We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay.... IF.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Weehawken, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay.... IF.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here, it was a decent place to stay. it is more of a resort than anything. it kind of felt like it defeated the purpose of going away. make sure you set your alarms because you'll have to wake up at 5 am to get a chair by the pool. the biggest down fall is the crowd of people that take over during middle of January. the rudest people to deal with. Make sure you stay away during that time.
Any other time it would have been a nice place. if the price is right.

Room Tip: Ocean or pool view as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    600
    182
    87
    48
See reviews for
787
558
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed at the Surf club 4 times over the last 8-9 years and always have a great beach vacation. Some times of the year are much more crowded than others. Turns out going the week of Memorial Day was a great time to visit. It was easy to get palapas (even on the day of rental) and move around the complex. It was nice to see that the resort offered some better meal deals and happy hour specials this time around. Of course you can always bring some of your own snacks without issue in your luggage or visit a nearby grocery store when you get there.

Bring lots of fresh sunscreen (like 70 or higher), sunglasses,and a hat even to stand/float in the Caribbean Sea or go around the lazy river. With the steady heat you'll need it. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best view will most likely be on the noisier side of the resort (club next door g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed 4 nights on a promotional rate (399.00 for 4 nights) by subjecting ourselves to a time share pitch. Great deal as long as you can remain steely eyed through the sales promotion. This resort is really nice and the Lazy River is incredibly relaxing. Great eating places right on the beach adjacent to Hotel. Aruba is hard to beat. I would consider coming back and paying the going price on Hotels.com etc

Room Tip: Get invited to a timeshare pitch as long as you have the will power to resist the high pressure sale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My party of 6 adults stayed here from June 15-22. We arrived about 3:30 and got our villa right away. They explained about the chair tags and bracelets and told us how to get to our villa in the Lighthouse Tower. I thought the rooms were very well appointed. I liked the furnishings (nautical style), the beds were comfy, and the kitchen was more than adequate for our needs. Our villa had a beautiful ocean view with a table and 4 chairs on the patio which I used in the AM to read while everyone slept.

Pros: lots of space in villa, Serenity pool, market, air pumps for rafts, outdoor BBQ grills, kitchen
Cons: concierge is not a Marriott concierge, hard to find chairs even as early as 9 am, drink and food prices at pool

A little bit more about the concierge. They work for De Palm tours and are not impartial. If you want to do something and they have the tour that is what they will recommend - they will not give you options if they offer the tour. They are great for making dining reservations, etc, but do your homework ahead of time in case there is another tour operator out there who also has what you want and may be less expensive.

Observation: if you plan to go exploring and out to dinner a lot it is more than likely more economical to rent a car than pay for bus and taxis all week- especially with more than 5 people because then you will need 2 taxis as they can only take a max of 5 passengers per taxi. Our transportation fees for the week were easily $300.

We had great service while there and did not get asked to go to the timeshare presentation (we rented from an owner). The marketplace had a very good assortment of dry and cold pantry items as well as bakery items, sandwiches, and ice cream and their prices were decent.

Others have said it is easy to get a chair, but we did not find this to be true. Even at 9 am 80 percent of chairs at the Serenity pool had tags on them and did not have people occupying them until about 11.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just went with my husband, 2 kids, in-laws and sister-in-law for a week. Fantastic! Loved the pool area and location. Very friendly staff and island. Great for families. Look forward to going back every year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The employees at Marriott's Surf Club are amazing. They go above and beyond to make sure your vacation was perfect. I lost $140.00 cash by the pool and a security guard found it and turned it in. From on side of the hotel to the other the grounds are spotless and beautiful. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay at this location. I will stay here on my next visit to Aruba.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor right over the swim up bar and it was prefect. Three of us stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We own with marriott and traded for our week at the surf club. We loved staying there. Upsides were:

1. The lazy river. Great place to hang out. Never over crowded by our standards.

2. Easy to find chairs any time. If you wanted the perfect spot then you had to get up early. We never had a problem. I think any complaints are misguided.

3. Great location. We loved moomba that was just down the beach. Easy to get to. Great place.

4. Rooms were clean and comfortable as usual. The super foods grocery was convenient and a great place to get all kinds of food.

5. Lots to do. Cooked. Did water sports. Played tennis and shuffleboard. Never bored.

A few minor issues:

1. Very windy. Sometimes uncomfortable. Particularly in the parking lot.

2. Casino area in the hotel smells terribly of smoke. Even the areas around it

3. They can't make a decent drink. Stick to wine and beer.

Overall, a great vacation. We would return any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.