We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky start, got better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Hamlin, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Rocky start, got better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed at the Divi Phoenix Easter week. We arrived at the hotel 4:30 pm, checked into a Villa (4 story building on the beach) room 415. Noticed the room had a musty smell and figured it may be due not having the air conditioner on all the way, set it for 68 and left for the evening. Returned at midnight to find both rooms were still in the high 70’s, musty smell was overwhelming, it was coming from the air conditioner. The front desk said we could move but would not guarantee we could have the new room for our 10 night stay; we may need to move again. We opted to spend the night in the room and speak with a manger in the morning. The smell in room 415 was so bad that I placed a towel over my face to sleep and my husband got little sleep that night, the smell kept him awake. In the morning the bedroom temp was down to 70 but we noticed as the temperature dropped the smell increased.

The hotel staff searched and searched the system for another room; was Easter week and booked. They found a room in the old tower room 1006. Needed to wait for the prior guests to check out before we could smell test the room. While waiting my husband was in the pool area looking up pointing out the 10th floor. Guests joked w/him about counting the floors and he told them the story of the musty smell. The first thing out of their mouth was “we are on the 12th floor of the old tower and our room smells so bad we had to light candles which did nothing”. They said as the temperature in the room dropped the smell increased.

We checked out room 1006, maid just finished leaning so it smelled like cleaning liquid (pine actually) so we could not tell if it smelled and took the chance it would not and moved. The hotel staff helped us re-locate so it took no time at all.

Up side: Our room had a little musty smell, was tolerable and came and went. The air was pre-set to 70 and we found this comfortable. The beach/ocean view from the balcony was fantastic! We also overlooked the island from the living room – also fantastic. Hotel staff was helpful and very friendly. We can’t say enough about the desk clerk who helped us move. She really had to juggle things around to get us a new room and did so with a smile and good humor.

Location of hotel is great and is away from the noisy crowds. We are not the kind of people to get up early to claim a spot on the beach or stand in a line the night prior. We hit the beach at all different times of the day and never had a problem getting a shady spot with space between you and others. The other hotel beaches were a mad house with chairs inches apart from each other. Divi beach was clean, quiet and not crowed (even though the hotel was booked solid).

Divi happy hour is fun and lively. Drink prices are reasonable ($5-6 for screwdriver (Absolute) and wine). Ate lunch at both restaurants and had good meals. Food is more expensive then drinks everywhere. Stay away from hotel bars they charge double for a drink.

The restaurants and shops are a 10 minute walk road side or 15 by beach. There is a winding walking path that runs in front of all the hotels beach side. Both were safe and well lit. We took the bus ($1.30 each) back to the hotel a few times and found this safe and easy. Cab from far end of Palm Beach to the Divi was $5. You can walk both ways we were just being lazy after a long day.

Actually, once we moved we loved the Divi Phoenix and would go back again. We would insist on checking out the room first to do a sniff test before we are checked in.. Guests in the “new tower” also complained about a musty odor but said it was faint. We think this may just be due to the hot humid weather in Aruba? Time of year? Or bad air conditioning units? Others had zero complaint, check out the room prior to checking in.

Had a blast jeeping. Prior to arriving my husband phoned and booked a jeep with More4Less, $800 for 10 days. Jeep was newer, clean and not dented. Did not have 1 issue w/the jeep or tires. We found that 95% of the “off roads” do not require to you to have a jeep but it was fun to drive. A small 2wd SUV would do well. There is 1 area along the north coast between the church and natural bridge where you do need a jeep, it’s bumpy with rocks so you need the clearance. Dirt roads are flat and dusty. We never put the jeep in 4 wheel and used low 1 time when trying to find an abandoned mine in the hills of the center of the island.

Took a horse tour to the natural pool and would highly recommend it to anyone, great way to get out and enjoy the nature. Horses were easy to ride and liked to gallop in the sand dunes. There is only 1 horse tour that takes you to the natural pool so it’s easy to find which company does this tour.

Helicopter with Simon the pilot (red helicopter) – absolutely fantastic way to see Aruba and the shipwrecks a must do!!!

Have fun – you will enjoy Aruba, a safe friendly place to explore. Divi is a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    334
    97
    31
    20
See reviews for
262
437
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My boyfriend and I went down there to celebrate my birthday and stayed at the Divi Phoenix. We had the best vacation. I loved the location of the hotel, as it was away from the busier hotels, and all of the guests staying there were SO nice, as were the staff at the Divi Phoenix. We loved the Pure Beach Restaurant & Bar, as we'd stop there on our way out and back from our night! The staff were very accommodating, and nice. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable! I can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orion, MI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Our one-bedroom suite was newly remodeled, clean, comfortable and roomy with a full kitchen and 2 baths. The location was a 15 to 20 minute walk from restaurants and shopping. The hotel had an $11 breakfast buffet which is affordable since Aruba food is expensive. The pool and beach were accommodating but not overwhelming. The wifi was an extra cost and at the time wasn't working.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed at the Divi Phoenix resort from March 16 - 23. This was our 8th trip to Aruba and we've stayed at numerous other locations. The new construction at this resort is really beautiful, and all rooms are ocean view - you can't get much better than that. The open air lobby is very pretty and inviting.

Check-in was easy and our room was ready at our arrival time of about 1:30. We were placed in a studio on the 4th floor of one of the new buildings. The decor of the rooms are very stylish with great colors, and the kitchen is fully equipped. After our first night staying in the room, we decided that the musty smell was a bit too overwhelming, so we requested a change of rooms. (Note: we were told by an owner that the washer/dryer combination could be an issue.) My husband talked to the front desk and our request was met with a smile with no problems. They asked us what time we wanted to move and we said 4:00 so that we could relax at the beach most of the day.

We were given the choice of 3 rooms and took room 654, a one bedroom on the 6th floor. This room was bigger than the first - huge actually with a bigger kitchen. The bedroom had a door on it, and there was a dining area, living room area, and 2 full bathrooms. Lovely!!!

Everyone we spoke to was so pleasant and friendly, and we met many friendly owners on the beach. The pool area and bar design are fabulous, with seats in the pool to sit at the bar if you desire and large screen tv's to watch while you are in the pool. We had a fish sandwich at the bar one day (Pure Beach) and it was ok, not the best I've had on the island - a bit too gourmet for me. We also had breakfast at the Sunset Beach restaurant at the resort. $11 per person and it was very good with made to order omelets.

All in all, we would love to stay at this resort again. The wind was stronger than usual, and we were told by many who were there the week before that it hadn't been that bad. The pool area is so nice that I didn't mind leaving the beach mid-day to lay poolside on the windier/sandblasting days. The location is great (we rent a car during our visits) and there are busses and cabs available as well. You can also walk toward Palm Beach for nightlife if you don't want to take transportation.

We weren't around much at night, but did come back a few times early enough to hear karaoke one night and a small band another night. I don't believe they have entertainment every night, but they do try to do things a few nights out of the week. There was a hamburger and hotdog bbq near the beach for lunch on Monday, and there was Bingo just about every day.

The biggest draw to this resort are the ocean view rooms, in my opinion. I don't know how the view is from the rooms below the 4th floor, but I did try to judge by walking around and there doesn't appear to be a room with a bad view anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Everything about our resort was awesome. The beach had plenty of seats,shade and warm waters. The resort staff was friendly and accomadating. Any future to Aruba will include a stay at the Divi Phoenix Beach Resort.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Divi Phoenix on a time-share arrangement for our honeymoon, and while it was comfortable enough for the two of us, it was clearly among the least desirable hotels on the beach. The room itself was nothing special, consisting of tiled floors, a small kitchenette, a basic bathroom, and a small balcony overlooking the pool and beach. The view was, of course, fantastic, but I doubt that any hotels on this small island could possibly offer otherwise.

The upshot of staying at this hotel is that its location towards the end of a long stretch of hotels gives some privacy to its gorgeous stretch of beach. It also has a reasonably sizeable fitness center in a well-lit location that was undergoing construction during our visit.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Check in was a headache. Check out was a nightmare.

We checked in after 4pm. Yes the lobby was beautiful and new, and probably the hottest spot on the complex. When you walk in a see every seat is filled with people and their luggage you expect the worst. They did provide a fruit juice and try to sell you a timeshare while you waited, which is nice. We received our keys and headed up to find the right elevator, with not much of any directions. There are three sets of buildings. A, B, C in the new part of the complex with them not labeled anywhere. The elevators are not air-conditioned and like a few have mentioned before, when one is out of order, they are slow. We got up to the right door to find the keys didn’t work. We asked the maids if they could help and all they grumbled about was why didn’t the keys ever work. So we went back to the friendly check in staff and received new keys. The second set of keys did work.

The room was nice and clean. We had a two-bedroom unit with the bedrooms and one bath upstairs. The larger of the two beds (a king) was in the back with a window looking out through a very dirty window of the island. The queen bedroom had a beautiful balcony with a view of the pool, ocean, etc. There was a lot of storage space as well as weird, unusable coves in the room. The linens were all new, pillows comfortable. The appliances in the kitchen were all new. We don’t think the gmicro-oven (I think that is what it was called) was working correctly. We tried a couple times to defrost or reheat with not much success. The washer dryer was nice. Thank goodness there was a typed English translated manual. The dryer really didn’t work that well, but we just hung them up to finish the job. But it saves you from over packing or if accidents occur.

We noticed that there were no towels in the downstairs bathroom. Later in the evening I went back to the front desk to try and get towels. Again, there was a line to wait. The women did take down my room number and the complaint. We also informed her that there were NO lights on in the hall or at the door, so after sunset it was not easy to find the correct room, and feel safe. She wrote it all down on a piece of paper. While we were waiting in line another resident was complaining he did not have a TV remote. Another person came by and said, just for the record no one showed up to fix his problem, which was over two hours ago. I think his room didn’t have a hairdryer. Okay, so besides the safety issue of the lights, nothing was really earth shattering, but you just don’t want these inconveniences on your first day of vacation. And you also want to know that if you spent the time to wait in line and inform someone of your request; something should be done about it. The next day we did see a maintenance man and asked if he fixed the lighting problem. He did not know anything about it, but it was probably just a timer issue. They were fixed that evening. I never did receive the towels to the downstairs bathroom.

The bathrooms were spacious with a shower stall that the doors didn’t close properly and would flood the entire room if you were not careful and stand in front of it while showering. After polling other residents in the elevators about half of those polled had the same problem. The pipes in the shower stalls were not attached correctly which really didn’t cause any problems but I can see trouble in the future, or if someone used them for balance they would pull right out of the wall. The railing on the balcony wasn’t that secure either.

So the first day of our relaxing vacation started out with getting beach towels. We arrive at the beach towel counter to be informed that we didn’t bring the right card. At check in they DID NOT let us know what the towel policy was. You get a card, exchange it for towels. Towels can be exchanged when soiled. And then at the end, receive your card back when you hand in the towels.

So we find a place on the beach. Very nice beach, quiet waves, beautiful water, etc. There was a water activities vendor right on the beach if you wanted to go parasailing, wave running, banana boat riding etc. There are also daily activities such as BINGO and water aerobics in the pool. The beach has plenty of palapas and trees for shade. The problem is the mentality of the timeshare-yearly visitor that they have to reserve their “space” all day while really just using the “space” for an hour. Which brings me to the timeshare-yearly visitors. They are all OLD and most of them are from the east coast. So if you are old and from the east coast you will fit in quite nicely. If you want to see what an active retirement home would look like, visit this resort. They all knew each other from either the old neighborhood or from year after year going to the same place. They all spoke so loudly that I heard about their children, grand children and mostly how they can’t stand either. It was comical at times, but we really just wanted to relax on the beach and read or sleep. Here is a direct quote or two… “So you need to get a studio, so there are no expectations. No expectations of anyone of your kids wanting to stay with you”. Or “She expected me to watch their son (her grandson) while they went to London for 5 days. I wasn’t going to watch that kid. I told her to find someone else!” You get the idea. The wind and the waves could not have been loud enough to drown out there conversations. The next day we tried the pool area to get away from the palapa plop. It was okay until the east coast ladies started water aerobics. A Saturday Night skit if there ever was one.

We tried Pure Beach restaurant right there on the complex. Very comfortable chairs and the atmosphere was fun. We had a variety of meals and they were good. Typical Caribbean staff, looking in your direction, and then deciding whether to come and get your order or not. A 15% service charge was automatically added to the bill. There were restaurants on the island that advertise that they do not add a service charge automatically to the bill. We looked for those after this. We went to Pizza Bobs, Texas de Brazil and Wacko Wahoos and was VERY pleased. (All of those did not have a 15% service charge and the service was terrific!) You can read my review of them in the restaurant section of TA. We also got certified in Windsurfing with Aruba Windsurfing School down past the Marriott and they were great. It was harder than anticipated, but well worth it. We also dove with Native Divers a couple of times during the week. We walked across the street and visited the Butterfly Farm. You have to go during the morning for the best butterfly “show”. Very educational as well as relaxing and beautiful.

Check out was long and hot. 10 people in line in front of me; after not moving in the line for 15 minutes I left. They had only 2 ladies working and they weren’t working all that fast. We really did not bill anything to our room. One drink and a $5 local 1 minute call. There were service charges added as well as handling charges. Something to think about when charging to your room. They charge you to charge. We had heard you needed at least two hours at the airport, which you do, so I left the bill in my room, with the keys. We will see what kind of charges I need to dispute for that!

There was no wireless connection. All they said was that it was not functional today. When it will be functional they did not know. BUT you could PURCHASE minutes at their Internet area. This was one of the things we needed and we probably would not have booked here if we knew that they did not have a wireless connection.

Overall, the resort is clean, new and conveniently located. Not too close to the action, so it is quiet, but close enough to walk. The bus that goes to the casino starts at 6pm, and only goes one way, so you have to find another way to get back. Again, this was different then their “brochure”.

We used Vacations To Go and was very pleased with them. Their follow up and promises were followed thru and Carolyn was pleasant to work with. We found the best prices for this and other locations thru them. I would use them again.

The airport was very busy and crowded. You are in line after line. The first line is of course to get your boarding pass, etc. They take your luggage, which you pick up again on the third line to go thru customs. You go thru USA customs here so you don’t have to worry about it back in the USA. The second line is to check passports. Then you go thru the first of two security-x-ray lines. After that there is a nice area to shop or eat. You then go thru the customs area where you pick up your luggage to be scanned at random, and then the second security-x-ray line. I think after that you are in the boarding area. A note to the women, there are only 3 stalls in the bathrooms, and only 2 bathrooms, so plan accordingly. There are also places to eat in the boarding area. It took use about 1.5 hours from start to finish.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Address: 75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Divi Phoenix Beach Hotel
Hotel Divi Phoenix Beach
Aruba Phoenix
Aruba Divi Phoenix
Divi Phoenix Aruba
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.