We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant, nice meal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carambola

Carambola
J.E.Irausquin Boulevard 64 | Eagle, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
297 587-6695
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $44
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, nice meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Meticulous attentive service. Fantastic sangria but a bit pricey at $11 per glass. Ceviche excellent. Peanut soup wonderful. Crab cake very good. The only exception, and it was my fault as I did not absorb what the menu said. I ordered the bouillabaisse, menu said creamy sauce and it didn't sink in. Instead of the normal saffron broth it was in a heavy thick cream sauce. Well made but not for me, as the sauce overwhelmed the fish. The drunken bananas for dessert more than made up for it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    122
    56
    31
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best food we had in Aruba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great soups (the local-recipe peanut one was wonderful) and fish, relaxed atmosphere, very friendly and careful staff. Strongly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another FABULOUS experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were back to Carambola this year and just when I thought that it couldn't get any better it was beyond my expectations from last year! WOW .....Yummy we had breakfast, lunch and dinner here once again with returing friends. Everything at this FABULOUS resturant was fantastic. Everything was bursting with flavor. The owner and his staff were just perfect. Once again I felt at home and we were all treated like royalty. To Martin, family and staff thanks again for the many excellent meals you served us. The 8 of us will all be back again. I only wish I could be back eating with you all now. Many many thanks for making our vacation complete with all your wonderful taste bud pleasers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbeson, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service&food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

high quality food&outstanding service if you want low quality food &poor service go to tiki bar&grill next door,carambola is where we always go our first night in aruba what a way to start your vacation,best grouper on the island,all i can say is quality food &people,come in & say hi to martin

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gracious Hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A large group of us met there to celebrate two birthdays. They were very accommodating. A good time was had by all!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Carambola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carambola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.