We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time, the place to stay in Aruba.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful time, the place to stay in Aruba.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The past two weeks have been amazing! I love Divi Phoenix. I must say that if you are always on fast pace NY & Chicago time, you need to prepare yourself to slow things down. Waiting for things, particularly food/service at PureBeach Grill & Bar as well as at the coffee shop takes a while. The beach is the best. Get out there early for chairs but don't be those people that save beach chairs at 5am and you don't come down from the room until 1pm. It's not polite or considerate. Being the last on the strip keeps things mellow in the best way possible but you can walk to any of the hotels within 5 minutes. Let me know if you have questions, it was my 10th year on the island and can't wait for my 11th in 2013!


Best,
Nicole Poull

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    280
    79
    30
    15
See reviews for
227
359
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Let me preface this review by first saying that we have been to Aruba 4 times and have always stayed at either Occidental or the Hyatt. This was the first time we brought our 3 children along, so I booked at the Divi since the rooms were spacious to accommodate our family and also less expensive. All I can say is, we were so disappointed. Our room, although spacious, was not as clean as it could have been. Food and service at the pool restaurant was DEPLORABLE. We sat for 20 minutes before anyone came over to our table. My husband sat and waited another 20 minutes at the pool bar before the bartender even glanced at him. They served him our drinks in horrible melamine cups that looked cloudy and dirty. The beach and pool area was littered with debris. JUST HORRIBLE!! That's when we decided to look elsewhere for a room. I will say, when I checked out early with the front desk, they were very polite and expressed their apologies for our unhappiness.
The hotel kindly refunded us for the 3 out of 4 night stay.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first stay at the Divi Phoenix where we own a time share. We were there for two weeks, including the Christmas week. Our first floor one-bedroom unit was spacious and comfortable. The kitchenware did not include a spatula, but they provided one when we asked. I think a spatula should be included in every room. Cooking is on a cooktop and a combination microwave and convection unit that cooked, grilled, defrosted, etc. It worked quite well.

The only appliance that is terrible is the combination washer and dryer. This is not two applicances stacked on top of each other, but one unit that washes and then attempts to dry. The washer is fine, but the dryer is completely inadequate. I wound up taking a load of wash to the Tower building where they have regular dryers. The only other criticism is having to pay for Wifi. We hope this will change for our next visit.

The location is ideal. It is at one end of Palm Beach, with its own large beach. There is a public beach and police station that separates it from the strip of high rise hotels. You can walk to everything but it is quiet and far away from the frenetic activity. We like to have a car, but you can definitely get by without one and use cabs and the bus.

It is an ideal family place; the Christmas week was awash with kids, so avoid it if you just want to be quiet. The week before was much quieter.

We had excellent weather with just one rainy day. We love Aruba and have gone at least 9 times. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The villas are the oldest section, then the Tower, and then the newest buildings which I recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This location is fantastic, right on the beach, open air lobby and hallways, ample parking, beautiful well-appointed rooms, multiple pools, one with a swim up bar! This resort/hotel is worth every penny, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: My spouse and I had a full kitchen and cooked for ourselves for breakfast and lunch and saved $$ to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked our Studio Suite, Room 105, as an Extra Vacation through RCI, since we couldn’t find an exchange that met all our criteria. What luck!!

We were looking for pure R&R and we found it. Our suite, located on the ground floor of the older Beach Villas is perfect for us. Sadly, we leave tomorrow (moving to another resort), and we definitely plan to return.

PROS
• Suite was spacious and well equipped with everything we needed to prepare our meals.
• Extremely comfortable queen bed.
• Loved the plugs in the lamp bases for charging ipod, computer, etc.
• Lovely patio facing the villas’ pool and beyond the beach.
• Lots of closet and drawer space.
• Jacuzzi tub in bathroom, with a great shower. Loads of towels and soap.
• Spectacular turquoise beach to wade in and cool off; perfect for kids. Loads of available beach chairs and palapas; we especially liked the quiet beach to the south of the resort.
• No beach vendors. A couple of days vendors did set up near our unit, but they were quiet and did not bother us in anyway. I did buy a lovely bracelet with numerous coloured stones for only $12.
• Ice cream in the Pure Deli.
• Coin laundry a great plus, since we’re in Aruba for two weeks and prefer to pack light.
• Welcome party on the second night for timeshare members – open bar, dancing, prizes.
• No timeshare sales pressure. We only had to say once that we weren’t interested in attending the “update meeting”, and that was that.
• Enjoyed evening strolls along the boardwalk past the high rise hotels, giving us a sneak peak at some other hotel options, and convincing us further that the Divi Phoenix is the perfect resort for us.

CONS – note these are all very minor, and in no way took away from a wonderful relaxing experience.

• Construction noise at the Sun Splash bar and Sunset Grill, both of which are currently undergoing major renovations. It was easy to escape the noise, so not a problem, but I wonder why this work wasn’t completed prior to high season.
• The fridge door swings the wrong way making it awkward to use. Since the door is reversible, this could easily be fixed.
• The over-counter light takes about 15 minutes to light – weird.
• The room thermostat is hidden behind the large and heavy TV/dresser cupboard. We would have preferred to be able to turn off the AC and open the patio doors during the day and evening. However, I understand this is done deliberately to prevent humidity build-up in the room, leading to that nasty mustiness found in many Caribbean ground floor rooms.
• $50 for a week of WiFi – I think times have changed enough that WiFi should be included everywhere – but that’s me. On the plus side, it worked easily and consistently, unlike many other resorts we have been to in the last few years.
• The hot tub in the villas area was too hot!
• The recommended grocery stores were dreadful! Luckily we found Kong Hing supermarket, next to the old Super Foods, which has great selection and reasonable prices.

We rented a car, but it’s not really needed. For the same price or less you could take a coach tour of the island, taxi to/from airport and to the grocery store. For those who prefer to eat out, there is a good selection of restaurants and bars within walking distance, although I would taxi back after dark.

Room Tip: We would definitely prefer a ground floor studio in the Beach Villas again, but I suspect that all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we go there every march for 2 weeks because its right on the beach and weather is always suure of no rain.the accomodations are great and the area is lovely.people are friendly and helpful at the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Divi Phoenix in Aruba. The hotel was great. the one-bedroom suite was nice because we brought another couple and they were able to have their own bathroom. They said that the pull-out sofa was comfortable. I liked the Divi because of the room, beach and pool. This resort was small but had all of the amenities. The beach was close to the pool and room so you didn't have to walk far. The hotel was clean. The front desk people were frienlyy and helpfut-especially Lakaisha. The only problem was with the service at the poolside restaurant. They were nice but extremely slow. You had to wait for drinks and food for what seemed to be over a half hour. This should not happen especially since there weren't many people there. The food was just average. We would definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Address: 75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Divi Phoenix Beach Hotel
Hotel Divi Phoenix Beach
Aruba Phoenix
Aruba Divi Phoenix
Divi Phoenix Aruba
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.