We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott's Aruba Surf Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marriott.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marriott's Aruba Surf Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I have been coming here every other year since we bought in 2002, and we love it. We own during the gold season which is mid April to mid December. We tend to come the Saturday after Thanksgiving for two weeks. We own a two bedroom which we divide so we can come for two weeks. We have the lock off the first week and the one bedroom the second week. The weather is always beautiful, and everyone at the Surf Club is extremely friendly and helpful. I recommend coming here for a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: We own at the Surf Club, and every year they put us in a room in the area we own which is a garden v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    702
    509
    152
    74
    36
See reviews for
657
479
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we went to aruba for the first time and was very pleased with everything the marriott surf club was the best on the island for us location was great all beaches you will have to rent a car to see the island very easy to drive we stayed on the 12th foor of the spy glass building from nov 27 to dec 4 we will be back soon

Room Tip: all the rooms above 5 floor are the best on all three building facing the pool we rented a car for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Aruba for our honeymoon this past August, and couldn't decide between the Surf Club and Stellaris Casino - we stayed at Surf Club the first 2 nights before going to Stellaris for 5.

This place was terrible from the beginning. The lobby isn't air conditioned, so we were sweating as we waited in line for 30 minutes. They had 1 or 2 people working at the front desk, and it was ridiculously slow. We arrived prior to check in time (which is 4pm). We asked if there'd be a possibility of checking in before 4 or maybe an upgrade as my husband is a platinum member and it was our honeymoon, and they said "we don't really do upgrades here, we are mostly condos and gold or platinum doesn't really matter". Really, that's how you treat your members who stay at your locations 100s of night a year? Awesome. Terrible customer service.

While we waited, we ate at a restaurant outside, which was nice, and then went to the lobby to use the "complimentary wi-fi". Turns out we couldn't do that, since we weren't assigned a room number yet to input for the wifi. We asked the front desk if we could get a room number so that we could use wi-fi and they were very rude and said no. There are kids running around everywhere, which is to be expected, but the place was overrun with families and people doing balloon animals, etc.

When we finally got our room, it was the smallest Marriott room I've ever seen. It was tiny. The view was ok, we overlooked the pool, with the ocean to the right. I found that the staff was extremely rude everywhere we went, except for the people at the activities desk - they were very pleasant and helpful. We did enjoy the lazy river.

After two nights we checked out and went to Stellaris, which was amazing. The lobby was beautiful, uncrowded, AIR CONDITIONED, and the front desk staff was so nice. Without being prompted, they said "i see you're a platinum member, let us upgrade you." We got an AMAZING ocean front room, with the most romantic view of the ocean. We loved our stay there, everyone was great, the amenities were top-notch.

Don't go to Surf Club, unless it's a family outing. If you want a romantic, relaxing trip, and want to be treated like a guest - this is not the place to be. Very very disappointed. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Being gold/platinum won't help. They stick you in whatever room they happen to have, which for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Aruba is the best. At the Surf Club the people are very friendly and try to accommodate you. The more you visit the more you will see the same people who work there and develop a relationship with them. They will remember you year after year. Look for Hellen beach or pool side. She will steer you in the right direction for something to eat or drink. Joel and Daisy at Champions are the best. Delroy will greet you to take your bags to your room with a Hugh smile.

Room Tip: Lighthouse tower is closest to the beach. Overlooking the Ocean Club is quieter than the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just ask for a room above the fifth floor. It gets really busy so finding chairs will be a task. The best spot is by the jacuzzi plus its only for +21 which was great. There are lots of activities though sitting by the beach will be enough.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family and I were talked into trying out the 6 day package with the intention to purchase time share. The rooms appear nice however, the air condition did not work when we arrived, the couch in the large room was falling apart , the toilet in the large room didn't work . The small room has a pull out couch and a full size bed, we were anticipating two full beds in that room and was shocked to see the room had a pull out bed instead of a real one. The pull out couch was broken and the mattress needed to be thrown out, it was flat and the spring under it was broken , it took two attempts to get it fixed. The dishwasher was loud and leaking water. the hotel was nice in its overview was way to spread out the beach was good few minute walk the prices at bar were pricey ( to be expected but 2 drinks for $15 at happy hour? come one) . The pools were clean, the lazy river literally had nothing to it , i felt more could have been added. The spa was expensive and the packages were slim. The staff was friendly however in all the years I have been to Aruba I will not eat or stay at the surf club every again. The regular Marriott and the casino was nicer, the setup was cleaner and the beach was closer. I would recommend going to Moomba which isn't far the bar was fun and had good food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at the surf club with my husband and the experience was close to perfect. The hotel and the pool are very clean. Also, the room was perfect and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever use in a hotel. In addition our room was on the 10th floor and had a beautiful ocean view. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. Not far walk to the beach or restaurants. There are a lot of restaurants in walking distance. At the Surf Club we ate at Champions and enjoyed it very much. The lazy river is a must, is magnificent and relaxing. In conclusion we had such a great time at the Surf Club. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Palm/Eagle Beach Marriott
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach
Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.