We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
SLC, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best vacation EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and my husband had to practically drag
me out when it was time to leave. Everything was wonderful, the room (more like a condo) was perfect and felt like home right away... there was so much to do within walking distance, the beach and restaurants were great.
Our suite had a roomy kitchen, two nice big flat-screen TVs, living room, balcony with patio furniture, his & hers closets with an electronic safe, and a dining area.

Cons: Bathroom was a bit small compared to the roominess of the rest of the suite.
The hotel bars served overpriced weak watered-down drinks.
During the weekend the hotel was full of rowdy, loud college-aged kids who had drunken fights in the adjacent rooms and in the hallway late into the night (no exaggeration!) we called security several times because of this, they were well aware of the issue, but did nothing about it. They made a mess of the hallway and it took half a day to get the staff to clean it up. (I'm sure this is an isolated incident but the complete lack of concern by the staff was a bigger mood-killer than the trashy neighbors)
Pillows on bed were lumpy and awful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    219
    73
    29
    14
See reviews for
254
321
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little River, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This is our 12th year in Aruba. The people are wonderful and always make you feel welcome. Particularly super service was rendered by the following individuals at the Ocean Club: Franklin, Brian and Giovanny at the Waves Bar; Nihaila the casino hostess; Mike R at Champions and Rosangel at the front desk. Many others were also very helpful. The downside was primarily form other guests. Unruly children and discourteous adults were the main two problems. Weather is perfect. Restaurants are wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

On our third visit to aruba. Spent last year at Divi with our teenagers absolutely loved it, not one bad thing to say but the kids thought Palm Beach looked more exciting so we booked there this year. Would not return, there is literally no night life at this resort. All the bars close by six except Champions but you go to Aruba to be on the water not in a sports bar with no ocean view!!! Workers were wonderful so sweet and helpful unfortunately they were dealing with the most rude people I have encountered in my life. People on the beach yelling at people that they were in their 'space" they paid for, people having staff put out 20 chairs and only 5 people using them, ordering staff around rudel sending back drinks etc. Not just adults but their kids as well, I would not talk to my worst enemy that way. It got to the point I would not want to be on the beach listening to how rude and obnoxious they were I was horrified, we met so many wonderful people last year but not so this year. I have to say all 6 of us agreed we will only stay on Eagle Beach from now on. Food was very expensive and subpar the food at the all inclusive was so much better. Very disappointed. Will only go the Div from now on! Kudos to the staff for thier kindness and patience

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We exchanged here through Interval International. Great place, clean rooms, friendly staff and always willing to help. You can do as much or as little as you chose, they have activities for all ages, daily. Much more quiet than the sister Surf Club. You can swim in ocean or pool, the huts are nice on the beach. We didn't have any problem getting one very near the waters edge every morning but don't wait to long because they do go quickly. We ate at Champions sports bar, food was good. Also at the Pavillion for lunch and drinks at the bar, again good but both are alittle pricey. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

So, for almost two years I have been reading reviews about the Ocean Club and the Surf Club and I must say that overall the reviews were pretty accurate. Now that I have returned from a stay at the Ocean Club, I must admit that I am delighted we stayed there. In fact, I told my husband , had we chosen the Surf Club , I would have thought about checking out. What a zoo!

The Ocean Club is clean, the rooms are spacious and it is quiet and realaxing. I did not have to deal with getting up at the crack of dawn to get a lounge chair nor did I have to deal with screaming babies or tripping over strollers or trying to use the pool without being pushed and shoved. There were plenty of lounge chairs available as were the huts at the beach.

The staff was very accomdating . The weather was not typical Aruba weather....storms for several days and then sunshine...finally.

So, if you want a quiet and relaxing vacation, stay at the Ocean Club. If you are into a zoo like atmosphere, then the Surf Club is where you belong.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

I cannot understand any bad reviews of the community of Marriott properties in Aruba. You need to understand that it is not the responsibility of the resort to make your good time. This was our fifth trip to Aruba (My wife and I) but this was the second time we came with two other couples. The first three were as a couple, and how peaceful it was. We decided to ask other couplesto go that had gone to Atlantis for many years, and they said after the first year that it was better in so many ways than the Atlantis. More restful and just as fun with the Casino and great beach great food and sunsets incomparable.
Make sure you shop at the grocery for food for breakfast and lunch, and we even made dinner in the room on two occassions. Buy your own beer and take it to the pool or beach, we put the beer in large trash bags with ice to keep it cold. You develope a routine typically either together or apart. Beach, shopping, water toys, beach walks, lots of people to watch (and like you would expect plenty of variety). Drinks in the afternoon until sunset 6:30 in January, Shower and go to dinner, (fine dining or very casual)then to the casinos or night clubs.
Rooms are great, clean, ask and you will receive. In room laundry, kitchen with everything, internet or skype. What do you want?
Learn how to travel and you will have no complaints.
Going again in January of '11 with the same couples. As veterans of travel go here and have a blast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We are here at the Ocean Club right now. The rooms are spotless, the resort is great. We always stay at the Marriott Surf. We typically come 3 weeks per year and love it here. We trade through Interval and then we also rent an oceanFRONT unit as a special treat. At the Surf Club we have always had the most incredible views renting from owners with oceanFRONT timeshares. The Surf considers an oceanFRONT view to be above the first two or three floors. the Ocean Club however anythng at the front of the building is considered oceanFRONT. So here we are, we paid extra for this incredible view that we have grown to love at the Surf and we are on the bottom floor of the Ocean Club and we can seriously not even see the ocean. Pretty pathetic. If Iwould have paid top dollar for an oceanFRONT timeshare here I would be extremely upset when all I see is the pool, tourists, and the back of the smoothie stand.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Address: 99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.