We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #18 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Slipping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been coming to Aruba for 10+ years and as a whole the island seems to be slipping a bit as tourism has boomed. The Marriott is no exception. We bought Surf Club pre construction and enjoyed our first few visits here as construction went on. However as the last of Surf Club's buildings were completed we noticed during high peak times the hotel cannot handle its guest load. This can be seen by long check in lines, having to wake up at 5am to get pool chairs, etc. If you come during the low season these issues are non existent. Outside of those issues, the resort is great. The pool/lazy river are relaxing, the beach is amazing, and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    770
    558
    168
    82
    48
See reviews for
735
520
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have been staying at the Marriott Surf Club for the past 5 years and I love it every single time! The staff is incredibly friendly anywhere you go from the front desk to Security keeping everyone safe around the grounds. I can't wait to bring my new twins to this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Friendly staff, nice place. Easy access to ocean with nice restaurant s like hadicurari and moomba beach. Downside, no Wi-Fi in the room. I stayed mostly in lobby or by pool to get free WiFi. Moomba has one too. If you eat and drink at moomba beach, you can have lounge chairs facing the ocean for free. You don't have to worry about tagging a lounge chair at Marriott which is next to impossible during the day! Marriott also have a market place store on site for deli, souvenirs etc. You can walk by the beach to get to bars and restaurant or shopping. At night, there are small shops in front of high rise hotels like Radisson. To get there, walk by the beach and cut through holiday inn. Pretty safe to walk at night. Don't bother with casinos, nothing much to it. We will be staying lazy tomorrow and will hang around lazy river.

Room Tip: Try to get as high as 5th floor atleast. That's what we have and it's ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had read a ton of reviews of the Surf Club prior to our stay the last week of February and I after staying on property, I can not honestly understand some of the negative comments. We have three kids, ages 7, 5, and 2, and the Surf Club was absolutely perfect for them and us! Yes, if you are on a honeymoon or romantic getaway, then you should probably look to the Ocean Club or another hotel. But simple research prior to booking would make this a no-brainer. Enough of that, on to a review of the actual Surf Club.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa that was the perfect setup for our family. Very clean with a spacious kitchen and living area. Great advice from the previous review to ask the front desk for a pool-side room upon check-in, better view than the other side.
Yes, you need to get down to the pool area before 7 to ensure good seats by whichever area of the pools you would like for the day. We loved the area of the pool closer to the waterslide, directly in front of the gradual walk-in, great for our youngest. It is windier in this area of the property because it's between the towers, but it was refreshing and worth it for the location. I got down each morning a few minutes before 7 am and had absolutely no problem tagging the seats we wanted.
As you may have read in earlier reviews, there is no wireless internet in the rooms. The misconception is that it is only accessible in the lobby. We were able to get internet from our pool chairs near the waterslide and baby pool toward the front of the property.
We did try the Captain's Restaurant the night we arrived, and though expensive, the food was very good. I had wings and, to be honest, they were some of the best I've ever had. As for the expense, get over it - you're in the Caribbean.
The beach was not for us, too crowded and the beach chairs seem to come right up to the water. Not a real relaxing or even fun vibe. We didn't care though, the pool area and lazy river were plenty for us!
My advice is to hit the grocery store (Ling and Sons over Super Food, for sure - more of an "American"-type store) once you arrive and get breakfast and lunch. That way you can spend more time on site and at the pool.
Overall, if you have a young family, this is the place to go in Aruba. If you are looking for peace and traquility, look elsewhere. There aren't crying babies and yelling parents all around you, but it is a busier scene.
We had a great time and highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Here I sit at 646 am at the pool - having been here almost an hour and a half - yes, arrived at 530 to get a chair by the pool - And I was not even close to being the first to arrive. You have to put your tags on the chairs, and then wait until 7 am to 'reserve' the chairs. You would think that a world class organization like Marriot would have a better process. We discovered this craziness on day 4 of our stay - wondering how all the pool chairs could always be reserved.

This is a STUPID way to spend your morning on vacation.

Marriot - do you really want your guest to have to get up at 5 am to simply get a pool chair? Get some more chairs or creat a rotating process of reservations for each room, no one spends every day at the pool - there has to be a better way!

Room Tip: Lower floors better - elevators jam up since ..everyone.. Is bringing a tube or inflatable to, from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We regret the inconvenience you experienced on your vacation when reserving pool chairs. Unfortunately this is a problem at the resort during periods of high occupancy and there is simply not enough space to add more chairs. We agree that people do not spend all day, every day at the pool. However, without some system of control, guests reserve chairs all day when only using them for a short period of time. We have tried several options to ensure the most fair and equitable process for managing the pool chairs during high occupancy. We truly apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just returned from seven days here and it is probably the best place in Aruba for families with younger children. The 1 bed villa had a great layout and was nicely appointed. It has an awesome pool with a great slide and lazy river. The hotel staff were very nice and very helpful – they genuinely seemed interested in ensuring we enjoyed our stay. Helen at the front desk was especially great! Which leads me to the tip – when booking your room make sure to request a poolside room (simply selecting an ocean view/side room will not ensure this). The first room we checked into was facing the other Marriott property and was directly above the laundry facility – not that great. It would have been very easy for them to say too bad we are at capacity and don’t have any other villas available but Helen took the time and somehow was able to find one with a poolside view – really made the trip great!

Room Tip: request a room with a poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

my husband and I came here for a week. I was surprised because all of the reviews talked about crying children and being crowded... It wasn't crowed and I saw one crying child. Here is the thing people, children cry- get over it. Resorts are busy- if you don't want to be bothered by crowds then don't go during a busy time! My advise is to bring food/go shopping and skip breakfast and lunch here- it's expensive. My husband and I went shopping the first day and brought items as well. This way we avoided paying $15 for a burger. We spent our money going out to nice dinners and having wine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.