We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
upstate NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here 1/13/13 to 1/18/13. We had a one bedroom rental in the old tower. It was a nice place, but not as nice as those pictured on the website. The website shows one of the new time shares in the resort. Our place had a galley kitchen with minimal appliances. The dining room/living room area was small, but comfortable for two people. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. What kept me from rating the time share apartment 5 out of 5 was that the furnishing are beginning to show wear and tear after what I assume is extended use. There are not any granite counter tops or stainless appliances as shown on the website. The newer timeshare rentals require an upgrade at the tune of about $60 per night. The property is undergoing renovations to one of its restaurants, but Pure Beach has very good food at reasonable prices, and was never crowded enough to need a reservation. The beach area is great and the waves are controlled by rock jetties that also break up any riptides might otherwise occur. The pool area is very nice and well maintained. Five nights with taxes and fees through Booking.com came to about $1650 U.S. currency. I would go back again, but the long layover at JFK is a discouraging factor. (All flights to the Caribbean from Rochester, NY require a layover at a hub airport like JFK)

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the pool area for more quiet and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    312
    92
    31
    19
See reviews for
253
416
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Divi Phoenix from December 28th 2012 until January 11, 2013. There is no better place to stay on the island especially on New Years Eve. I can not say enough about the bartenders and the rest of the staff at this fabulous resort. We look forward to going back each year just to see the staff as they are like family. Jude, Jay-ar, Yoryi, Derrick, Rafael, Juan, Frank Georgina and Bethelie were fantastic. There was not a thing that they would not do for us, especially dancing with us on New Years Eve. I will miss all of these people because I have never been to another place were the associates will cater to your every whim and go out of there way to to talk to you. They hug you and treat all the guests like they are there family. See all you guys in December. Thank you also to Jackie and David for making our stay special.

Room Tip: 12 th floor has an awesome view of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I love the Divi Phoenix. The Phoenix is one of the best resorts on the island. You cannot find hospitality like that of the phoenix anywhere else. They have the best staff on the island, ESPECIALLY AT PURE BEACH!! I have been a timeshare owner here for quite a few years, and year after year I cannot wait to return to see my friends at the phoenix. Rafael, Jude, Yorgi, Juan, Frank, & Georgina are the best at Pure Beach! I don't know how, but they never fail to remember their guests and create memorable vacations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Used RCI travel points, so not sure about normal cost, or value, but the 1 bedroom suite is great, and had a couple of unexpected extras. Two full bathrooms is very nice, the jucuzzi tub is great, and a washer/dryer was a bonus. Grounds are very well kept, staff is friendly, and I did not get any "timeshare pressure" - a very pleasant surprise. AT first, the food prices seem high - until you go to some other local places....everything is high. My girlfriend was thrilled with everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Divi, having purchased a time share in the newer buildings. Due to the somewhat mixed reviews, I was a little concerned about our decision to purchase. Good news! We were not disappointed. The grounds are immaculate, and the service was excellent. We have a large one bedroom with two full bathrooms. Any minor complaints or questions were resolved within a short time. The staff was courteous and friendly. The room was really nice. It is modern and well maintained. There were enough palapas to go around although the closest ones to the beach get taken early in the morning. The restaurant (only Pure beach was open) was very good. The a/c was fine. Our only complaint was that the water in the shower wasn't always warm enough. No buyer's remorse here!

Room Tip: The newer buildings are nicer and the 4-6th floors have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in July 2012 as a timeshare exchange (we own in Mexico). First, we were never approached or harassed (like at other timeshare resorts) to attend a timeshare presentation. That was a breath of fresh air, as we were there to relax and enjoy the sun and beach. We were put in the older section of the hotel and found the accommodations to be just fine. We do not need granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, or marble floors to be satisfied, and our unit satisfied us just fine. No odors or musty smells as some have mentioned. The bed was comfortable and we had a fantastic view of the beach/ocean.

Since we were there during the "off" season, we didn't have any trouble finding a spot on the beach. We would typically arrive on the beach at about 9:30 or 10:00 every morning and never had any problems finding an open spot (many were filled at that time, but there were still several open, especially if you walked down on the more southern end towards Eagle Beach). We never stayed by the pool so we can't comment on that. There was a strong breeze blowing constantly that the powerful Aruban sun didn't feel as strong as it actually is...so be careful with getting sunburned.

The evenings we ate in the Palm Beach area we were able to walk from the hotel. It wasn't a bad walk, but it's not a hop across the street either. You can walk the entire distance along the highway sidewalk, or you can choose to walk along the wooden boardwalk along the beach...we did both. We did eat in the Eagle Beach area two nights (one night at Passions on the Beach) and that distance was just a little bit much to walk...plus there are no sidewalks or boardwalks to follow going in that direction.

The Phoenix is the southern-most hotel along Palm Beach, and because of that there isn't the wall to wall people you find at the beaches in front of the larger hotels (such as down in the area near the Marriott). We arrived very early our first day and were worried we would be forced to sit in the lobby and wait for our room to be finished. However, much to our surprise when we got to the front desk they said we could go ahead and check-in....at about 1:00!!! Very happy about that. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Aruba, but we do like to explore a lot of the different Caribbean islands.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

With gerrith griffin as new manager expect great things to happen in the near future. new restaurant Sunset Bistro will be complete by February. Expect an exciting new menu and gorgeous sunsets while you dine

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Address: 75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Divi Phoenix Beach Hotel
Hotel Divi Phoenix Beach
Aruba Phoenix
Aruba Divi Phoenix
Divi Phoenix Aruba
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.