We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort...paradise! Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba to your Saves list
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L.G. Smith Boulavard 55 B, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort...paradise! Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a five night stay at the Bucuti and we are already certain that we will be returning. I had read a few of the negative reviews before arriving and didn't agree with any of them once I experienced Bucuti for myself. The entire resort has a spa-like feel. Beautiful, clean, quiet and relaxing. The staff is incredibly welcoming and we felt like we were receiving a very high level of hospitality from beginning to end. The location is perfect, right on a beautiful stretch of Eagle Beach and within walking distance to other hotels, restaurants and a casino. The resort never felt crowded and there were always plenty of chairs and umbrellas for the guests on the beach (even one day when a portion of the beach was partially flooded because of an unusual storm surge that brought the tide up onto the beach).

Regarding the negative reviews previously posted: I did not find the beds too hard, breakfast was perfect in my opinion with plenty of variety, I did not smell mildew ever, etc.

A few other tips:
1. We rented a car which was worth it for us. Allowed us to explore the island on our own a bit plus parking at the hotel was free. It's a very easy island to navigate.
2. We took an afternoon snorkel cruise on the MiDushi. It was one of the highlights of our trip and would highly recommend. You can book online and the pier is only a 10 minute drive from the hotel.
3. We got to the airport only 2 hours before the flight (I had read you were supposed to be there 3 hours in advance to go through customs on the Arubian side but didn't believe it). We were there with so much time to spare that we were actually able to hop on an earlier flight. Also, going through customs in Aruba saved a ton of time once we landed in the States.
4. There is a small outdoor mall a 3 minute walk away from the hotel next to the Alhambra Casino that has a food and grocery shop. This was a great find since we were able to buy a few items at a much lower cost to keep in our room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bucuti and thought the room had everything we needed. When we go back, we will requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,205
    354
    97
    43
    21
See reviews for
73
2,208
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the glowing reviews on this site and expected a top notch luxury boutique. Instead, we were stuck at what was more akin to a pre-refurbished Holiday Inn. The rooms were sorely in need of upgrades - leaks around air conditioners, cheap fixture, outdated bathrooms... The hotel was located behind mini mall amongst a cluster of mediocre hotels. The service at the bar and restaurant was lacking, to say the least. Excuses were offered but not what i cared to hear when paying top rates. All around, a huge disappointment and we failed to see any indicia of the raved about service or facilities. For what we were charged vs. What we got, it was appalling. I've visited Aruba 7 times and this was the first time I didn't stay at a high rise regrettably. We left totally befuddled a how this could be the best hotel in Aruba.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms at the hallway entrance. You have a view of the parking lot and the deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewaldbiemans, Owner at Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
In reply to the review of “Impossible that this is the best Aruba has to offer...”

After investigating on the comments in your review we realize that your room did have some maintenance issues you should not have experienced and we apologize for that. This is a true lapse in management and is in the process to be corrected as we speak.

We strive to offer personal service in a tranquil atmosphere but do not claim to be a luxury hotel. We do wish to offer a wonderful experience to our guests and the majority of our guests seek intimacy and peacefulness rather than the ambiance of a luxury chain resort. We are categorized as a 4 Star Resort and not at the 5 Star level of the branded hotels on Palm Beach you frequented in the past.

We do reinvest consistently in the resort and for 2013 have a few major projects planned. This includes a complete remodeling of the beachfront restaurant, a total renovation of the Bucuti wing rooms, including the bathrooms at a cost of 5M US$.

The Alhambra Shopping area is a brand new development, and albeit small in size, we would not categorize it as a "strip mall", as it offers quality stores and a variety of restaurants for the enjoyment of guests in the area. We are also proud of our location as it is a quieter area and on a highly renowned beach called Eagle Beach.

We are very sorry that we were not the right venue for you and that our room was not up to par. It pains us not having satisfied one of our guests, and we realize we failed you. It is of some comfort to know that you still enjoy our island and that you would return to the high-rise area and the luxury hotels there that you prefer.

Ewald Biemans
Owner
Biemans@Bucuti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Bucuti welcomed us warmly with champagne and a cool towel. The service was top notch at all times. Adults only was upheld nicely. All inclusive would have been nice, but then we would have never explored as many restaurants as we did. Breakfast was good, however not much variety day to day. Ate dinner at the restaurant which was delicious yet slightly expensive. There are no activities at this resort which was fine depending on what you are coming for. It is a very couples driven romantic atmosphere. We did get a couple massage at the spa which was nice. There is construction going on and we did hear jack hammering the ENTIRE time we got our massage, so it wasn't very relaxing and they didn't seem to care nor did anything for us to compensate. We did have an issue with our late checkout. We requested a late check out at check in and were given 1pm. When we called the day of for another hour we were told we couldn't have the late checkout we were originally given. We ended up getting it but not without a fight. The staff was above and beyond helpful. They made dinner reservations for us at many restaurants. Set up a car rental. Recommended snorkeling at Baby Beach. Our view in Tara Suites was GREAT! Some people mentioned having to get up early for chairs on beach. The first few days of our stay we had no issues, but as the week progressed, it was harder to get chairs/umbrella which is needed in the heat/sun of Aruba. I cannot comment on the pool because we didn't even go to it. I can go to the pool at home. The beach and water were the most beautiful I have ever seen. Crystal waters, white sand beaches. It did get pretty windy/wavy towards the end of our stay. Water was less clear then and pretty rough, was washing the Bucuti beach way. I think 1 or 2 umbrellas were sacrificed from the waves. So when the surf was described as gentle, what we we experienced when we got there was calm, when we left it was "gentle", to be expected. Hotel within walking distance of Alhambra mall and casino, Pizza Bobs (yummy), and a few other resorts which we didn't venture to. Cab ride to High rise only 5-10min ride for $6 or so and same to downtown.

Room Tip: Tara suites FACE the ocean, Bucuti garden suites are perpendicular and farther back from ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

First, let me spare you the work and share ACTUAL negative reviews others gave about this hotel (and they took points away too!!):

"The taxi wasn't on time."
"The hotel shampoo dried out my hair."
"There was no A/C in the lobby." (By the way, the lobby is open-air)

Are you kidding me??

If you're one of these people...PLEASE stay home; that way, the rest of us who appreciate being in Aruba can enjoy the incredible service, breathtaking scenery, and the true paradise Bucuti and Tara really is! These critics are the same people who leave Holiday Inn and TGI Fridays back home to come to a beautiful island...and stay at Holiday Inn and eat at TGI Fridays! Seriously, who does that??

We had a dream honeymoon here and we can't wait to go back soon. A few tips: find a babysitter (no kids allowed), don't get married here unless you're ok with onlookers, get groceries and cash from the Alhambra mall, get used to the CCTV cameras, bring sunscreen and bug spray, and finally, Al and Donald will take care of you at the Sand Bar!

We had such a wonderful stay...Thank you Bucuti and Tara we LOVE you guys!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewaldbiemans, Owner at Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Ewaldbiemans in reply to "the ONLY Place to stay"

We are grateful for your wonderful compliments on our associates and resort. We strive for perfection within our classification and do not always get it right and at times we get reminded that we are not there yet. We really appreciate your encouraging comments and will continue to strive to exceed your expectations.

Thank you - we hope to serve you soon again.

Ewald Biemans
Owner
Biemans@Bucuti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We returned to Aruba for our second vacation and chose to return to Bucuti. We were so impressed on our first trip that we knew we had to return to Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort, this resort by far is the place to stay in Aruba, we had the opportunity to extend our vacation and stayed at another Eagle Beach Resort but believe me there is no comparison to Bucuti, the staff, and management, work to make your stay an unforgettable one. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There were four of us in our party and we split the accommodation so that two stayed in a Bungalow and the Tara Suites. The Bungalow was suburb, it had everything you could want and was only steps to the pool or the restaurant and bar. The veranda was handy for lounging or having a bite to eat at the table and chairs provided. The Tara suite was well appointed and comfortable. Because this was our return to the resort, they made you feel special in there welcoming upon our arrival, and on our room door was a special greeting making you feel as if you belonged to the Bucuti family, and there was a gift in the room to welcome us. The resort staff go out of there way to make your stay special, these include the grounds keepers, maids, bar staff, concierge staff and the front desk. We find this resort to be the place to stay in Aruba, so much so that we have reserved our stay for next year. Can't wait to return to the Bucuti and "One Happy Island"
Paradise returnees

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We originally chose this hotel because of the quiet location. We will continue to come to the Bucuti year after year because of the location, staff, atmosphere and accommodations. The rooms were very comfortable. The concierge arranged all of our outings prior to our arrival. They answered all emails very quickly. They provide a wide variety of food for breakfast which comes with the room - this includes fresh omelets and the most wonderful wait staff - including Althea who made us feel at home from the very first day. We looked forward to seeing her each and everyday. The owner is also very accessible and chats with the guests and takes feedback very seriously. The bartenders - Marina and Donald will make it hard for you to explore the island. They are totally entertaining and their service impecable. We can't wait to return and would not consider any other hotel. We explored the island and found many of the other beaches to be crowded and unpleasant. The website is exactly what you can expect. Check it out - you will not be sorry you chose the Bucuti.

Room Tip: We had a smoking room in the Bucuiti and still had a great view. Very quiet. Don't spend extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just returned from our week at Bucuti last night and cannot stop talking about our amazing experience there. We started every morning with a workout at their brand-new gym and then went on to enjoy their bountiful breakfast spread on the veranda overlooking the ocean, followed by a day of fun and sun on their beautiful beach. What sets Bucuti apart from the pack, however, is the level of service they demonstrate on a daily basis.

On our second night there, my husband suffered several bad cuts on his finger after slipping and landing on a smashed bottle of champagne (don't ask). We ran into the hall for help, and luckily came upon Frances, the quality assurance manager. Frances not only drove us to the hospital's emergency room, but also waited with us until we were processed, the came back after his shift to wait some more. We insisted that he go home, and he gave us his personal cell number with instructions to call him as soon as my husband was released. Seven stitches later, Frances picked us up, drove us back to the hotel, and escorted us to our room...where a new bottle of champagne on ice was waiting for us, compliments of the hotel. We were absolutely blown away. Never have we experienced this level of care and compassion at any hotel.

It should also be noted that the breakfast servers are always cheerful and attentive, and housekeeping is meticulous. We so appreciated follow-up by Rosie, the head of housekeeping, to make sure that our needs were being met. The concierges are all very friendly and efficient. All in all, a wonderful week at Bucuti -- so much so that we reserved our next trip on our way out. See you next year, Bucuti!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba

Address: L.G. Smith Boulavard 55 B, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-only, romantic resort is award-winning and owner-operated. Recognitions include Top 3 Beach Destinations in the World, Conde Nast Gold List, Top 10 Romantic Retreats in the Caribbean, Green Globe High Achievement Award, and TripAdvisor's 2013 Certificate of Excellence. Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts is eco-friendly and offers a tranquil boutique experience with friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucuti And Tara Beach Resorts Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Bucuti Beach Hotel
Golden Tulip Palm Eagle Beach
Golden Tulip Oranjestad
Aruba Bucuti Resort
Bucuti Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.