directly in front of the resort.

The Pata Pata Bar had 2 for 1 happy hour from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. and 10 p.m. to 11 p.m. every day however this only applied to certain drinks. We would highly recommend the "Brown Lady"! The Islander Grill restaurant on site has a breakfast buffet on weekends which was delicious ($14.79 pp). Lots of choice hot and cold as well as lots of fruit. There is also a SBarro pizza place near the pool and a Cinnabon coffee and donut shop in the lobby (yum!).

There are gas BBQ grills available for guests (utensils are available at the Towel Hut (free)) which were very handy for those of us who prefer to do some of our own cooking and we saw a maintenance staff person cleaning them thoroughly every morning.

The resort does charge an energy surcharge of $4.50 per night as well as a occupancy tax of $10.29 (government tax).

There is a brand new supermarket called Super Food located about a half block from the resort which has a shortcut walking path to get to it (5 minute walk). We found this very convenient as we did do most of our own cooking in the unit.

For those of us who love to snorkel, we did not find any real snorkeling opportunities directly off the resort (Eagle Beach). We did try a few other beaches on Aruba (Baby Beach and Arashi Beach) that proportedly did have snorkelling opportunities, however we always found the visibility to be rather less than perfect. Perhaps we were spoiled by having visited and snorkelled Curacao one week prior to our visit to Aruba!

Room Tip: The 4th floor just barely gets you over the palm trees out front, so secure a good ocean view ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino

Address: J. E. Irausquin Blvd. 250, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty lodging in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Otel so you can book your La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Beach And Racquet Club
La Cabana Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Oranjestad
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.