We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Marriott Surf Club!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Marriott Surf Club!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Surf Club! The lazy river was a favorite with everyone, it was so relaxing and fun to watch the Iguanas sunning themselves on the rocks. The hotel staff was very friendly and very accommodating. We had a one bedroom villa that was very roomy, however the sofa bed was awful even for a child. I called the front desk to let them know it was unacceptable and in just a short time they brought another sofa bed to our room that was so much better and was comfortable. The location was great for walking to restaurants and shopping, however we did rent a car to go to a couple other nice restaurants and to see the rest of the island. We went snorkeling on The Jolly Pirate which was located right off the beach from The Surf Club, it was a great experience especially for our 11 year old granddaughter since it had a rope swing. The beach and water were beautiful! We had a wonderful time and plan to return to the Marriott Surf Club!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    639
    196
    89
    53
See reviews for
837
601
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Like all hotels on the beach in Aruba, this place is absolutely gorgeous. Like most reviews have stated, you need to accept that you will be at a hotel with many many children and families (overall though, even as a couple we didn't find this to be bad). I am not sure how I feel about the value of the hotel, however. They seem to offer very cheap nightly rates, but get back their money wherever possible (as we found out when we got our bill, they were even charging for local calls). I was also less than impressed with the friendliness of the staff, who were mostly rude to us (with a few notable exceptions like the maids and the tennis pro) If you have a family, I would highly recommend this hotel, but otherwise I would suggest trying another hotel among the many in Aruba.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Surf Club was a very large resort by time share standards. The rooms were nice with a appointed kitchen. Very nice grounds and great lazy river and pools. The resort will sell inner tubes or you can bring your own but they are not supplied. The poolside restaurant was pricy but the food was surprisingly good ( fish tacos were terrific ).

There were many umbrellas/ cabanas in front of the hotel for a nominal rental fee but the actual beach and swimming area was quite small considering the size of the hotel. Snorkelling was out of the question in front of the hotel due to the very high volume of boat / jet ski traffic around the roped off swimming area.

I would happily return if travelling with a young family but I wouldn't choose this if looking for a romantic getaway or if you enjoy snorkelling right off the beach in front of your hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had another fabulous week at the Surf Club! As in the past, the room was spotless and well-kept. We used all three bedrooms and brought two couples with us to Aruba (sorry, kids!). It was their first time on-island and they were very impressed with the island and the resort. The staff was friendly and accommodating (not that we ask for much), but if you seem to be even remotely looking for something, a staff member would inquire if you needed anything. This year, for the first time, part of our unit was available by 12:30! We were able to use the lock-off to drop off our luggage and get changed for the beach. Normally, we have to wait until 4 pm.

We only ate at the pool restaurant (The Captain's Galley) one time, but we did have drinks there a few times. As others have reported, it is very expensive.

The resort was a bit quieter than in prior years. We had no trouble getting chairs by the pools and/or beach when we wanted them. We did reserve palapas on two days. Again, no trouble.

I'm happy to report that we are already booked for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Surf Club 8/22-8/29 in a 2br villa that I purchased from arubawego.com. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone with families heading to Aruba.

Rooms: They were beautiful. Modern, clean, fully stocked. Did not have any issues whatsoever. We asked that room service NOT service our room (we can make our own beds...and we aren't that messy so I would prefer strangers not in our room). We just left the "do not disturb" sign on the door all week and were not bothered once. We had a 2BR for only 4 people - so there was plenty of room (and my teenage girls had their own private space).

Resort: I think it was a slow week but we still used the chair tags around the pool to hold spots. We never paid for a palapa reservation - we just took our chance when we finally got down there and took whatever they had left. Only one day were we far back from the water. One day I headed down early to reserve a palapa (was there before 7am) and still only got 5th or 6th row. It wasn't that important to us so I didn't stress over it.

Location: We had a rental car so we didn't walk too many places. We checked out Moomba Beach a couple of times but either it was completely empty or a total mob scene filled with hundreds and hundreds of young local teens dancing (and drinking). We walked through the Ocean Club to get to the Marriott resort for dinner the last night (Ruth's Chris). The Marriott resort was a total different atmosphere but they also had a lot of nice shops at the Ocean Club. I wish we had walked through there before our last night.

Beach/Pool: Wasn't overly crowded but the ocean water was more cloudy than I expected. Most likely due to the in and out of the boats pulling people on the blow up tubes. We brought our floats with us so just relaxed and mostly people watched. Everyone was super nice and friendly. Beach in the morning and around dinner time (before the sunset) was my favorite time. We only went to the pool a few times. Would rather be at the beach!

Restaurants: We only ate at the pool bar the day we arrived. Food was VERY expensive but we expected that for Aruba. Drinks from the pool bar were weak but we had brought some stuff to make our own drinks so didn't stress about it.

Island: We did the half day jeep tour of the natural bridge, pool, etc. with ABC tours. I would recommend it as a great way to see the other side of the island. We also did a snorkel morning tour with Jolly Pirates which was great! Would highly recommend it!

Overall the trip and the resort were exactly what we wanted - will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: We had reserved a garden view - I asked for a high floor before we arrived and when I got there I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pros:
Amazing Resort, Lazy River great for all ages, 2 bedroom villa with lockout plenty of room for all, very spacious, Chair tagging system is better than the other resorts fair for all, Proximity of restaurants, right next to Moomba beach, Amazing grounds, hot tubs, Serenity pool for adults who want to relax without getting upset about being splashed by kids of all ages while reading a book in a kids pool or lazy river surrounded by kids. Great staff, activities throughout the day to entertain all ages, (bingo, trivia, etc), Great fitness facility, plenty of cardio equipment and free weights to keep your fitness level up.

Cons:
People who read books in the lazy river, people who read books in the pools when they are surrounded by young children, and get upset like the children are doing something wrong, they have a serenity pool for all of you people. People who choose to drink right next to the volleyball net while kids are playing and get upset when water pool water gets in their drinks. Yes Aruba is expensive but you know that before going, plenty of affordable restaurants, and activities.

Overall we love this place and the staff and everything about Aruba. Jolly Pirates is the best snorkeling you cannot go wrong with them right next door.

Room Tip: Spy glass tower, main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Marriot surf club,it started a bit shaky with the villa we were given as the view was at least awful ,empty laundry trollies just left outside, I had a good moan to the front desk ,they promised to change my villa the next day,and they did ,they gave me a villa with a great view.
Well that said we had a great time ,every member of the Marriott staff are truly professional they couldn't do enough for you,the accommodation is fantastic .
This is our third visit to Aruba and not the last

Room Tip: Always ask for the garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.