We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Belgium Restaurant

Taste of Belgium Restaurant
Palm Beach Plaza Mall | LG Smith Boulevard 95, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
+297 586 6388
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Belgian, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

When you think of a restaurant in a mall one wouldn't think it would serve good food, but we were so surprised when we chose this place to eat. Walking distance from the hotel was a plus for sure. We were a group of 7 and were seated quickly, no tables were set for a large number but they did not hesitate to seat us and set the place for us. We started with appetizers, not the usual fare, fish choices, salads all delicious, and allowing you not to eat so much that you wouldn't have room for dinner. We all ordered a variety of dishes, and we all complimented the chef, for the food was well cooked and the portions were just right that we had dessert to finish off the night. The Belgium coffee was excellent, the Belgium waffle with ice cream & strawberries was excellent. Each dessert comes with a small Belgium liquor glass topped with whipped cream. My son is a picky eater, yet there was a dish of roasted chicken with fries and veggies that suited him just right. There is no children's menu so I wouldn't recommend a family with young children going here. We were served and accommodated very well. I would definitely return to this restaurant, and plan to for those great looking Belgium waffles.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    273
    83
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, but not so great service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I ordered the American breakfast and thought that it was great. My husband ordered a burger and thought that it was great. We both ordered mixed drinks and thought they they were good. The only downside is that the waitstaff was inattentive. We waited 15 minutes before I had to flag someone down to say that we hadn't been served. After my drink was empty for a lengthy period of time, they never asked me if I wanted a refill or something else to drink. I had to flag a server down to get the check. The irritating thing is that the restaurant wasn't crowded and there were a lot of employees there, but nobody came to help.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mixed experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our first dinner here was a delightful experience with very good food from the rolls to coffee. The Belgian stew was tasty and a good sized portion. The service was outstanding provided by a young woman from the Netherlands. On the second time we dined here the food was again good but the service left much to be desired. Out waitress was a clod and did not think we shoud be served their tasty rolls since there was a slice of bread on the top of my onion soup. Although the secondary servers were pleasnt, we will check to see how is acting as waitrss before entering again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This restaurant is really good. The service was outstanding. It is a good idea to order one of their beers or even a beer tasting.
The drink of the day when we went was mango martini and it was absolutely delicious.
Our meal was fantastic, highly recommended.
P.S.: If you are a male, you must check out the men's restroom!! (and then take photos so you can show your female friends that didn't get to see it)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner V, Owner at Taste of Belgium Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your review.
Great to read that you had a memorable experience at Taste of Belgium Restaurant.
And yes, the pictures in the mensroom are hilarious.
Looking forward to see you again soon.
Culinary Regards,
Werner and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average Food/Good Atmosphere/Pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant due to its close proximity to Marriott Surf Club. It was our first day in Aruba, and we were very weary travelers. Dining early (between 530PM and 700PM) will get you a prixe-fixe menu. There are 2 to choose from, one with free Movie Tickets thrown in, and the other with more typical Belgian food items. We did 3 prixe-fixes with movie tix, included a starter salad, entrée, and small dessert.. Two ordered from the menu, one a pasta dish and the other a dinner salad. There is also a kids menu, which the final 2 ordered from. The deinks are good though, with an extensive Belgian/European beer menu to choose from. Food quality/taste was mediocre at best.
For 5 adults, 2 children, with drinks, total was approx. US$219 !! Beware, all food/restaurants in Aruba is extremely expensive!
One other complaint was slow/lackadaisical service. Early on, service was prompt, attentive. As the restaurant filled, it slowed to a crawl, taking 30 minutes for our dessert to arrive!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Belgium Restaurant also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Taste of Belgium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Belgium Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.