We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

my husband and I came here for a week. I was surprised because all of the reviews talked about crying children and being crowded... It wasn't crowed and I saw one crying child. Here is the thing people, children cry- get over it. Resorts are busy- if you don't want to be bothered by crowds then don't go during a busy time! My advise is to bring food/go shopping and skip breakfast and lunch here- it's expensive. My husband and I went shopping the first day and brought items as well. This way we avoided paying $15 for a burger. We spent our money going out to nice dinners and having wine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    639
    196
    89
    53
See reviews for
837
601
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My family has a couple weeks of time shares and we have stayed at this Vacation club twice now and each time we had an amazing experience. It's right on the beach, there is a lazy review, multiple hot tubs, a couple of pools, a water slide, a swim up bar, and many other awesome things to do. The rooms are extremely nice and everyone gets a great view. Also close to the downtown area. It's a great place for families with children or just with some friends or significant other. I would go here every year if I could afford it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We've been owners for years and just returned from a relaxing week in a two bedroom Garden View unit. We prefer the Compass building for its easy access and proximity to the lobby, which has Garden View rooms at level 3 and below.
There's a pool bar and floating in the lazy river provides the perfect way to cool off. Floating around on a tube all day - what can be better? The white sand beach is wide and the water is clear and refreshing. The Marriott property offers several restaurants and a market that is well stocked with food and other essentials (tubes for the lazy river). There are many great restaurants in the area - either walking distance along the beach or within a short cab ride - which makes this an easy destination to visit. The Hyatt, which is a short walk down the beach, is a favorite for lunch. Madame Janette's is our favorite dinner destination. We always rent a car, though it's not necessary.
Be sure to tag a lounge early in the morning as they fill up before 7am. If you are willing to wait until the afternoon, you may be able to find one or two - though likely not in a shaded area. Hotel staff are friendly and accommodating, though the front desk can become hectic with new arrivals. There are often lots of children as this is a popular family resort, particularly during school vacations.
While we do trade to other properties, we are loyal Marriott owners, have stayed at the Marriott Aruba Surf Club many times and continue to return as it offers an easy, stress free winter get-a-way.

Room Tip: Corner rooms and higher floors are always desirable. The Compass building provides easy access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We received a trip to the Marriot Surf Club as a gift and honeymoon - i know, very generous. It is a clean hotel and the 1-bedroom that we stayed in was nice. It seemed a little dated which I didnt mind but I was surprised to see all of the reviews about the updates to the facilities since the Marriot Hotel and even parts of the Marriot Ocean Club next door seemed at least 10 years more recent. We went in the peak of family travel time (the last week in Feb) so I expected families but I guess not as many as we experienced. There is really no separating yourself from screaming babies and toddlers on the property and it isn't a relaxing place by any means, which is what we were looking for. One morning, we decided to eat at the pool side restaurant. We had to go up and ask for menus, then hail down a waiter to get us drinks. After an hour and 45 minutes, we still hadn't received our eggs and had wasted prime sun time sitting around. The lazy river is nice but they swindle you into buying your own tube - come on, just supply them. At the beginning of the trip we had agreed to sit through the timeshare talk and by the time that came around I was happy that I wouldn't be tempted to buy based on our experience. Especially when they actually told us in the presentation that it was a $20k buy in and that this was one of their nicest properties. Our last night in town we took a stroll through the Hyatt and it is safe to say that the next time we are in Aruba we will definitely be staying there, what a nice place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is our 4th visit to the Surf Club and it's still the best place to stay in Aruba with a family. The major complaint from others is kids running around. Take a look at the place, its built for families. If your looking for a romantic, quiet and peacful place, stay at the Hyatt. The Surf Club is built for family fun!

They do have an adult pool, but you can't get away from the family fun.

I have twin 7 year boys and they enjoy Aruba more than Disney. We do every water sport, which is loacted on the beach. There is no end to the fun. You make it what you want.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view in any tower. If you like the beach stay in the Lighthouse Tower. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed with our children. So many fun things for them to do! There is a la zy river, daily fun activities for kids and adults and the water at the beach does not have big waves so the kids can easily swim.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week in a guest room size unit on an exchange Great value considering we gave up a two bedroom .Press for an ocean view they are plentiful but not guaranteed This is a true resort with amenities , restaurants , beach service ,lounge chairs , and shade huts everywhere .There was an old time beach vendor who rented expensive umbrellas at waters edge which ruined the view for a lot of others The "lazy river" pool was always busy but never looked overcrowded (we prefer the white sand beach and warm salt water) The lobby can get booked up so plan to use the locker room and not miss the beach/pool on check in /out day The staff were pleasant and helpful We didn't feel the chair tag usage was necessary at the beach but to get a shade hut you have to get in line early am (seems to be prevalent in Aruba resorts) Every water sport you could want is available within walking distance as well as shopping and restaurants for any budget. Cabs on the island are very expensive .There is bus service but it takes time if you travel any distance as all routes funnel through the main town

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.