We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba

Save Saved
You added Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L.G. Smith Boulavard 55 B, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE BREAKFAST, FREE WIFI
new york
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It's true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I'm honestly not sure I can add anything to prior reviews other than to commend Bucuti management. They have done a stellar job of empowering employees to care, make a difference, and do the right thing. This sounds obvious, but trust me, deserves huge applause since it can be very difficult to execute. Our stay was great. Did everything happen perfectly, each time, probably not. That being said, ANY TIME an issue, question, or concern was even suggested to a staff member, it was welcomed, addressed and resolved to our satisfaction. What more can you want. At every level of this organization, you get to deal with someone who listens, understands, cares, and follows up. That is what stood out to me, aside from the awesome beach, the comfortable facilities, the services, the nice touches, we LOVED staying in the bungalows even more than Tara Suites. I don't know what else to add. I read the complaints people have and cringe. You are dealing with a caliber of staff here that is worth any premium you pay, not to mention being on the best beach possible. This was a great experience and I hope to someday return. Recognizing that guest facing staff can make or break an experience, Bucuti management gets it. They obviously hire, train, and retain talented people. Well done!

Room Tip: we loved the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,941
    338
    92
    43
    21
See reviews for
70
1958
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woolwich, Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband have been here at the Bucuti and Tara for a week and are set to leave in another day. We don't want to leave! We have been in a third story Tara suite and it is lovely. We have had quite a few dinners at the Pirates Nest restaurant along with one of their romantic dinners on the beach.

Other than it being free, I don't know what else to ask for. The level of service has been wonderful. The hotel manager greeted us upon check-in (with the champagne welcome) and every member of the staff has said hello to us. Our room is immaculate and very welcoming. The beach is definitely one of the best (this is our 3rd trip to Aruba).

Special thanks to Rodney for making our dinners special (and remembering our name!) and to Marina and Jessie at the bar. We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed from May 4th to 12th. We decided to spend a few extra $$ and stay in their beach front suites. It was sooo worth it.. We had a very relaxing week, just laying on their beautiful beach, having our favorite drinks delivered in a cooled bucket! We meet some nice couples and really enjoyed our stay. This hotel was great, and so was the staff! We hope to come back soon! =)

Room Tip: Updgrate to the suites, you wil have no regrets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It has been almost a year since we were at the Bucuti, so sorry for the late review. This was our 3rd trip and as usual, just fantastic. We were this close to going again in 2013, however, I was more than annoyed with their lounge chairs situation. We would get to the beach early enough (about 7:30) and I would say about 50% of the chairs were "saved". I am not kidding you, one day we sat behind a "saved" chair and it wasn't until about 11:45 when the chair was actually claimed. I really wish something could be done about this as it was enough of a concern, that we made other travel plans. This was the first time back since they had redone the Pirates Nest and though the decor was fabulous, as in previous times I found the food just mediocre (dinner). Per usual, the rooms were fantastic and staff were great. For some reason, with our last two visits to Bucuti the surf was pretty strong and the wind was wicked - sand everywhere! However, if you walk just a ways towards the high rise section, the wind becomes much calmer and the water is like glass. If I receive word that the practice of saving chairs is no longer acceptable, I will definitely be looking to go back in 2014.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moerdijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We are from the Netherlands and have been visiting Bucuti Beach Resort almost every year since 1988. This explains the title of our review. No need to say more. It is an absolutely super resort with excellent service and very friendly staff. It really is our home away from home !

Room Tip: All rooms are very good but we prefer those on the groundfloor garden side. A nice view and no parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a first class hotel. The staff is courteous, welcoming and very attentive.

Upon arrival we were greeted at Reception during registration with a glass of sparkling wine and cool towels to refresh us after our journey.

The hotel is in excellent condition and decorative order. Our room was well appointed with a fridge and mini bar. We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary during our stay and a bottle of Champagne with chocolates and cheese and biscuits were in the room to welcome us as a gift from the hotel. There was complementary coffee for the duration of our stay.

We were on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast was a full breakfast with a very wide choice which included cooked dishes. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day. Breakfast could be taken indoors or outside at the waters edge.

We enjoyed several well prepared evening meals at the hotel taken on a patio on the edge of the sea. We also visited restaurants which are in walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel is right on the beach with more than enough sun loungers.

Each morning we received a free copy of the local newspaper and the free wifi worked well

Money is not used at the hotel and all meals and drinks were put on a tab and settled at the end of our stay. The system worked well.

A lot of the guests seemed to be returning guests and I can see why. This is an excellent hotel and one which deserves a revisit.

There is not a lot to see and do on Aruba. This is an Island to relax and take in the sunshine

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I honeymooned at the Bucuti and Tara this past week. We chose the resort based on all of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! Although we were out and about all over the island on most days, we were always happy to come back to our home away from home at the Bucuti each night!

Let me start by saying that the resort was extremely accommodating by allowing us to shift our stay because of hurricane Sandy. We did have to move rooms for the final night of our stay, but the staff helped make the transition very easy.

Upon arrival via taxi, we were greeted right at the front entrance by Omar, who was extremely friendly and welcoming throughout our entire stay. He grabbed our luggage and showed us to the next stop. We were checked in efficiently at the Tara building with a cold refreshing glass of champagne and then led to our room. The door was tastefully decorated with a little sign that said "just married!" and there was a small gift bag with champagne, cheese, crackers and chocolates waiting for us. All very nice touches I thought.

We stayed in a Tara Suite on the first floor, which opened right out to the beach. The view is to die for, believe me. I would jump out of bed every morning and peek out of the curtains just to be sure it was still there! I did call the resort in advance and request the first floor, and although they told me they couldn't promise it, they made it happen for us. SO nice to just walk right out of your room onto the beach! No elevators or stairs required! As far as the humidifier and purifier, we didn't find them distracting... but we always sleep with a fan on for background noise anyway! Also worth mentioning, we didn't hear any noise from the rooms on either side of us, which I was happy about... especially with all of the honeymooners on site! One night we couldn't seem to get the AC to kick on, so we called the front desk. Mario came right over to the rescue! He explained that if the porch door isn't closed tightly the system won't work properly. He pulled the door shut tight and voila! I have to say that he was probably the most jolly and happy person I have ever met- even when we saw him interacting with his colleagues he was always laughing and seeming to have the time of his life on the job!

If you want to get a set of chairs under the umbrellas on the beach, be sure to get up early (at least 7am) to reserve them with a towel... My husband and I aren't all-day beach bum types so we were fine just throwing our towels on any open chair when we decided to head into the water. But any seat on that beach is fabulous in my opinion. The pool is also a wonderful alternative to the ocean if you want to cool down. Also, the pool is open 24/7, so we took advantage of a few late night swims.

It was great to have breakfast available every morning from 7-11. We alternated eating inside at the Tara Lounge or outside at the Pirate's Nest. I think there was a great variety of hot and cold options... we ate there every morning for a week and I didn't get bored with the breakfast food. We ate our lunches and dinners at other restaurants on the island... we tried the food at the resort on the first night and although it was good it wasn't exemplary in our opinions. We were, however, impressed with the romantic dinner on the beach- what a unique and beautiful experience! Our favorite server was Janice from Jamaica- so friendly and great sense of humor! Also Marina at the beach bar kept us smilling anytime we would grab a drink at happy hour.

There are only a couple things that we feel could use improvement. We did take advantage of the Intermezzo Spa in the Tara building for couples' massages. Although the massages themselves were wonderful, we could hear the sound of the construction outside, which was really distracting. Thankfully it was only for about 10 minutes that we could hear hammering, drilling, etc. The therapists were very apologetic about the distraction and I realize that it is out of their control, but hopefully the resort can find a way to minimize this for future guests. We also had one other issue with the concierge. We asked to book a tour of the Balashi beer plant and were told when and where to go, but were not told that we needed to where close-toed shoes and shirts with sleeves in order to enter the plant. We had rented a Jeep for the day in order to get there (in addition to other stops). The plant offers only one tour per day, and as the plant is about 20 minutes from Bucuti, we did not have enough time to go back and get the necessary clothing to join the tour. We were disappointed, but still had a great time exploring other areas of the island. We let the concierge know about the mix up and they were very apologetic,

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Bucuti and we plan on returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba

Address: L.G. Smith Boulavard 55 B, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-only, romantic resort is award-winning and owner-operated. Recognitions include Top 3 Beach Destinations in the World, Conde Nast Gold List, Top 10 Romantic Retreats in the Caribbean, Green Globe High Achievement Award, and TripAdvisor's 2013 Certificate of Excellence. Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts is eco-friendly and offers a tranquil boutique experience with friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucuti And Tara Beach Resorts Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Bucuti Beach Hotel
Golden Tulip Palm Eagle Beach
Golden Tulip Oranjestad
Aruba Bucuti Resort
Bucuti Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.