We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family often stays at Marriott resorts. We love the big, clean spaces, oversized pools, washer/dryers in the units or on the floors, and overall level of service. The Ocean Club was a typically great Marriott experience. We rented a two-room suite, with a huge living room and kitchen. Every room had a new flat screen TV; the beds were comfy; the linens always fresh; daily service was impeccable; all of the appliances were in perfect condition; and the room was quiet. We especially liked the hotel pool bar (great drinks!) and restaurant, which, by the way, had exceptionally good fish tacos, with day boat grouper and all the trimmings. The ice cream/coffee/sandwich shop was also top notch, and there were an unusual number of stores in the building, with lots of inventory at good prices, which was a real plus. Oddly, the Marriott next door, the Surf Club, which is three times the size, had a much smaller lobby and cramped feeling all around. We choose the Ocean Club over the Surf Club on the recommendation of a good friend who told us the Surf Club was too hectic and too big, and we second that. The pool area at Ocean is very relaxed -- there's always chairs and plenty of room in the pool itself. We went to the Surf Club to check it out and it was chaos, with virtually no chairs around and floatation devices everywhere for use in the "lazy river," which was the shortest "lazy river" I've ever seen. Maybe the best thing about Ocean Club (and Surf Club) is it's location. It's near, but away from, the hectic scene in the shopping centers that abound the high rise area, and hence is much more quiet and serene at night. A real plus if you're with kids. In any event, if you're looking for an awesome place to stay with your family in Aruba, Ocean Club is it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    189
    54
    25
    10
See reviews for
204
277
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A friend owns a timeshare here at the Ocean Club and we have been every year for the last 4 years. Our 5th year is coming up in Sept/Oct. We love it here. We come at the sametime every year and it's the best. Sept/Oct is when we choose to come as it is not crowded and the weather is perfect.
Rooms- Beautiful rooms with great views. You can request certain rooms or views but if is not a guarantee you will get it. We have only once had an issue with this an while it was not 100% solved it was made up to us. We have a 2 bedroom lockoff with a full kitchen. Very large dooms with great bathrooms and a large soak tub in the main bedroom. The kitchen comes with everything you need and we make full use of it.
Service- The Marriott never falls short on service. Friendly, outgoing always willing to help. If you have an issue they fix it as quickly as possible. They are full of information when asked, never pushy and always smiling. We love that we see most of the same staff every year and they remember you.
Resort- Beautiful inside and out. Pristine in appearance inside and out as well. Love all od the glass artwork. Bright colors, not gaudy at all. A little coffee shop inside with some breakfast items as well as sandwiches and a few snacks it also serves as an ice cream shop. You will also find a gift/convient type mart inside with gifts, sundries and little things you need or forgot 3 boutiques (one with a small but decent cigar section)a perfume shop and a jewelry store top off the shopping just at the Ocean club. There is a restaurant in the Ocean Club called Champions the food is not bad but not as good as some on the island. That being said its good for a burger or fish and chips. It's a very large sports bar so on game nights its full of screaming Americans. The spa is fantastic very relaxing and soothing.
Pool and beach- Nothing bad to say about either. The beaches are beautiful and clean with sparkling crystal clear waters. There is no tide really on this side of the island which makes it perfect for small children. The palapas must be reserved and the guys that set them up for you are great. People get really possessive of their spots but come on its Aruba every spot is good. The Ocean Club has one of the biggest sections of beach area so there is plenty of room. The one drawback that ticks me off is people who don't get a spot and just take chairs and pull them right up to the edge of the surf and sit blocking the way. The pools are great. Not crowded, plenty of room. There is a small quiet pool, one large pool and a small little baby pool As well as a fabulous whirlpool up a set of stairs that has great views.
We love The Ocean Club. It's a home away from home and we look forward to it every year.

Room Tip: Inside ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The villa was beautiful. The amenities are fantastic. The staff is great. We had a week to unwind, soak up the sun, and relax. The Ocean Club was the perfect place for us to do just that. Loved it.

"Simply Fish" was our favorite spot for dinner - right on the beach, feet in the sand. The palapas at the shoreline go fast, so you have to be up VERY early (5 am) to get the best spots. Other palapas are available later but not the first row. We visited the Stellaris Casino next door. It isn't Vegas, but we weren't really visiting Aruba for that. The whirlpool at night with the changing underwater lights was romantic. Our balcony view of the Ocean was lovely from the 6th floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Thursday, staying next door at the Marriott hotel. We moved over to the Ocean Club on Friday, with a timeshare exchange from our ownership of Marriott's Ocean Watch in Myrtle Beach. Since we were here early, we were hoping for an early check in, but with it being spring break, we weren't able to get in until mid afternoon. When we were assigned a room, it was on the first floor, farthest to the pool/beach and next to the elevators. I complained saying that I wanted a room with a better view and closer to the pool. They were not able to accommodate me. When a family checking in was given a room on the top floor after I checked in, I found out that owners of this property are given priority status. This family has owned at Ocean Club for 18 years; even though I am an owner, I am not an owner at the Ocean Club. That was a tough pill to swallow, but I'm in Aruba and not shoveling snow in the northeast. Our 2 bedroom lock off is nicely decorated and all our needs are met. Each room has a big tv, the showers are roomy and there is a large jacuzzi tub in the one bath area. The accommodations are very nice. It does look like the hallways are in need of a makeover soon but the rooms seem rather modern. The Surf Club next door looks mammoth and new and beautiful, but talking to friends that are staying there and countless others on the beach and around the hotel, the Surf Club is TOO big. The rooms are nicer but between the pool and the beach, it is grossly over crowded. Ocean Club is much quieter and not as crazy. The new Ritz Carlton that is under construction on the other side, will be the next big thing after it is done. Every room looks to be ocean front and place looks ginormous. I'm sure the cost to stay there after it opens will be at a premium. The staff at Ocean Club is very friendly and accommodating, from Ben and Albert at the front desk, to Camile at the Marriott Desk (she looks like Beyonce!), and Juraine at the concierge desk. Even the bell hops have been helpful without being pushy, helping us get taxis and providing info on how and were to go. Alexander at the pool bar is great and makes superb drinks for both adults and kids, and the staff on the beach from Gregory & Andy to Melveta in the towel hut, are so nice. I am looking to come back to Ocean Club again, despite my initial impression.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Aruba is the most beautiful island to stay on. You can either do alot...or sit back and do nothing. The snorkeling and scuba diving are amazing. riding horses on the beach along the water is a wondrful experience. The Ocean Club staff aim to please and everyone is very friendly! The pool is beautiful complete with waterfalls. Palm beach is long and the ocean is calm.....great for floating and relaxing. the bottom can be a bit rocky upon entering so bring watershoes....and their is a small step off when you first enter the water. Bring lots of sunscreen.....nothing less than 30 SPF...Aruba is very close to the equator and you don't realize you are burning because the trade winds keep you cool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. It depends on your preference of your oceanview....The Ocean front rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are Marriott Owners in Florida, so did this as an exchange. We have good friends that come here every year and love it. We are active people, so like many activity options. We brought our 15 year old son. We had the two bedroom suites. My husband was in heaven with all the activity! We were fortunate to be given a first floor room, which was so convenient. 30 second walk to the pool/beach. We went over spring break and I was amazed that the pool an beach didn't seem overcrowded. We easily got a Palapa (beach umbrella/chairs) most days. From the beach we rented paddle boards, wind surfers, and floats. The concierge service was available for restaurant reservations as well as scheduling ATV and snorkeling trips.
The absolute best part was that this is The Happy Island, just as the license plates say. Everyone was amazing helpful and friendly. there are period language barriers with the locals, but always happily! Our next challenge will be trying to figure out if any other Marriott Vacation Club is as good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We hadn't been to Aruba i a few years and booked Ocean club as we are Marriot timeshare owners. This place was a blast. Beaches are beautiful.The pool was a huge hit with the kids and the lazy river was great to get relief from the scorching sun there. Don't miss the sunset. It's breathtaking..

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.. Very serene and don't miss the crepes that are within walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Address: 99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.