We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
atlanta, ga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

First of all, let me say my family and I had a great time in Aruba. The ocean club was great for what we needed. We wanted a condo with kitchen. My parents are Marriott owners so we knew what we were getting. However, unlike other Marriott condos, these do not have washer and dryers in the room. Huge inconvenience. Also, furniture in the den is uncomfortable. Service was ok. It was a very busy time but people behind the front desk were not that friendly. Pool area is nice but is in serious need of a face lift. We rented from vrbo. Al Ross was a delight to work with. We will go back to aruba for sure, but will try another resort.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    219
    73
    29
    14
See reviews for
254
321
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oranjestad, Aruba
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked one bedroom suite with balcony
Great room but located last room by main lobby
No view, loud with air conditioning unit across at stellaris
Little view of ocean even though rated as ocean view
Front desk does not answer phone
Busy beach++

Room Tip: Check where your room is before committing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Aruba Ocean Club. While it is never easy to hear when we have not met our guest’s expectations, we appreciate your honest feedback about your stay. On your return visit, the ocean front view type may work better for your family . We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit to Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have to give the Marriott Ocean Club five stars, not because it was the nicest place we have ever stayed, and nor was it remotely good value at exorbitant Christmas week prices. But we LOVE Aruba and are factoring that in. We came for beach and water sports, and the Ocean Club was ideal for that. We had heard that the Surf Club was more kid-friendly, but decided we didn't need a lazy river, and are glad we chose Ocean Club as it is smaller and more personal. There were enough young families that we didn't feel like we were bothering people with our three children ages 5-10, but we also weren't overrun by little kids and crying babies (nothing wrong with that of course, as we were in that phase not long ago).

Based on the room tips here, we requested an ocean view room on floors 4 or 5 (of 5 total), in the inner area facing the pool. As non-owners, it was probably just good luck that we got all of these. The two-bedroom villa (5487) was perfect for us. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

Other pros:
- Location is perfect and not on the busiest part of the strip. We visited friends at the Westin, with beachgoers packed in like sardines.
- It is pleasant to walk or jog down to the quiet Ritz-Carlton beach. There is also a nice jogging path with entry right past the Ritz (from the street).
- Unlike another recent reviewer, we enjoyed the availability of every possible water sport vendor and water taxis just steps away.
- We found the service here and all over Aruba to be cheerful and prompt. We were able to check in within about 30 minutes of arriving at 2 pm. We had to call the resort doctor one day because we had forgotten a medication at home, and the front desk called us later in the day to make sure we were feeling okay.
- Once you get over having to pay extra for housekeeping service (typical at these villa-type residences), they were prompt and thorough.
-The pool and hot tub layout are beautiful.

Cons:
- No laundry facilities in the room. There are machines for shared use on every floor, but there were only 3 washer/ dryers and one of each was broken on both the 3rd and 4th floor.
- The food at the poolside restaurant was bland, but we enjoyed at the Vista at the Stellaris next door (at higher prices).
- The procedure for reserving a palapa at 6 in the morning is insane.

Overall, the Ocean Club was very enjoyable and I cannot say enough good things about Aruba (including restaurants Barefoot, Pincho's, Madame Janette, Sole Mare, and Matthew's). We paid more than this would be worth during almost any other week and did not expect 5-star luxury; that said, there is little we would have changed about our experience.

Room Tip: Request the top two floors (4th or 5th), pool view, and not on the Surf Club side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Ocean Club has by far the highest density of beach sports concessions anywhere on Palm Beach ... taking away beachfront seating and degrading the seating behind these spots. Of course there are none of these concessions in front of the Ritz, very few in front of the Marriott Hotel or the Hyatt. Less in front of the Holiday Inn! Why? The Ocean Club is in the bottom of the ranking on this issue.
The mattresses are showing their age ... getting broken down. The sheets are fitted too small for the mattress. Always one corner comes loose and then the whole sheet moves around.
The absolute minimum is provided in dishes and silverware (5 settings in a one bedroom plus sofa bed). It is easy to find yourself running the dishwasher more than once a day. A waste of energy, water and time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club. Our team appreciates your feedback on areas for improvement at the resort and will share your thoughts with the appropriate departments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We exchanged our Marriott Grand Chateau-LV unit for Marriott Ocean Club thru Interval International. We have a one bedroom overlooking the Surf Club side with a partial ocean view. The unit was the standard one bedroom Marriott unit with a balcony. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. Timeshare owners get one day of complimentary housekeeping but have the option to purchase additional cleaning days @ $15 per day. We opted out of any additional days but the one housekeeping visit was four days into our stay; two days before check-out.

Location is great; within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The beach is beautiful. As guests of the Ocean Club, we could not use the lazy river and serenity pool at the Surf Club, nor could the Surf Club guest use the palapas on the Ocean Club side. Palapas have to be reserved on a daily basis. There are some free ones available (furthest away from the beach and goes quickly). Closer to the beach will cost $15 a day and can be reserved for up to 3 days at a time. If you don’t want to get up early to reserve a palapa, there’s umbrella rentals from a place on the beach for $30 a day and they will set-up it up any place you want.

Wi-Fi is the room works great but not so much when on the hotel grounds. Tours can be booked at the tour desk in the lobby. Food & drinks are expensive - breakfast will run you $25 pp at the hotel's restaurant. Overall it was a good stay. I think service could be improved but I would recommend the Ocean Club just don't expect great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club. While we are happy to hear your family enjoyed their overall vacation, we apologize for not exceeding your expectations when it came to service. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with the appropriate areas for review. Thank you again for visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We thankfully are not owners at this resort but traded for it through Interval. The first thing that we noticed when we arrived at our villa was the terribly stained carpet in the bedroom. We were exhausted from hours of travel so immediately upon unpacking I headed to the shower to find that the bath towels were dingy gray in color. I used two because they were not very thick so while my husband showered I called down for more towels. My husband took his slow shower but I was still
Holding the phone waiting for someone to answer. Finally someone did answer and told me there was a charge for additional charges because we had traded,we were considered owners and owners were charged for extra towels. When we went to bed we discovered that the sheet under the comforter did not extend the full width of the bed. Again a very long wait until someone picked up. I was connected to housekeeping where I was told that all of the sheets were the same size. We spent our week with crummy towels and sleeping in the center of the bed because the sheet did not fit. It did not stop there because when I went to use the bathroom by the pool there was no toilet paper. Something that could happen you may be thinking but it happened several times during our stay. Every time we tried to call for a service, especially to get a concierge to make reservations the wait was forever. This was certainly not the type of service that I expected from a resort with the Marriott name on it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a one room unit with an ocean-view that was a gift as the weather was perfect and thus, the view all day long. Wasn't very crowded this week so we had easy pool or beach access and easy to walk into any Marriott restaurant or local restaurant with a reservation. The Concierge staff to be commended to working so efficiently with so many folks booking activities or dinner reservations. We went enjoyed the de Palm four hour sailing/snorkeling tour and the Atlantis Submarine. Rented a car from Hertz at the hotel and toured the island on our own one day which was fun as following the maps is an adventure.

Resort staff friendly and helpful … food prices on the island are high … all imported so one must pay. Wish there was Marriott entertainment at night …. we stayed away from the casino after 3 nights of contributing to their December revenue. Enjoyed ourselves overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Address: 99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.