We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Me and my husband had a wonderful time staying at the this timeshare. From the moment we checked in(Nicole was very efficient and nice) until the last day we had to spend there. Everything was kept very clean and the people were wonderful (we constantly interacted with Melveta ,Naira and Mike ,they were all very very nice).We hardly go back to the same resort because we want to see other places, but we are considering revisiting this one . It was at the top of our list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    195
    57
    26
    11
See reviews for
219
287
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hiils, NY
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Ocean Club. The first was several years ago. While the timeshare style villas are still a solid choice for families, not much has changed about them since our last visit. Our only complaint, and it was a minor one, was a somewhat stale odor in the villa. Otherwise, we were pleased with our stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is our third visit to the resort. I exchanged thru Interval - but needed 2 rooms as we traveled with my 85 year old mother in law. She is very independent, so we requested two, one bedroom units, 4th floor or higher. This is a tough request given the fact that we don't own a timeshare at the property. Lilian Britten (Director of Rooms) came to our rescue - she is amazing. The units were across the hall from each other, we faced the pool and mom faced the sunset and the JW beach. OUTSTANDING. The property is spectacular, people are friendly, staff at the resort - excellent. Pool is large, beach huts readily available. If you plan on going downtown ask the concierge if there are any cruise ships in port. The town gets crowded. We toured the butterfly farm (go in the morning) which was good, the Atlantis Submarine which is well worth the price, sunset sail and the 5 hour bus tour of the island. (I would have opted for the jeep tour, but we needed a comfortable bus for mom) All of the excursions were set up in one visit to the concierge desk. Well done! The resort treated my mother-in-law like a celebrity, it is great that they show respect for the elderly. The food at all of the resort restaurants is great, service, typical island service - don't be in a rush. Thank you to all at the resort for a once in a lifetime vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just came back from a week stay at the Marriott ocean club which is more adult oriented and "civilized" compared to its neighbor the Marriott Surf Club. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was a one bedroom ( full kitchen and living room ) with an attached guest room ( basically just a hotel room with a tiny kitchen set up). The laundry rooms are not in the rooms but down the hallway on each floor.

The rooms were spacious, clean and a welcome change from just hotel rooms. Marriott properties are consistently updated and spruced up every few years so we knew what to expect ....

The staff are very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The pool area actually has a quiet pool which was our favorite place to stay since it discouraged children and noisy groups.

The beach area has free straw huts if you get on line Before 7:00AM the same day. This time of year, the huts were plentiful.

We would definitely go back....and hopefully be able to stay at this timeshare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

our second year here. The staff does their best to pamper you, often going above and beyond. They remember you name, and what you like to eat and drink.

The resort is clean and well maintained.

The only down side is that we can not use the lazy river on the marriott property next door...but I understand. Though you do get to use your room charge on all three marriott properties and in their hotels...just a couple of places you can not go. And of course it is a easy two block walk to the shops, theatre, and restaurants.

Get up early to reserve your palapa as they often run out. We love the hot tub in the evening. Pavillions restaurant on the property is consistent and tasty.

The spa is nice, the staff is good, though it is very expensive...with the 20% 'service charge' on top of the already high prices...we learned the hard way....could get the same services downtown for a $11 cab fare at 1/3 the price.

We will be back again and again.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the ocean club, not the hotel property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went to Aruba 19Apr-25Apr2013 (5 nights) with 8 adults and 2 children (2 x villas + 2 x guest rooms). We used someone else's timeshare slot and just paid for their maintenance fee, otherwise the nighty rate is very high.

It's my favorite beach thus far (Been to Hawaii, Jamaica, DR, Bermuda, & Bahamas). The ocean water is blue (not crystal clear tho), calm and clean. The sand was so soft on my toes and didn't need to worry about rocks in the water. The weather was hot but there was a constant light breeze which made the experience so enjoyable.

The Marriott Ocean club is connected to the Marriott Surf Club and Marriott Stellaris so we got to enjoy the amenities at all 3 x resorts. Resort was a 30 min drive from the airport and near all the other big franchise, high rise hotels. If you rent a car, they have free parking. They have a nice fitness center with plenty of cardio & weight equipment. All the cardio equipment had their own personal TVs so bring a headset to listen. Guest Rooms have free wireless internet, a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, toaster & dishes. Villas have a stove, dishwasher, and living room area.

To save a little $$ and splurge elsewhere, we went to the nearby grocery store, and bought cereal, eggs, milk, juice & bread to make breakfast, and liquor/beer/mixers to enjoy our own self made cocktails while laying at the pool/beach (bring a travel cup/mug). We got good coffee in the morning from the resort's Ocean Cafe, ordered lunch by the pool (waiter service avail), and had dinner away from the resort as there are many great restaurants on the island (see my restaurant reviews). We enjoyed the resort's spa which offers private outdoor beach massages for $105, and plenty of water sports to choose from (jet skiing, parasailing, snorkeling, tubing, catamaran, etc) which is reasonable priced. They have free beach towel service, and free beach huts (get there early to get the free beach hut; if no free ones are left then they have huts for $10-$15 to pay for). Next to the towel service stand, there is an ice machine, water and cups that you can get free water (totally drinkable, no one got sick) and ice to add to your cocktails.

The Surf Club has a small lazy river and slide for the kids to enjoy, and the Stellaris has a casino for the adults to enjoy. If you sit through their 90-min vacation club/timeshare presentation, they will give you $200 in resort cash or $400 in casino cash just for listening to the presentation. There is a long strip of shops, restaurants & activities behind the high rise resorts that is convenient to walk to. You can also walk along the beach from the Marriott all the way down to the Divi and there are plenty of beach dining spots to choose from as well.

Tip: when leaving US airport, you can get a bottle of liquor (1 per person) at the duty free shop to bring to Aruba with you (ketal and grey goose was about $30) and if you smoke you can get cigarettes really cheap. We rented a jeep but if we go back, we wouldn't rent anything again. We would just use taxi service. In my opinion, the island isn't much of a site-seeing island. We did rent a jeep at $150/day and go off-roading to find the natural pool but wasn't worth it. It took an hour of bumpy off-roading to find the natural pool and all it was, was part of ocean water with a wall of rocks surrounding it.

All-in-all, it was a great vacation because we had a peaceful, relaxing time.

Room Tip: First floor location near the Stellaris side was so convenient; when at the beach or pool and want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Aruba since2003 when we spent a week at the Westin with our 2 young children in a hotel room. We decided that would never happen again. Too cramped for space and 3 meals out every day gets rough. Then we discovered Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club with its condo style accommodations. We still eat out every night but can have breakfast and lunch in our room if we want. There is a full living room, dining room, kitchen. There are washers and dryers. The resort staff is excellent taking care of all our needs. Great location. You can walk to many restaurants and shops.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Address: 99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.