We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unaccommodating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
NYC
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unaccommodating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Very unaccommodating, almost as if there are doing me a favor by being there. Rooms have bugs, doors are broken, gym is run down. The people are programmed with the word NO for any recommendation of flexibility.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Aruba Ocean Club. The experience you described is not typical for our resort and we would like to personally respond to your concerns. At your earliest convenience, please contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    219
    73
    29
    14
See reviews for
254
321
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was very impressed with the Marriott Ocean Club. We had a two bedroom ocean view, which I had requested. The view was average partly blocked by palm trees, but that was it. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We went for relaxation, sun and the ocean and got it all. There was construction going on at the time we were there but it did not disrupt our stay. We are Marriott owners and are use to having washer and dryer in our condo but there are none at this one. I was disappointed at first but with everything else here it really did not matter.
We loved the walk that runs along the beach from one end of the high rise hotels down the beach.
With restaurants, bars and all the attractions it was our usual nightly stroll. We felt very safe in this area and definitely would come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, we take your feedback seriously and thank you for sharing it with us. Our team is happy to hear you had a great vacation at Marriott’s Aruba Ocean Club and appreciate your kind comments for our team. We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful island of Aruba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed at this resort in May 2013. The staff was very nice and helpful. Our check in took a little while but we were given vouchers to visit the sports bar for free drinks and an appetizer.

We had some issues with our room at first. It smelt like smoke and the manager refused to move us after we had complained that my boyfriend had just quit smoking and could not stay in that room. The cleaning staff came in and told us they would re-clean and take out the smell. Our view was nice with a partial ocean view and the pool.

The resort pool was very nice. The pool bar staff were nice. The beach was beautiful.

I really enjoyed having the sports bar on the premises. We are big hockey fans and every night our team was on, we would go there for a few beers. The prices were expensive but it was the only American bar that had hockey on so it was worth it.

The location of the resort is great as well. Restaurants are aplenty here. Scotty's Brats (great wisconson bratwurst) is a 4-5 min walk down the beach, so is Simply Fish, it is right around the corner. Every good restaurant was a quick walk making lunch a great thing (oh yeah, the bar restaurant for lunch is great!) Also, we took a tip from two life long tourists of a little seafood restaurant a short taxi ride away called "Wacky Wahoo" this is THE BEST restaurant on the island. We live in NYC and are surrounded with great food and Wacky Wahoo was the best meal we've ever had. You won't find it on any tourist maps in Aruba but it's a MUST DO, it's in a little strip mall but it was a great experience.

The resort is VERY VERY clean, furthermore it's very convenient because laundry is on premises so you can wash your clothes very easily as it's on every floor. They really take the extra step to provide great service everywhere on the premises. Also, highly recommend your first day there, go down to the beach and reserve a tiki for the beach for at least one or two days, they fill up quick and only on our last day did we manage to get a tiki on the front row of the beach which was a GREAT experience! they have waiters and waitresses walking around taking your bar orders and it is indeed very nice.

I really enjoyed this resort and Aruba. Everyone was accommodating and Aruba is one beautiful island. It truly is one happy island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We truly appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Aruba Ocean Club! Your great tips will certainly be helpful to other travelers interested in coming to Aruba. Please visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

First of all, let me say my family and I had a great time in Aruba. The ocean club was great for what we needed. We wanted a condo with kitchen. My parents are Marriott owners so we knew what we were getting. However, unlike other Marriott condos, these do not have washer and dryers in the room. Huge inconvenience. Also, furniture in the den is uncomfortable. Service was ok. It was a very busy time but people behind the front desk were not that friendly. Pool area is nice but is in serious need of a face lift. We rented from vrbo. Al Ross was a delight to work with. We will go back to aruba for sure, but will try another resort.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked one bedroom suite with balcony
Great room but located last room by main lobby
No view, loud with air conditioning unit across at stellaris
Little view of ocean even though rated as ocean view
Front desk does not answer phone
Busy beach++

Room Tip: Check where your room is before committing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Aruba Ocean Club. While it is never easy to hear when we have not met our guest’s expectations, we appreciate your honest feedback about your stay. On your return visit, the ocean front view type may work better for your family . We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit to Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have to give the Marriott Ocean Club five stars, not because it was the nicest place we have ever stayed, and nor was it remotely good value at exorbitant Christmas week prices. But we LOVE Aruba and are factoring that in. We came for beach and water sports, and the Ocean Club was ideal for that. We had heard that the Surf Club was more kid-friendly, but decided we didn't need a lazy river, and are glad we chose Ocean Club as it is smaller and more personal. There were enough young families that we didn't feel like we were bothering people with our three children ages 5-10, but we also weren't overrun by little kids and crying babies (nothing wrong with that of course, as we were in that phase not long ago).

Based on the room tips here, we requested an ocean view room on floors 4 or 5 (of 5 total), in the inner area facing the pool. As non-owners, it was probably just good luck that we got all of these. The two-bedroom villa (5487) was perfect for us. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

Other pros:
- Location is perfect and not on the busiest part of the strip. We visited friends at the Westin, with beachgoers packed in like sardines.
- It is pleasant to walk or jog down to the quiet Ritz-Carlton beach. There is also a nice jogging path with entry right past the Ritz (from the street).
- Unlike another recent reviewer, we enjoyed the availability of every possible water sport vendor and water taxis just steps away.
- We found the service here and all over Aruba to be cheerful and prompt. We were able to check in within about 30 minutes of arriving at 2 pm. We had to call the resort doctor one day because we had forgotten a medication at home, and the front desk called us later in the day to make sure we were feeling okay.
- Once you get over having to pay extra for housekeeping service (typical at these villa-type residences), they were prompt and thorough.
-The pool and hot tub layout are beautiful.

Cons:
- No laundry facilities in the room. There are machines for shared use on every floor, but there were only 3 washer/ dryers and one of each was broken on both the 3rd and 4th floor.
- The food at the poolside restaurant was bland, but we enjoyed at the Vista at the Stellaris next door (at higher prices).
- The procedure for reserving a palapa at 6 in the morning is insane.

Overall, the Ocean Club was very enjoyable and I cannot say enough good things about Aruba (including restaurants Barefoot, Pincho's, Madame Janette, Sole Mare, and Matthew's). We paid more than this would be worth during almost any other week and did not expect 5-star luxury; that said, there is little we would have changed about our experience.

Room Tip: Request the top two floors (4th or 5th), pool view, and not on the Surf Club side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Ocean Club has by far the highest density of beach sports concessions anywhere on Palm Beach ... taking away beachfront seating and degrading the seating behind these spots. Of course there are none of these concessions in front of the Ritz, very few in front of the Marriott Hotel or the Hyatt. Less in front of the Holiday Inn! Why? The Ocean Club is in the bottom of the ranking on this issue.
The mattresses are showing their age ... getting broken down. The sheets are fitted too small for the mattress. Always one corner comes loose and then the whole sheet moves around.
The absolute minimum is provided in dishes and silverware (5 settings in a one bedroom plus sofa bed). It is easy to find yourself running the dishwasher more than once a day. A waste of energy, water and time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club. Our team appreciates your feedback on areas for improvement at the resort and will share your thoughts with the appropriate departments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Address: 99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.