We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded Family Destination-But With Great Rooms/Pools!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Crowded Family Destination-But With Great Rooms/Pools!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is a part of a huge complex that includes the casino Marriott, and the ocean club. The rooms are nice, clean, and generally spacious. I had a side view of the ocean as the balcony opened up onto the side of the hotel. The pool area is amazing and offers so much activity for one hotel. There were multiple hot tubs and the lazy river was awesome. The only downside is ocean chairs/huts you have to reserve early on and the beach and pools get very crowded very quickly. There is a nice area for playing beach volleyball as well, and there is a restaurant located on the beach which is really nice. I would say this is less of a honeymoon or couples hotel (just specifically the surf club) because of the large amount of families with younger children running around. As with everything in Aruba, the food and hotels and fun are incredibly expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    746
    528
    162
    78
    43
See reviews for
691
511
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just returned from the Aruba Marriott Surf Club and enjoyed the island and resort. It is a large resort as you can see from the pictures, however we never felt overrun by people. We like the ocean and beach, and did not experience any problems getting chairs there. There was never a wait with the elevators and our two bedroom unit was spacious. We rented a car for the week and explored the entire island. We recommend a car if you like to explore. There are nice restaurants and bars within walking distance. I recommend Aruba for the beautiful beach, water and sand. The island is fun to explore, the outback area is beautiful, and the people are nice. I do not recommend the island for great restaurants and shopping. In all we enjoying our visit and would return to the Marriott Surf Club. We do not recommend the Marriott Casino.(next door) I would not go expecting to spend time at any of the casinos on this island.

Room Tip: A high floor will provide good views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Il
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We go to the Surf Club every year,have been doing so for 5-6 years.Nothing really has changed.The place is starting to get dated,and I understand there is going to be WiFi in the rooms,and an expanded fitness center.It's still a great place to go,fully applianced for all your vacation needs.The tagging of the chairs is just systematic of a lot of people wanting "good" spaces and more people than spaces.It's not a perfect system,but it's the only one they have.So go,enjoy the sun,the restaurants and the beach and relax.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at all 3 of the Marriott propertys in Aruba. The property is very well maintained, clean and beautiful. We are always happy with Marriott but it can be extremely crowded over the holidays. Sometimes it is frustrating when people leave there towels and tags on chairs and dont even sit in them all day. I also dont like having to get up at 6 am on my vacation to go down to the beach to reserve a hut so we dont fry in the sun all day. I obviously will return to the Marriott but I wish they would monitor and make the chairs and huts more available to all of there guest.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week and found that we were a little bored. The beach was nice and the water was warm, but both were crowded after about 10am. We took a jeep tour of the island and while informative, there was alot of driving through town between stops and the exhaust fumes were strong. The 2 things I found to be the best were, 1. The Jolly Pirates snorkel, lunch trip was the funnest for all ages, I highly recommend it. and 2. The lazy river. After swimming in the ocean, i'd grab my noodles and float around, rinse off the sand and chat with fellow guests while enjoying a cocktail. I was a little shocked at the prices in the shops and at the hotel and restaurants, We did go to the nice new supermarket and the prices of food and booze were reasonable, so we bbq'd a couple of evenings and made our own cocktails.

Room Tip: Higher floors for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for some R&R. The resort is beautiful and there is plenty of room around the pool and beach. Both are crowded but you can reserve a chair by the pool with your "tag" early in the morning. You can also reserve chairs on the beach. We did not use the lazy river but I would suggest bringing your own tubes to inflate for the beach and river (much cheaper and they have an area to inflate). There are many options for food all within walking distance within in all price ranges. It is also about a $10 taxi ride to shopping. Make sure you have plenty of time for departure at the airport. You clear customs before you leave Aruba.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room on a lower level that was fine. While we didn't have an ocean view, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I'm a multiple week owner at various Marriott resort weeks Aruba and Hilton Head, SC. By far for me the Surf Club is the better vacation location. With on site dining and activities available there is plenty to do while still having a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floo.rs give a slightly better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.