We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of construction noise and bait and switch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mandara Spa - Marriott Resort and Aruba Ocean Club

Mandara Spa - Marriott Resort and Aruba Ocean Club
#101, L.G. Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
+(297) 520-6750
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Spas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Aruba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware of construction noise and bait and switch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The people who work at the spa are wonderful. It's not their fault that there is a large construction site literally on the other side of the wicker divider. Booked a couples massage in a beach cabana through the Tradewinds Club Concierge. By the pictures on their site, it shows a private cabana in a serene location. In reality, it's the back corner of the beach storage building, sandwiched between the construction site and a surf shop. The only reason this rates as high as a two is the people that work there are very nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    17
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quite Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Body and foot massage....got the added foot massage for extra $30 bucks for $150 total and it was still only 50 minutes. The extra money didnt buy extra time, just the foot massage.

Pretty expensive compared to most places I've been but did a good job. Lost power during the massage but didnt affect the service.

Probably wouldn't do it again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The actual massage was good, but did not tell me when makiing reservation of different costs on different days. A service charge is attached to bill. This does not include tip for massage. Then when over tried pushing an additional lotion, then seemed put off for not purchasing. All of a sudden your $90 massage is $130.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the price!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We are staying at the Marriott Surfclub. We wanted a nice relaxing spa treatment once we arrived. We ended up booking the Belanaise massage for 80 minutes and my friend got the special with a 25 min facial, 25 minute hot stone, and 25 minute foot treatment. We decided to stay for our appointment at the time of booking. The host of the spa was good however one of the showers was not working so we had to wait while the other used the shower. This caused the therapist to get irritated at us for being late. We told the front desk wanted to shower and shave prior to our appointment and they assured us we would have time. The massage was very basic. My friends treatment did not include the hot stone therapy nor the scalp massage. The prices are listed but there is a 20% service charge added to the price that does not include gratuity. The spa actually has only Lipton tea. For $200 you would think you could at least get a chamomile? Needless to say the experience did not meet basic standards and surely not $200 standards for a a massage. I would not waste my money here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscoda, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“2nd rate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I expected to spend a lot time at Mandara Spa but am searching for a new spa. The treatment beds are hard, which doesn't promote relaxing. I wasn't given spa sandals, nor were the other guests, and instead we were asked to wear our own sandals. The serenity room was full and the chairs against the wall were uncomfortable to relax in when the spa attendant shuffled in with tea and a cool scented cloth to put over your eyes. The prices are a bit on the high side, which I was willing to pay, until I found out about the addition 20% service fee (not including the tax) that was charged and then told it doesn't include tipping your therapist or person you are receiving a treatment from. Seriously! I'm not going back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandara Spa - Marriott Resort and Aruba Ocean Club also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Aruba, Caribbean
 

Been to Mandara Spa - Marriott Resort and Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandara Spa - Marriott Resort and Aruba Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mandara Spa - Marriott Resort and Aruba Ocean Club to your Saves list