We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent a week at the Marriott Aruba Surf Club. Room was exceptionally clean with very comfortable beds. We were very pleased to have free wifi available in our room. We so enjoyed the "Lazy River" as a way of relaxing as we floated along the moving water. The Marriott Surf Club is close to the beach and just a short walk to the stores, restaurants and nightly bar scene along the strip. Very happy that we stayed here.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    600
    182
    87
    48
See reviews for
786
558
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked a three night stay on Marriott Reward points in a one bedroom, oceanside suite, Lighthouse tower. I am a Gold elite member. Arrived early and was prepared to have to wait to check in at 4p. At the time we checked in at 1p, supposedly housekeeping was working on our room then and to check back by 3:30p.

Went into the health club, changed into warm weather clothes and had a nice lunch at the Captain's Galley. Decided to check back on the room at 3p. Nope, not ready yet---Guaranteed ready at 4p.

Went back to the pool and at 3:45p headed up to the front desk to get the room. It took the girl over 10 minutes to find out from housekeeping if the room was ready. At 3:55p I was told "room is not ready"---have a seat and come back up in 5 minutes. Really??!! My room is not ready 5 minutes ahead of the guaranteed check in time? Meanwhile, other people were being given their room assignments.

So I went ahead and had a seat for 5 minutes, and then magically my room was ready.

We were assigned to a room in the COMPASS tower...NOT the Lighthouse tower I reserved. (The Lighthouse tower is closer to the beach.) While our villa was lovely, we had to go out on to the balcony to see a brief view of the ocean.

The rest of the stay was uneventful. The property is beautiful. Enjoy the beach (no trouble getting a palapa or chair). The Lazy River was great fun. Be sure to venture out from the property for restaurants. Hadicurari is good. You will be approached multiple times to visit the sales presentation. Great property for a family, if you're staying for a week, be sure to get groceries to keep the food bill down.

Every time I have booked into a MVC, either as a renter or as a MR award redemption, I have been made to feel as though I was not valued, so keep this in mind if you are not an owner.

Room Tip: Good luck if you're not an owner, but Lighthouse tower is closer to the beach. Non-pool side wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Heading back there in December and looking forward to grand views of the ocean and or the resort. There is no large restaurant, but a very enjoyable pool bar/restaurant with good food and many great cocktails. Have always had very happy staff at the pool bar. They have daily happy hour 2 for one like none other! Purchase a couple tubes and float around the awesome lazy river every day from 4-6! Very nice condo rooms with full kitchens, Marriott bedding and balmy breezes! The island is great for sunning, relaxing, eating and drinking, but try out the other side for four wheeling, jeep tours and totally different scenery! Lots of great restaurants in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed our week at the Marriott Surf Club. Our 2 BR unit was roomy, well-furnished and very comfortable. Trading in from another Marriott property we were pleased to find we were assigned a unit in the Lighthouse Tower with both an ocean view and a great view of the pool area. We heard the music from the water aerobics classes but other than that the pool noise was minimal.

One of the great features of the property is the "Lazy River" that winds through the tropical gardens. The other pools are fine, but this is a great benefit as patrons from the Ocean Club and the Marriott hotel are not permitted to use this pool. Be sure to bring a float of some sort from home if you have room. Otherwise you will need to purchase one at the gift shop. They are supposed to be a maximum length of 36" but we saw many pushing the length limit.

The beach is wide and offers many palapas for guest use. Be sure to get familiar with the palapa reservation policy upon arrival. There is little to no wave action in the water at the beach. There are numerous places along the beach to rent wave runners or do other water activities. Sunsets are truly awesome.

The Surf Club only has one restaurant located at the pool. There are additional Marriott restaurants at the adjoining properties as well as numerous places within a short walk. There are also gas grills available for those guests who would like to eat in their units.

I can't say that we were overwhelmed by the quality of service. It wasn't bad necessarily, but it did not have the feel that we expected for a top tier property. The pool bar staff were nice, but there was an overall lack of warm, festive atmosphere. Front desk staff were warm and friendly, but did not seem to operate with efficiency. The concierge desk is pigeon-holed in with some tour desks and a car rental counter. For this property I would have expected a more comfortable, inviting location. That being said, they are red-doing the lobby area, so perhaps there's an improvement in the works.

Room Tip: Lighthouse Tower, facing the pool with a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

the best hotel in aruba! where else can you float all day around a lazy river!! great rooms, great pool bar, always kept clean. wish i was still there!! pool slide, adults only pool. it is located right next to moomba beach where the happy hours are great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've been Marriott owners for quite some time so we've come to expect a certain quality of service on our vacations. Unfortunately my husband and I were very disappointed this time around. We thought the concierge was the absolute worst we'd ever experienced. There were no smiles. Borderline rudeness and a major lack of effort to assist us - the tourist - which keep them all employed! We tried booking day excursions twice with the concierge and both times the trips fell thru and when asked to assist us to book another excursion, we were told there weren't anymore. We went back to our hotel room and within 10 minutes I found another day trip. I suspect it just wasn't one that the hotel was getting kick backs from. Very sad and unfortunate!!! I also thought it was horrible that the Marriott facility didn't rent inner-tubes for their lazy rivers. We had to go on a wild goose chase just to "buy" one that we then just left by the side of the swimming pool for someone else to use before we left Aruba. Surely the Marriott's can afford to purchase inner-tubes and just rent them out to their guests during their stay.
Personally I would never want to go back to this Marriott facility - it was way too disappointing!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. It is disappointing to hear of the pool service you received from the concierge. This is not typical of the service you expect and deserve from Marriott Vacation Club. We have addressed your comments with the resort management team to ensure corrective action is taken. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just got back from our trip to Aruba and couldnt be more pleased with our stay at the Surf Club! We initially had wanted to book at the Ocean Club next door but boy are we glad that we didnt. My husband and I fell completely in love with the Surf Club property and cant wait to go back.
The location of the hotel is perfect, right off the beach and close to a lot of things to do walking distance.
The best part of the hotel is the Lazy River they have- its what made us fall in love with the Surf Club property. So relaxing just laying on a floaty and sipping on cocktails.
The staff was very friendly and we had a 1 bedroom with a full kitchen and a beautiful balcony facing the ocean. It was perfection.
We ended up renting a car for our stay (even though most reviewers said you dont need one). We wanted to explore the island- and we are glad we did, we used our car every day that we were in Aruba.
Driving to dinner (the ones i recommend: La Trattoria (Italian- by the California Lighthouse) Ginger (delish asian fusion in a really modern setting), Fusion (wine bar and tapas), Tandoor (Indian food, they also have an outside area to smoke Shisha/Hookah), Mexicado (@ the Hyatt, a fairly new restaurant with amazing Mexican cuisine)
We drove to Baby Beach- which was one of the highlights of our trip- beautiful beach with some amazing snorkeling right off the beach. (take some break or a bag of frozen peas- the fish come in flocks)
Make sure to go grocery shopping day 1 of your trip- we ended up just getting a bunch of booze and breakfast items- made breakfast every am and had it on our balcony before starting our day.
Also, walk down the beach towards Hyatt etc (to the left if facing the beach) and visit Luis at I Love Aruba (watersports, activities etc.- His "office" is right by the wharf which seems to have 3 bars on it back to back, about a 5 min walk from the Surf Club) His a vibrant fella and he really hooked us up with some great deals on activities. Im not much of a snorkler, and we booked a snorkeling trip with Luis on a glass bottom boat (not the overpriced submarine) and it was the most amazing experience I have ever had. The water is so clear that i never had to step foot off the boat to feel like I got a total snorkeling experience (of course you could if you wanted to) We also did jetsking (only do it in the morning-its way too windy any other time!) and a Sunset sail (our sailboat had 10 of us on it and we passed by other sail boats that looked crammed with over 100 people and were glad not to be on those boats) something like a sunset sail has to be with a intimate group not a crowd to be romantic!
Also, make sure to walk down the beach (again to the left facing the beach from the hotel) about 10 min walk over to the Radisson and outside by their pool area they have the most gorgeous parrots! Macaws, african greys, Cockatoo! (I think over 10 in total) You can go down and the trainer will put them all on you and have a photo session with them. It was an amazing experience!

All in all we are glad that we booked at the Surf Club- we walked into the Ocean Club during our stay just to see if we were missing anything.. Let me just say it was a lot nicer and a lot more "happening" at the surf club. It was the perfect place to take our anniversary trip- we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.