We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Aruba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place in Aruba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed here twice using timeshares the first time was in 2010 with another couple and we stayed in a 1 br condo with full kitchen and a pullout couch. The most recent time we went with the family and we each got 1 br rooms with an efficiency kitchen.

the hotel is very family friendly and is in a nice location on the island. parking is never a problem and everyone is really nice. the lazy river is awesome and the beach is nice too.

what i reccomend for going to aruba
the food is very expensive for eating out so what most people do is go to ling and sons or the new super food market and stock up on breakfast and lunch items for the room. Also it is worth it to buy plenty of alcohol since they will bang you out at the resort. this will probably cost you about 300 - 400 dollars for a week but save you about 500 if you would eat out all of those meals. this is usually the first thing you should do when getting there if you are on a budget, You will pay a higher price but if you buy a bottle of something for 40 bucks and get 20 drinks out of it you really saved 150 if you went to the bar.
buy a float at home and bring it to the island they only sell crappy floats at the resort and you will pay a lot for it, they have plenty of pump stations and it is worth it.
they have bbq's all over the grounds if you want to do an impromtu bbq so that is nice.

cons
the island is expensive if you are someone who just likes to eat out every meal you will pay upwards of 3000 dollars to eat on this island. Eating at most restaurants for dinner for 4 people was between 250 - 300 lunch was about 75 - 100 and breakfast about 50 - 75 so easily 400 a day.
beach is a little far from the surf club and it is annoying to get a seat sometimes.
they will call you to do a time share meeting which gets annoying.
No wifi in the rooms, only near the pool.

Room Tip: go for the 1 br full kitchen roms it is hard to prepare meals in the smaller studios and the 1br has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    576
    171
    83
    48
See reviews for
757
531
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The shop which serves light fare, has a good stock of necessities, and nice gifts, has a fantastic staff! Patricia, Gloria, on and on! They are kind, helpful, and so friendly. Over the years of visiting, I now count them as friends, and look forward to seeing them each visit. They work very hard to please each guest on a daily basis. While you are there, listen for a clear, beautiful singing voice on the first floor each morning. Then be sure to say hello to Violet, who is helping to keep the lobby spotless while she sings a lovely tune. She's a gem!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were in Aruba over Thanksgiving and stayed at the Surf Club. We are Marriott Vacation Club owners in Orlando, but were using a certificate from Interval for converting our week into points. We have a 2 bedroom unit, but were only able to secure a studio as an exchange. It was our first time in Aruba and we all enjoyed it very much. We had no problems checking in, we were a little early, so we had lunch around the corner while we waited. Our room faced the pool on the 5th floor in the compass tower. It was perfectly located. The beach is a short walk from the pool, less than 5 minutes. I did get up early to tag pool chairs for the day, once it turned 7 am you could leave and go back to your room. I did not mind this, as I don't like to sleep my vacation away. If I wanted to sleep all day, I'd stay home and do it for free! We also got the free Palapas, we would get in line at 7 am and get a very nice free Palapa close to the water, we liked #400. The beach is crowded in front of the hotel, walk towads the right for 5 or 10 minutes near the kite surfing area, the beach is empty and so gorgeous. The pool bar is nice, lots of drink specials. Love the lazy river. Pools are grat, there is also an adult pool with is nice if you want a quieter area. You can walk to the shopping mall area in a few minutes. It is in a great location. Get a hot dog from Arnold and listen to his boom box -lol- he was awesome! Look and listen for beaufitul Violette singing with her angelic voice as she cleans the bathroom in the morning. Seriously, someone should offer her a recording contract. Johny Orie with pool secirity is a wonderful person and will make your stay so much more pleasant. The ladies in the Marketplace are super great, too. Make sure to get over by the Ocean club for the daily iguana feedings at 10 am, its a really great experience, especially if you have kids. Parents, don't let your kids chase the iguanas. Its illegal and again the hotel rules. Set a good example by not chasing them yourselves. The pool guards are very good at reprimanding children that aren't being corrected by their parents. Don't believe the negative reviews you read about this place. All the staff are super friendly. Yes, Aruba is expensive, as is every island. Its a typical Marriott Vacation club, so don't expect room service or daily cleaning unless you want to pay for it. Common sense says treat your hotel room as you would your own home and it won't be a problem. The only negative I have is that we witnessed a kids club employee who was very mean to a child in the daycamp who came to the iguana feeding. He was scared to death of the iguanas and crying very badly saying he wanted to go home, and she did not comfort him, only embarrassed him in front of everyone else. I should have reported it to management, or at least found the kid's mother to tell her. I would have been mortified if it had been my child. Be sure you know what your kids are going to do for the day. Other than that, it was wonderful and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor looking at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We loved the surf club, all the great amenities you would expect at a Marriott property. We had a 2 bedroom condo that had the most amazing comfortable beds!! Fully equipped kitchen (we used for breakfast and snacks). We loved the lazy river, but it is a long walk to the beach. I can't believe how out of control the groceries have become. A case of bud light 10 oz cans is over $60. We spent over $300 for just some breakfast foods, water, beer,etc. A liter of bacardi light is over $40!!! This is NOT a duty free island they are ripping people off!!! We went to St. Maarten last month (which is Dutch too) and food/liquor prices less than half!! LOL we met some people who brought frozen meats for their carry ons.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor room 8607/08 had a decent view of the ocean. We were overlooking pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the surf club for several years. This trip we stayed from Oct. 31 thru Nov.11.and everything was beautiful as usual! We stayed in the lighthouse tower which is closest to the beach. We checked in hours early as they usually accommodate you. We got to the room seventh floor and we were facing the ocean club with partial ocean view. It was very quiet but we always stay on the other side looking down on the lazy river. My husband went down to the front desk and they moved us to the area we requested. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very clean and in general everyone seems to go out of there way for you. We had a problem with our coffee maker and called the desk and a new one was given to us right away.The next day my husband noticed the glass was cracked in the carafe and we called again and they sent another glass carafe. To my amazement my husband cracked the second carafe and we called the desk to purchase a new coffee maker. The runner was Aysheline Tromp and she was so helpful and friendly.
We of course offered to pay for a new coffee maker and we were told not to worry about it. She set up the new coffee maker and recommended some local restaurants we had inquired about. Again the service is always remarkable . On the last day of our trip Aysheline made sure she said goodbye to us and also left a lovely note to us. I am amazed at some of the negative reviews regarding the surf club. I know people sometimes have bad experiences but all in all the surf club is a great place to stay. We are looking forward to our next trip to paradise!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I have been coming here every other year since we bought in 2002, and we love it. We own during the gold season which is mid April to mid December. We tend to come the Saturday after Thanksgiving for two weeks. We own a two bedroom which we divide so we can come for two weeks. We have the lock off the first week and the one bedroom the second week. The weather is always beautiful, and everyone at the Surf Club is extremely friendly and helpful. I recommend coming here for a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: We own at the Surf Club, and every year they put us in a room in the area we own which is a garden v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we went to aruba for the first time and was very pleased with everything the marriott surf club was the best on the island for us location was great all beaches you will have to rent a car to see the island very easy to drive we stayed on the 12th foor of the spy glass building from nov 27 to dec 4 we will be back soon

Room Tip: all the rooms above 5 floor are the best on all three building facing the pool we rented a car for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.