We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, but average seafood considering the high cost.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LES CRUSTACES RESTAURANT

LES CRUSTACES RESTAURANT
Ritz-Carlton | LG Smith Boulevard, 107, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
+297 527 2222
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner
Description: The cuisine of Les Crustaces blends day-boat fresh product, classic culinary technique and a eye for the dramatic to create a dining experience like none other in Aruba. Fresh fish and shellfish anchors the menu, as the culinary team skillfully balances a respect for the subtle flavors of the raw ingredients with a passion for the bold flavors of the Caribbean.
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, but average seafood considering the high cost.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This restaurant has only been open about 4 months but the attentiveness of the wait staff was exceptional. However, most of the appetizers and entrees looked very pretty on the plate, but did not taste particularly special. This was especially true of the Halibut and the Lobster Bisque. Also, the portion sizes were pretty small. Don't go hungry. The bill was $100 per person including a glass of wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    13
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A truly fine dining experience in Aruba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Ritz Carlton recently opened a hotel in Aruba and with it the island now has a fabulous new seafood restaurant called Les Crustaces. We loved it so much we recently ate there five times in a two-week span! The seafood is so fresh, it practically swims on to your plate! They feature an assortment of locally caught, fabulous fresh fish (sometimes caught literally hours before it is prepared), as well as oysters, lobsters, scallops and other shellfish flown in from some of the finest seafood companies in the states. The butter poached fresh Caribbean lobster was amazing. So was the Maine lobster for that matter! While we were there, Chef Gilles also imported some amazing truffles that were wonderful complements to both the starters and many entrées.

Chef Gilles is creative, exacting and artistic. Every dish that comes out of his kitchen tastes as good as it looks. He has served on the staff of the wonderful kitchen of Le Bernardin in New York City in addition to other fine dining establishments in the Ritz organization. He is truly a fine chef, and a very personable, lovely man.

I can't say enough about the service. Everyone from the wait staff to the bus staff to the kitchen staff, along with the manager and hostesses were friendly and sincerely eager to please. We've been traveling to Aruba for many, many years and there are several excellent restaurants to choose from. Now there is one that is a cut above the others, and Aruba has a gourmet seafood restaurant that can truly be characterized as fine dining. Congratulations Chef Gilles!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Superb dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had an amazing dinner at this impressive new restaurant. Each dish was beautifully plated, and exquisitely prepared. We had the poached lobster... Amazing! And the tuna and halibut were some of the best fish dishes we've eaten! Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“St valentine dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Set menu 125 usd per person, first thing I can't stop commenting it is the food. I'm a meat lover but the way they cook the fish here it is spectacular, we had different fish and meat cuts, all of them ordered in different style ( medium well, medium red....) and all of them came cooked to perfection, kudos to the kitchen. Our waiter Kenny was very professional, great knowledge of this menu explaining the ingredients and very attentive. For sure there was a good job with the staff briefing before the operation! The place it's upscale and fancy, nice music and atmosphere. I don't know if I'll be lucky to be back soon cause it is pricey, but for sure it is worth. Some very interesting wines in the list.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very interestingly good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

To us up the entire evening it was good.
Lets start off by saying the staff was fabulous.
They did everything in their power to make it perfect.
The lobster bisque was something I never had before.
I didn't care for it and they brought a dish of yellow jack
infusion end with a special sauce that was superb.
This was an incredible dish.
We had the Jonah crabs and they were quite good and they did not hit us over the head
with the price. 21.00 for four good size. Quite reasonable.
The fishes we had were tuna in a olive purée sauce. This was very good and cooked rare and fresh.
The second was the swordfish in a bell pepper sauce. Also quite good
The wine was very good
If it wasn't for the bisque I. Would of given it five stars.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LES CRUSTACES RESTAURANT also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to LES CRUSTACES RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LES CRUSTACES RESTAURANT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.