We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly A Tropical Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffam's Tropical Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffam's Tropical Haven
Save
You added Buffam's Tropical Haven to your Saves list
Pos Abao 4, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truly A Tropical Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Wow what can I say about this place. It is out of this world. First of all, Rick and Sherrie go out of there way to make you feel like you are just at home. They are the most accomodating and gracious guests one can ask for. The fact that they were able to put up with my wife and I for eight days is a testament to their good nature.

This property is immaculate due to Rick and Sherrie's hard work. The rooms are perfect for your vacation needs. There is a full kitchen, bed, air conditioning, pool, etc. They have all the amenties that you would see in a high rise hotel at the fraction of the cost. The best part about Buffam's is that you never feel rushed. Every morning I would come out of the room to hear the sound of wind chimes, the smell of Sherrie's home cooked breakfast, and the allure of the soothing, cooling swimming pool. We even got to meet the Prime Minister of Aruba with Rick and Sherrie.

If you are looking for a laid back relaxed, off the beat and path bed and breakfast, then look no further. What a gem!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
85
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sherrie and Rick are the best.
If you are looking for a place to rest and get away this is it.
Best cup of coffee on the island. Breakfast rocks and the laid back atmosphere allows you to escape the hustle and bustle of the Resorts. Our new Home away from home

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Sherrie and Rick are very warm, attentive and welcoming hosts. Staying with the locals instead of the high rise hotels in the touristy spot is definitely our traveling style. What we like best was the large and clean apartment, which offers everything our family needed. The breakfast served each morning was delicious and plentiful. Breakfast time was the time where we got the best tips from Sherrie and Rick on the restaurants and the beaches frequented by the locals, and also get to know the other guests. The yard around the property and the swimming pool is well maintained.
You definitely need to rent a car to visit the island. The dirt roads on the North side of the island lead to rugged beautiful scenery, totally different from the South side. Also It rains quite a bit on the island, not for long though. We especially like the Baby beach and the Arashi beach for snorkeling. For dining, restaurant MADAME JANETTE was simply fabulous. Restaurant Zeerovers offers the fresh catch of the day, it's also the place where the locals hang out.
We will defintely come back to the BUFFAM's tropical Haven when time permits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I must say that all the reviews are correct when they talk about Rick and Sherrie's hospitality. They certainly made us feel at home in Aruba. When we arrived they were there to greet us and show us around. There were some cool drinks in the fridge and they were able to answer any questions we had and offer some activity/dining suggestions

We had a big room with a kitchen. I don't know that the kitchen is well equipped enough for any gourmet meals, but it was fine for snacks and drinks. Bring your own paper goods and wrapping materials if you need that stuff. Maybe spices too because everything in Aruba is imported and is expensive. No oven and just a small stovetop. Full refrigerator though. Also a cooler to bring to the beach.

In Aruba most homes get their hot water from passive solar heat which means that the pipes are buried very close to the surface and the water in them gets hot. They then don't use water heaters. The water at the Buffman's isn't hot or cold, but tepid. Since Aruba is almost always hot and sunny it usually felt good.
Also, FYI: the water in Aruba is very safe to drink as it all goes through a desalinating filter system.

The yard and pool area is beautiful, clean and relaxing. It is located in a real Arubian neighborhood. It seemed perfectly safe to walk around day or night. Lots of dogs barking occasionally but all were inside their gated yards. Other than that it was very quiet.

The place is about 3/4 of a mile to a very beautiful beach. I would have to say it is not a great walk because you have to cross some busy roads and then walk on a quiet road through a kind of ugly field. Safe but not pretty. The beach has a few nice public shade shelters. There is also a public bus stop. The buses are really quite nice and will take you to the fancy hotel/restaurant area and their public beaches or to the other beautiful, non-built up public beaches. I think the cost is $2.30 one way. When we were there we did rent a car for part of the time. Parking was no problem at beaches, a little challenging at night by the high rises.

One of our nicest memories of Aruba will be sitting around in the mornings or evenings chatting with the other guests or Rick and Sherrie. It was fun to hear the plans and adventures of others.
If you are the luxury hotel type this may not be for you. But for us it was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent four nights at Tropical Haven. It was such a neat and clean place. Sherrie was away back to the States when I was there, but Rick made everything nice. I enjoyed the beach a lot, which is walkable. I was going through some difficulties in my personal life, it was nice to have someone that looked after you and made you feel like home while traveling.
Susan Sun from Baltimore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

First of all, the Buffam's are great people. They are retirees from Massachusetts who have moved down to Aruba to set up a B&B - living the life! They are incredibly helpful and made us feel comfortable from our first email to our final goodbyes. They set us up with a rental car that was far cheaper than any of the regular chains ($30/day) and helped us set up daily activities and told us exactly where to go and not to go! Their place is very quaint and relaxing...the only SLIGHT downfall is that is located in the middle of a neighborhood of locals, in other words you would have a tough time without a rental car there and you wouldn't want to walk around the area (not pretty). However, their proximity to the beach (a mile or two) is awesome, and everything they do for guests makes this a top place in my book. I will definitely be returning to Buffam's and recommending them to all of my friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Sherrie and Rick are warm, welcoming and very helpful hosts, they always had a friendly greeting whenever we saw them and it was obvious how much they enjoy meeting people from different parts of the world and sharing their tips and advice to make people's visit the best it can be on this lovely island.
They include personal touches such as a welcome note and some welcome drinks in your fridge and make sure you are provided with everything you could need (cooler to take to the beach, bottle opener, magazines in your room featuring things to do in Aruba etc) during your time there. Only want to snorkel for a couple of days and don't want to waste money buying gear? They rent snorkeling equipment for a very reasonable day rate. Free Wifi is included, the pool is always kept clean and Sherrie's breakfasts are always tasty.
We enjoy staying in personal B&B's with great hosts instead of (quite often) unfriendly, uncaring hotels and wouldn't hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffam's Tropical Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffam's Tropical Haven

Address: Pos Abao 4, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Haven is conveniently located near Aruba's finest beaches, shopping, casinos, supermarkets, golf courses, and restaurants. Close to the action yet far enough away to allow you to retreat to calm relaxation at the end of the day. Our apartments are situated in the residential area of Pos Abao, offering you an authentic Aruban experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffam`s Tropical Haven Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Buffam's Tropical Haven Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffam's Tropical Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.