We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit....won't be the last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First time visit....won't be the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our first visit to Marriott Aruba Ocean Club was a real treat and somewhat surprising. Meaning , we didn't expect to enjoy it so much!! This Marriott property was especially enjoyable due to the choices of restaurants, pools, and beach area , all within easy walking distance.
Also, the people of Aruba are the most hospitable, warm and friendly that I have had the privilege to meet. Every person we encountered was exceptional in all of the above mentioned .
The property was well maintained. The beach area was well maintained. We ate at La Vista for breakfast and dinner several times and had excellent food on each occasion. We had dinner 2 nights at Simply Fish and had an excellent experience both times. For us , this was a vacation to just chill out and relax and this was a great choice of places to do just that!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    198
    60
    26
    11
See reviews for
221
292
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The beach the Marriott property is located on is probably the best in Aruba. The sand is amazing.

The Ocean Club property is well maintained. Everything is very clean.

We had a 1 bedroom villa. It was perfect. The unit is very spacious. Nice fully furnished kitchen. Very comfortable bed and good linens. Nice oversized bathtub with jacuzzi jets. Good size shower.

The pool areas around the property are great. There are a lot of options. The jacuzzi is one of the best designs I have ever seen.

The iguana sanctuary is great. We went and watched them several times during our stay. They are fascinating creatures.

The staff is very friendly with the exception of the towel hut lady. What an attitude she has.

My only complaint (besides the towel hut lady) would be the early checkout. 10:00 a.m. is a little too early.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in 1-bedroom villa (family of 4, two todlers). The property is well maintained, the suites are very spacious and have fully equipped kitchen which we needed to maintain home-cooked meal standard for the little ones. We found the beach a bit rocky in some parts but no biggy, the pool is great and the wirlpool is nice too.There is a connecting covered link that leads to Marriott hotel which has quite a few good restaurants. There was a problem with the sofabed (the frame is unsusually bumpy and the matress was too thin for it), but the response was quick, they replaced the matress and we were able to sleep on it (still not the most comfortable sofabed though).Despite some minor negatives, I think it is an excellent place to stay in its category. If space and kitchen don't matter to you, I'd stay in the Marriott Hotel though where you can have more style in return :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We traveled to the Marriott Ocean Club with another couple in October, renting a 2 bedroom ocean view villa. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and it more than accommodated both couples. Each of us had our private bedrooms and we shared a fully furnished kitchen, living room and dining room. We took a cab to stock our kitchen with breakfast food, snacks and beverages at the island main grocery store. Their selection was much more diverse and the prices better than at the convenient stores. We loved spending our free time on the beach, though the pool was very refreshing as well. The beach and water are beautiful! The Marriott's location is perfect for accessing the many shops and restaurants within walking distance. The resort is very clean and well kept, with a very friendly staff. As a matter of fact, everywhere we went in Aruba we encountered the friendliest of people, both workers and vacationers. We did not rent a car on this trip, but would feel very comfortable doing so on a return trip. When we ventured out of walking distance, the cab rides were very reasonable. There are a number of casinos in the area but we thought the best one was the Stellaris, located on Marriott's property. We have traveled to many tropical locations and Aruba has risen to the top of our list due to the multitude of options you have for recreation, amazing restaurants and fun nightlife. My husband and I loved it so much, we have already booked a return trip for his birthday in February!

Room Tip: Ocean-view is 3rd floor and above, but its a stretch to see the ocean from units further back in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Marriott Ocean Club in Aruba. I am an owner and very proud to be one. I noticed some nice enhancements from my last stay 18 months ago:

1. No more lugging towels back to the room at night. Now I was able to get my towels in the morning at the towel hut and return them that night. It was open past 6pm which was great.
2. Guests now have a place to leave their tubes, noodles, and kid beach toys for new guests arriving. This is very convenient.
3. More smiles on the towel hut workers. Friendly security guards. Though the workers in the tropical market store can use a smile. At times, they appear bothered to assist customers.
4. 10% discount on food at the pavillion for owners is nice since it is pricey to eat there.

The pool was very warm and clean. It seemed like the filter system had been upgraded so the water was very enjoyable.

I do wish they had more staff at the pool bar. 1-2 people making drinks there is not enough. I noticed others wrote the same comment in their review so I hope Corey is reading this and will do something about that. I could wait a while for someone to make my drinks at the pool bar. And I missed the bell they used to ring when Happy Hour started. But on a good note, it starts at 2pm! $5 bloody marys and screwdrivers till noon is a nice touch too!

The workers there are genuinely helpful and welcoming. The property was immaculate. I always feel safe everywhere on the property and on the beach.

I do wish they would remove some of the sharp shells upon entering the ocean. Some areas are worse than others. The water is gorgeous but it's not as clear as it used to be. I don't know if the Marriott can do anything about that, but maybe at least remove the shells?

Room Tip: Ocean view is lovely - but may be difficult if you are not an owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I stay in hotels over 100 nights per yr. My overall rating is good. Somewhere between 4-5 stars but not a five. Clean rooms, friendly staff, pools and beach access is excellent, location to other activities is just ok. The dining choices were decent with exception to the sports bar called Champions. The rooms are competitively priced with other brand name hotels in Aruba. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey shore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 9 days at the Ocean Club (an exchange through Interval International). Our 1 bedroom unit was on the second floor facing the Marriott Hotel adult pool and the walkway to the hotel. It was very quiet and relaxing while in the unit. The unit was clean and spacious. The 1 bedroom unit does not have a washer/dryer, so I made use of the laundry room on our floor. Very convenient! The pool area was always crowded, so we went to the beach every day. The water was wonderful and we floated for hours in our tubes we brought from home. We had no problem securing a palapa near the water. There is a seaweed odor problem at times, but we made sure not to swim in that area. The Marriott properties do have the best beach (very deep). The Ritz Carlton is being built next door to the Marriott Hotel, so there will be 4 properties adjacent to each other. The Ocean Club is the smallest and seems to be the better choice for couples/adults, while the Surf Club seems to be geared towards families with children.

We used the convenience store on the property (we did not rent a car) and bought eggs, cereal, snacks, etc. We ate lunch and dinner out.

The grounds and beach are very well maintained and all who work there are extremely friendly and helpful.

We visited the hotel next door which has a casino and Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. The first night we ate on the beach at Simply Fish and enjoyed our dinner.

We played golf at Tierra del Sol twice, the only 18 hole golf course on the island. Very windy and challenging!

Free WIFI was a great plus, since my husband brought his laptop.

We are already planning our next trip to Aruba!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Address: 99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.