We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Alexandria, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the surf club for 10 days in April 2013 and had a wonderful stay. They were installing wifi at the resort while we were there so previous experiences with wired-only access in room appears to be a moot point now. The fitness center is open 24/7 but is only busy between 7-10 AM. The resort was very clean and had not diminished since our first visit in 2009. The lazy river, sun and breeze were high points as our vacation was aimed at doing "nothing" for 10 days.

Tagging chairs did prompt an early rise but when combined with a trip to the gym was a great way to start each day.

We checked a cooler full of frozen steak,burgers,chicken,frozen berries (smoothies in the room!) and it all arrived still solidly frozen which allowed for cost savings while eating in and allowed our evenings out to be very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    575
    171
    83
    48
See reviews for
757
530
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just returned form Aruba on Monday. We stayed in the Lighthouse Tower at the Marriott Surf Club and had a wonderful trip. I can only speak of our experience, but our unit was in great condition and immaculate. Checkin before 4 pm is not guaranteed, so be prepared if you have an early arrival. We had a rental car and while waiting for our unit to be ready we did our grocery shopping, but you could also go to the pool or beach.

During our stay, they said that they were installing wifi in the units, however the service was still very spotty. We had brought our own router and connected it to the wired Ethernet in the kitchen. This worked perfectly.

The kitchen was clean and well supplied. We didn't expect a mid week towel change, but came back from the pool one day and saw that the unit had been refreshed. During our stay, the maintenance staff was painting the lobby and the elevators. The staff, from the bellman & housekeeping to the front desk were very friendly, with the exception of one of the concierges.

Since it was not prime school vacation time, the resort did not seem overly crowded. I think that any place that you go, there is always competition for pool chairs. The tag system seems to work, and at least you know which chairs are yours. You might consider bringing towel clips because of the high winds. We also brought floats with us, though for $7 you can buy a basic inflatable ring in the Market Place. The water in the lazy river was crystal clear, a very comfortable temperature and even enjoyed by all, especially our older parents.

We had 3 meals at the Captain's Galley. The food is good & presented nicely. I would skip the BBQ Buffet on Friday night, unless you don't want to go out for dinner. The food is plentiful, but not very exciting. It was our opinion that you'd be better off ordering from the regular menu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This year was better than last year! Not Easter week like last year where you couldn't find a beach chair available. The weather was perfect, the resort was a nice crowd but not overly saturated with children, so adults could relax. Enjoyed the amenities including the exercise room which was newly remodeled. The suites are spacious and very comfortable. Overall, it was a perfect place for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This location is amazing. Great pool system with a lazy river and water slide. Great for families, but if your traveling as a couple or without kids, I would look at the Marriott Ocean Club next door. The Surf Club and Ocean club do not share pools and the Ocean Club's pools are more oriented toward adults.

Both have a great location on the island and great beach front with palapas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and another couple stayed 6 days/5 nights. Our last visit to a sister Marriott property on this beach was in 2007; there are at least four Marriott's, side by side, on this stretch of sand. If you are seeking a quiet getaway, stop here. This is NOT the place for you. But, if you have young children, love a waterpark atmosphere with music, games, entertainment, security and all the convenience a family resort provides, you've got it. This is a classic Marriott with blue water, sand and amazing sunsets. With the kitchens, gas grills and variety of restaurants, you really don't need to leave the resort. And, from the time you check in to every time you pass a courtesy desk, you will be offered "the opportunity to learn more about the Marriott Vacation Club". It got to the point where I avoided eye contact and conversation with anyone in a uniform - and we had already been to the sales pitch. They're just doing their job, but I'm on vacation. Upon arrival, you will be given wrist bands to wear and tags for reserving equipment. Our room was ready upon arrival and the two bedrooms, two bathrooms and two balconies provided privacy. We stayed in the Lighthouse Tower facing the lazy river, waterslide, pools with gentle sloping entrances, a swim-up bar and jacuzzis. Wi-fi was just installed in rooms and can be accessed everywhere. There is a nice, but very hot, well appointed gym, food/t-shirts/sunscreen market place, on-site car rental agency and watersport reservation office. Floats can be purchased on site and there is a stand for hair braiding and temporary tattoos. The grounds are hospitable to native birds and lizards. Everything is attractive, well maintained and it really holds up to the foot traffic. Access to the beach is easy and palapas, chairs and lounges are available with a reservation (some are free and others must be rented). The beach is windy and crowded with watersport operators and sunbathers, but the surf is gentle and there is a good sandy bottom. There are watersports galore, but it keeps the water murky. From water jet packs to paddle board, they have it all. Kite sailing is common just down the beach and you can walk for hours. While this was not my ideal vacation, I will be fair: it is a good resort for family fun. If you want to stay in a Marriott on this beach and seek something comparatively low key, move down the beach to the Ocean Club and/or Stellaris Casino towers. Here you'll find the Pavillion Bar, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, outdoor massage hut, Simply Fish dining on the beach and contemporary common area with snacks, coffee and a bar. There are adult only pools too. The quieter beach is steps away in front of what will be a new resort. Again, if you are seeking a getaway, rent a car. Head down to the lighthouse, to the site of Natural Bridge and the best beach on the island, Baby Beach.

Room Tip: Things get going at 8 a.m. All rooms have the same view of the pool areas. Quieter rooms will be loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in March and loved every minute of our stay. We are in our early 30's and don't have kids so I have to say we were a little nervous after reading some earlier reviews about crowded pool/beach, noisy kids etc., but after staying here I can't even imagine what some people are complaining about...it was a great combination of all age groups and our stay far exceeded our expectations.

We had a lovely room with a stunning ocean view on the 8th floor in the Lighthouse Tower. It was a perfect size for us with a mini kitchenette stocked with dishes, utensils, wine glasses and everything you can think of for a small meal. We went to the supermarket Ling & Sons the first day (highly recommend) and stocked up on beer, wine and breakfast items. We really enjoyed having breakfast on our balcony each morning...we saved money to spend on dinners instead and it also allowed us to relax rather than run around and get dressed for breakfast.

We spent each day at a reserved palapa (tiki umbrella with loungers) on the beach. Never had to wake up early and wait in line. At 4pm each day we simply went over to the reservation booth and choose our palapa for the next day, so easy...we were on the beach at that time anyway.

Loved the lazy river!! Definitely bring your own tubes from home, they have an electric pump right near the towel desk to fill it. You can even bring your drink in the lazy river, so relaxing! We didn't sit by the pool, why would you want to when you have an amazing beach with servers who come and bring you food and drinks?

Walk over to Moomba Beach Bar (right next door) for lunch on the beach... it is fun for nightlife too, good drinks and DJ. If you're looking for a great party, book the Kukoo Kukunu, you won't be disappointed!!! Best night of the trip!

The staff couldn't have been friendlier; everyone greets you with a smile. We noticed that security walks the grounds at night, although we never felt unsafe at all.

We had two sets of friends staying at different hotels in the high rise area so we experienced a few different places and we definitely loved the Surf Club the most. It just has the overall package; whether it's activities or just a quiet relaxing day at the beach. We are missing it already and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lighthouse tower has the beast beach views and is in the center of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time on our first stay at the Surf Club. Our two bedroom oceanfront villa had a fabulous view of the sunsets and was roomy and well appointed. The staff at the resort couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. The pool gets very crowded, but if you're over 21, the serenity pool is a great alternative. There are lots of families (read: noisy, splashy) in the main pool. I wasn't impressed by the cleanliness of that pool or pool deck, the water was occasionally cloudy - I'm sure with all the use it was getting, it was tough to keep clean. That didn't stop us from swimming up to the pool bar though! Delicious cocktails!
we took full advantage of the palapas at the beach - we had no problem reserving them, and for $10 a day, it was well worth having one waiting for us when we wanted.
We used the fitness but room, but that was very warm and crowded. they could easily double the number of cardio machines and still have people waiting.
The concierge and bell hops were great. There seemed to be long lines at the front desk all the time.

Room Tip: Go oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.