We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a wonderful time!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Aruba Surf Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful time!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is our second visit, although we do not own a Timeshare. This is a wonderful family vacation spot. We rented a two-bedroom unit for ourselves and our son, daughter-in-law and two young children. It is perfect in every way including a washer and dryer, a wonderful kitchen and dining area and comfortable beds and bathroom. The beach is beautiful, although crowded with beach huts (wonderful against the sun). The pools are beautiful especially the Lazy River which meanders through the inner space between the buildings...lots of greenery and great fun to float with your family with a drink in hand. The restaurants in the hotel are okay, but could use some variety. A bit overpriced, but so is everything on the island. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is very safe and comfortable for all family members.

Room Tip: We had the garden view rather than Ocean view. It looked over the pools and was fine. No noise iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Surf Club for a week in July, for the past three years. Their two bedroom
units are ideal for families, spacious, two bedroom, two bath, with a living room in between.
They are clean and comfortable. It is a great place to go with children, however, we
would not stay there if we did not have family with us. We would definitely choose an
Adults Only hotel for ourselves. They do have an adults only pool, but it is a big resort, with
children everywhere. The beach is crowded, chairs close together and the chair tag thing a
waste of vacation time. However, if you want chairs at the beach, you have to get in line, either
first thing in the morning or at 4pm the day before. It is not a deal breaker but it is
annoying.
Food is expensive but a quick trip to the supermarket and you can load up on just about everything you can get in your local supermarket in the US
I would recommend this hotel for families, the lazy river is fun, lots to do in the area, it is
well taken care of and is safe and secure.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor, facing the pools, the view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2222rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first time to the Surf club but third time to Aruba. I can't say enough great things about the resort. I was a little concerned because of all the negative reviews but not one of them caused a problem for us.The staff was extraordinarily friendly- even through a very trying first day with a room problem ( nothing to do withth surf club though). They went to great lengths to help us and all was resolved with their friendly attitudes. The place is spotless and very modern. We traveled with 11 people from a 3 month old to a 64 year old and there was plenty to do for evreyone. Tagging the chairs is not a big deal and you can usually get at least 2 together if you go down by 9. I recommend bringing a Sharpie with you to label your tag and room key with your initials so it is easier to find. I don't recommed bringing your own float as we were given 3 the day we arrived by departing guests and then 2 more later in the week... we passed them on when we left...We stayed in the Light house tower close to the elevator and thought it was great. The only disappointing thing about the resort was the beach. It had a terrible smell and the sand was downright slimy. we walked or drove to another beach just about every day. (Baby beach is so worth the drive IMO!)The prices are exactly what you would expect at a resort and were not shocking at all... the grocery stores are so Americanized you can find absolutley everything you would at home.... the airport situation is really crazy. we left on a Saturday and almost missed our flight even though we were there 3 hours early. There is no way you will get through check in, security, bag pick up ( almost 2 hours right there) bag drop off, customs and security again in less than 3 hours. plan ahead and bring your patience... you will stand in line the entire time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank newtraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our first time in Aruba and we were leary a first to stay in Marriott Surf Club because of the negative reviews. However, after our one week stay, we loved this place. We were warned that there will be long lines during check-in. We arrived in he morning and we checked if we can do an early check-in to avoid the lines at 4pm. We were allowed to do that, and we were given our bracelets so that we can use the facility while we waited for our rooms to become available. We just have to store our luggages in their storage and then went to the Express check-in to get our keys once the room became available. No falling in line. We also got an email from the coordinator asking for our preferences, and we wrote our room preference (higher elevation, Spyglass, ocean view, quiet, away from elevators) and we got what we wanted. eautiful voew of the Lazy River and ocean. Had master bedroom, full kitchen, safe, washer and dryer and living room. This is the newer tower; carpet is clean and every furniture looked brand new. It is farther away from the beacj compared to Lighthouse but the walk did not bother us. The location of the hotel is great because it is easily accessible to bus which we use to go to downtown Oranjestad. It is cheaper to take the bus for two people than a taxi. For bus, we paid $2.30 one way per person. A taxi costs about $11 or $12 one way. We used the taxi to and from the airport and paid $25 each way. The bus stop is right behind the Skylark Tower close to the parking lot. We used the bus to go the grocery store (initially, we planned to go to Ling and Sons, but after asking the locals on which is a better and cheaper grovery store, they recommended SuperFoods), Superfoods is also along the main road where the bus stops infront of it. Just cross the street. After grocery shopping, we went to the bus stop again, which is a few feet to the left of SuperFood. This worked for us because we only had few items to carry. Brought our backpack and extra bigger bags to put the smaller grocery bags. The bus ia marked "Marriott" so it was no-brainer on which bus to use. It stopped right across Surf Club. Downtown Oranjestad also hold the Bon Bini Festival every Tuesday nights from 7 to 8:15pm where we enjoyed Aruban food for sale, crafts and wonderful cultural/folk dancing. There was also steel pan drum playing while waiting for the door of the Fort to open. To get to the Fort, we stopped at the bus station and walked few blocks lined with department stores. The hotel is also close to the Palm Beach Plaza Mall, Between Skylark and Compass towers was a sign pointing to the direction of the Mall; just a 5 minute walk. This mall has all kinds of shops and restaurants. The mall has choreographed water show at night; we saw a free acrobatic show also. Check the newspaper for events.
We loved the Lazy River; brought our own tube; can be inflated by the towel hut. It was calm and peaceful early in the morning (7 tp 9:30am) and it got crowded later part of the day. In Nov. 3 to 10 where we used the Lazy river, there were kids in the area, but not as much to create too much noise. we stayed mostly in the Serenity Pool where only adults are allowed.
The food served at the resort are reasonably proced. Big serving, and we split our order or bring the left over in the room.
By attending the timeshare presentation, we got a $125 voucher which we were able to use in several restaurants within the Marriott area (including Stellaris and Ocean Club) as well as Papiamento.
To be able to use a palapa along the beach, need to fall in line before 7am to get the palapa for free. I went there at 6am and there were 6 people already in line. By 7am, there were about 25 people lined up to reserve a palapa. To reserve one, the staff shows a map of which palapas are taken and which are available. Once you pick your palapa, the staff gives you a card that you put through a nail underneath the palapa to indicate that it is reserved. Lounge chairs will then be unchained and setup for your use. We put our chair tags also on the lounge chairs. The same is true for the chairs by the pool. If you want your favorite chair under a shade with breeze, you can tag the chairs before 7am and stay there till 7am, otherwise, you can pick other chairs that you may not like the location.
The resort has free yoga, zumba classes and other activities.
We enjoyed our stay. Check out was quick, Housekeeping was middle of the week.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors more quiet, pick ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pumpsnow1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am really tired of hearing all the nit picking about the Surf Club. It was our 6th time staying here and it was wonderful. Even though we have stayed numerous times i was nervous due to some of reviews. Have to stay in lighthouse, have to get up early for chairs...omg I was a wreck.Our room was in the Spyglass tower..it was wonderful a few extra feet from pool. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Yes in beginning of trip I did have chair anxiety. We were up early to use the gym. So we did tag chairs between 7 and 730. Never hd a problem. By the end of week it got later and later. Didn't get chairs at beach. We just went late in afternoon. Not a staff member passed us without saying hello . Sandra in gym was so friendly. What a pleasant person to see so early in am. Go to the surf club and don't be afraid .

Room Tip: the higher floor the better the view but who really is in their room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jwrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

From the accommodations to the pools and lazy river,to the adult quiet pool, to the beach, to the restaurants, to the friendliness and warmth of the staff, including the housekeeping staff, we enjoyed an outstanding experience for 2 weeks. The buffets at the Marriotts are well worth the price and if you like lobster- take advantage of the all you can eat lobster buffet.
The local bus, with reduced senior citizen fares, stops outside the resort property heading north and in the opposite direction to Orangestead by way of super markets. Within a short walking distance there's lots of shopping, a movie theatre and many restaurant with menus from most cultures.
We look forward to another vacation here.

Room Tip: Request your location preference - whether you want to face the pools or the beach. If you're st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our 6th stay at the Surf Club, just seems to get better each stay. We stay during the Gold season ends mid December, so do not get the great crowds later in the season. Stayed for two weeks, week one in the Lighthouse bldg, 6th floor in the master suite, great view of the ocean, we got lucky the 2nd Compass on the top, 14th floor, again the master suite, great view of the lighthouse and the entire end of the island. Lazy river was great as always, be sure to bring a float with you. You can purchase at the resort but expensive compared to USA prices. Staff was great, answered all our questions, always with a smile. Looking forward to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel Guy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#14 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellaris Casino
Marriott Aruba Resort & Stellari...
#7 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 23 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing