We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again...i think?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I would stay here again...i think?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just spent 5 nights at the Divi. We had booked a room in the new tower and according to expedia, it was a beachfront room with ocean view. The room was very nice, modern, 2 baths with jacuzzi, 1 bedroom, spacious balcony, washer/dryer but with a view of the pools/timeshare offices. the beach was off to our right. Not exactly beachfront. When we tried to address it with the front desk, they said that all the other beachfront rooms were taken (although during our stay, we never saw anyone on those balconies, or any wet bathing suits hanging on the chairs...in other words they appeared empty but....the front desk said that they couldnt guarantee any requests booked through expedia...we didnt push the issue...

The room was quite spacious and mostly clean. I did notice that the corners in the rooms were not swept, and there was alot of dust/debris under the dishwasher. I had unpacked our clothes into the drawers of the dresser but i had to remove them because there was such a musty smell that i didnt want it to get onto out clothes. I even tried putting a dryer sheet in the drawers but it didnt help much. Having the washer dryer was great...except it was one unit which was odd. Long story short, it took 4-5 hrs to do 1 load. The clothes had to go through 2 drying cycles. Slightly annoying.

Beautiful grounds. Very clean. The beach was literally right outside our doorstep which I did love. The pools were great and there was always someone cleaning them out in the morning. There was a large children's wading pool which was great for us...except that it was in the shade most of the day, and with the constant tradewinds, it was too cold to get wet and not be in the sun, so we didnt use that pool much. There were plenty of palapas on the beach but all were taken very early. We didnt bother making reservations for one the night before. There was never a problem getting regular lounge chairs. They didnt have cushions which I would have liked.

They are really big on timeshares there but we were not approached once which i was very grateful for. The nightlife was pretty blah, but since we had a toddler with us we didnt mind. There was always something going on at the Pure Beach area which was right under our balcony but it was nothing big, usually karaoke or something. One thing I didnt like was how noisy it tended to get. We had to keep the balcony door closed. I do like to read on the balcony at night so I had to wait until pretty late, when the music stopped. One thing I noticed and was surprised about was the attitude of the people on the island. We were never greeted or really looked in the eye when we went into any stores, including the gift shop in the hotel. The answers to our questions were always abrupt and curt. It was very strange because it isnt like that on other islands in the carribean, at least as far as i have noticed. Of course there were some friendly faces, but i could probably count them on one hand.

the hotel is sort of at the end of the strip of high rise hotels so you have to walk about 10 min or so until you reach the shops/mall/restaurants. Its not a bad walk at all. You can take the path along the main road, or walk the boardwalk behind the hotels, parallel to the beach. The beach is amazing. very calm, clean and soft soft white sand. We did a tour around the island and other parts are the complete opposite...rough surf, waves, rocks. But all around it is a beautiful island. The downtown area is also great with alot of high end stores. The Renaissance mall is a must see for shopping. There are also lots of local touristy shops too.
Highly recommend Le Bistro and Papillion for eating. Great gelato place also.

Would we return? Definitely love aruba and would probably stay at the divi because we enjoyed the suite set up that the divi offers. Maybe we would consider the Rui next time. It looks like a beautiful hotel. If we do choose the Divi again we will probably book directly through the hotel to make sure we get an actual ocean front room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    284
    81
    30
    15
See reviews for
231
364
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for the last three days of a 10 day Aruba vacation with my parents. In the past (3 trips now) we’ve always stayed down at the Marriott’s way down at the other end of Palm Beach and we wanted to try something different this time, well we absolutely loved the Divi Phoenix; the location was perfect for us. It was quiet, relaxing, huts were easy to come by and yet all of the restaurants and attractions of Palm Beach were still close by. The water was much clearer down at this end; so much of Palm Beach is murky and churned up by all of the boating activities.

I also want to give kudos to the housekeeping supervisor. Since we were 2 adult couples staying in a one-bedroom, we were going to be using the sofa bed. Well as expected the sofa bed mattress was horrible and so thin that the wires below were sticking up through. When we inquired to housekeeping about what could be done, they brought us a regular mattress and placed it on top of the flimsy mattress on the sofa which made all the difference in the world.

Great service, beautiful more secluded location, kitchens in the unit, nice large grills to use, swim-up pool bar with daily drink specials lots of pluses with this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embrun, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Oh well! During our Honeymoon we end up to buy a time share. We were so in love with this place that it was a must. The hotel is awesome, the people working there are awesome, beach is so beautiful, you have a nice gym, tennis court, etc..... So every year from now on week 50 we`ll celebrate our anniversary in Aruba or somewhere else around the world.

Newly Wed:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It was a "girls trip" this vacation and we chose Aruba and the Divi Phoenix Beach Resort. A great decision. The resort is the perfect size, not huge and crowded like you find most of the other resorts are when walking down the beach. This resort is pretty much nestled inbetween Eagle and Palm Beach. The beach infront of this resort is NOT crowded at all, it's peaceful and beautiful. Because of it's location you don't get the flow of constant crowds passing by in front of you. Yet you are still close and within walking distance to the other resorts and beachside restaurants. We stayed in the new towers in a one bedroom suite which had two bathrooms and full kitchen, a nice balcony overlooking the tri-tiered pool and ocean. Has a great beach side restaurant where we enjoyed wonderful lunches looking out at the ocean. A fantastic BBQ dinner once a week, also on the beach, where you can eat and curl your toes in the sand. The buffet breakfast on the beach is a great way to start your day as well. I would definately stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the new towers, Tower A from the 3rd floor up will give you perfect views of the ocean and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What once seemed to be an emerging gem has turned out (at least this year) to be just okay.

POSITIVE:
The location of the Divi is great if you're looking for a bit more seclusion. It's away from the main drag which also means you're limited in restaurants and shopping within walking distance, but that not always bad.

The rooms in the new towers are very pretty and well equiped.

Staff at check-in, towels and at the Pure Beach restaurant are great and friendly.

NEGATIVE:
Cleaning staff, um who? They come once during the one week stay to strip beds and make an attempt at cleaning. The rest of the week it's trash and towels. It's no vacation when you have to clean every day. Very disappointing and even the cleaning day was pretty lousy.

Activities - Not really. They boast kids activities every day, but during our week long stay, the woman running it managed 2 games one day and a scavenger hunt. Every other day kids showed up to nothing. Bingo is the only thing that's consistant. This resort needs to up their game with the kids if they want to attract younger folks to visit and buy.

The Shop- Rudest people on the island. I can't say any more. This is not run by Divi, but is on their property so they should address it.

Finally - the chickees (huts) are a daily battle. To get a chickee (shade during the day) you have to get up before 6:30 (on vacation!). People save them for friends, take several, etc. and there is virtually no beach mangement. During the week we had not one person help get chairs or anything else on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal quebec canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in the new towers. Room was great, beds were very comfortable, 2 bathrooms were great (a luxury to each have had a full bathroom). No elevator waits, grounds kept exceptionally beautiful. Beach was shallow and waveless, very relaxing. People got up early to reserve beach umbrellas and chairs, as well as pool chairs. We rented a car, and went to explore all the different beaches on the island. Eagle beach is beautiful, and as you drive from one end of the coast to the other, it is amazing how different the water is. From calm seas...to great waves...with everything in between... Absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: You need to be on floors 4 and above to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here 1/13/13 to 1/18/13. We had a one bedroom rental in the old tower. It was a nice place, but not as nice as those pictured on the website. The website shows one of the new time shares in the resort. Our place had a galley kitchen with minimal appliances. The dining room/living room area was small, but comfortable for two people. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. What kept me from rating the time share apartment 5 out of 5 was that the furnishing are beginning to show wear and tear after what I assume is extended use. There are not any granite counter tops or stainless appliances as shown on the website. The newer timeshare rentals require an upgrade at the tune of about $60 per night. The property is undergoing renovations to one of its restaurants, but Pure Beach has very good food at reasonable prices, and was never crowded enough to need a reservation. The beach area is great and the waves are controlled by rock jetties that also break up any riptides might otherwise occur. The pool area is very nice and well maintained. Five nights with taxes and fees through Booking.com came to about $1650 U.S. currency. I would go back again, but the long layover at JFK is a discouraging factor. (All flights to the Caribbean from Rochester, NY require a layover at a hub airport like JFK)

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the pool area for more quiet and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Address: 75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Divi Phoenix Beach Hotel
Hotel Divi Phoenix Beach
Aruba Phoenix
Aruba Divi Phoenix
Divi Phoenix Aruba
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.