We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for what it was” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort
L.G. Smith Boulevard 51-53, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for what it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is not a luxury resort by far but it is very clean and well appointed. The beach is experiencing some erosion however it is long and has several huts and chairs. The water is truly in credible! Blue, clear, cool and wonderful to just spend the day wading in. The hotel was quiet at night and the bed was comfortable. Good water pressure and American appointments. The full kitchen came in handy!

Towel rental is a bit archaic, as is the room charge process. Beware of the "electricity" charge every day - it added $21 a day to the cost. And a $25 luxury tax - huh?

Room Tip: The Ambassador suites are across the street and do not have beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    59
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
67
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newington, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are time share owners at this resort and have been returning for 15 consecutive years. We absolutely love this resort and all it has to offer. There have been changes through the years, all for the positive. The rooms are extraordinarily large and daily maid service is exceptional. The staff are always eager to please and the resort is always kept up and clean. The amenities are just right and the on site restaurant is wonderful. The location of this resort couldn't be better as it sits on one of the best stretches of beach in the world. Returning each year is truly a 'home away from home' experience and we're always excited to share it with returning family and friends each year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Aruba thanks to our daughter giving us her time-share week. The 2-bedroom unit we stayed in was spacious, clean, and well-stocked. While the second bedroom had twin beds, the staff gladly made the bed up as a king when asked. We particularly liked the location in the lowrise section of Aruba, away from the hustle and bustle, yet easily accessible to the 'activity' by car or taxi. The location is also great for getting to and from the airport (10 minutes) or a large grocery store. The pool and beachfront were literally right in front of the resort with plenty of cover to keep us from frying in the sun. Casa del Mar also has an open air restaurant right on the premises (Matthew's) which we found not only convenient for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, but reasonably priced and YUMMY!! The happy hour drinks were well worth it especially at the end of the day watching the magnificent sunsets from the beach. I'm not sure younger couples or singles would be happy here as it seemed most of the guests were more 'mature' in age or in family groups. We fell in love with Aruba on this trip and will return again not hesitating to stay at Casa del Mar!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARASOTA, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in the 2-bedroom ocean view on the 4th (1413) floor. View OK, but also overlooked parking lot and construction next door. Unit spacious and fully-equiped with everything you would need, Second bedroom has 2 twin beds, and pull out sofa not very comfortable even though it looked brand new. Flat screen TVs in each of the rooms which was nice,
Location of Casa Del Mar is very good, directly across from casino. Looks like however, they are losing some of their beachfront due to erosion so there are some large rocks that have washed up directly in front. This is not an issue though since you can walk a little way to the left or right and be on what many will agree is the best beach is Aruba.
Beautiful sunsets and great bar scene at CDM, not a place for young singles though. Three happy hours a day, fun bartenders and good entertainment.
Matthews - the onsite restaurant is very good.
Overall I have no complaints with the staff. Most all of them very friendly.
I have exchanged my timeshare many places but don't ever recall the "hidden charges" that they add on here, The total at checkout was an additional $169 for the 2 bedroom units so beware of that.
We did enjoy our stay at Casa Del Mar
Taxi from airport $22
Taxi to Highrise $9
Car Rental available by day at CDM $30 - 37/day TL

Room Tip: as others have mentioned, all the 1-bedroom units are across the street from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently took our friends timeshare at this resort. Rooms were clean and spacious, kitchen was fully supplied with pots, dishes, cups..etc. and the bathroom was pretty decent. However, unfortunately our room was not located on the beach front but rather away from the hotel.. Which bummed me out a bit, but due to the slow season we had plenty of access to the huts that are available to the guest. I not only had a great view from my balcony of the pool, but we had the convience of other resturants and casinos just a few steps away.We also had convience of booking all kinds of tours with the coordinator that is on staff (ask for Bea) she was not only friendly, but offered great alt. to different tours!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I, along with four of closest friends, all decided to take a trip in the summer of 2012. A year later, we ventured off to the beautiful paradise life of Aruba and stayed at the Casa Del Mar Beach Resort. We had two bedrooms, a fully functional kitchen, common room, and balcony overlooking the pool with an ocean view. The resort was extremely relaxing and quiet. The beach was a mere walk from the resort and everyone could swim in the water without any problems. All the staff members were helpful and the room was well-cleaned everyday.

The only thing I wasn’t the biggest fan of was the resort restaurant called Matthew’s. They charged $12.99 for their breakfast buffet, which consisted of a few different fruits and some lukewarm scrambled eggs. All items we made in our own personal kitchen for half of that price. As far as lunch and dinner goes at Matthew’s, the food was good, but the prices didn’t seem to match up to the quality presented.

The beach area connected to the hotel was wonderful. It’s never too crowded since it’s practically Casa Del Mar guests only. However, you have to get up at practically 5:00 A.M in order to claim a hut with an umbrella right by the shore. It’s completely worth it though considering you have it all day! The bartender at the poolside bar was always a delight and his positive energy could lift anyone’s spirits. This resort truly has their act together and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter when everyone is out by the bar on the opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we just spent a week at this time share with friends 8/17-8/24/13. i want to alert future travelers of some hidden cost that we were not correctly informed of even when we called .
let me just say that this is the first Time share we vacationed at, we normally do all- inclusive.
The flat taxi fee, is $9.00 us dollars no matter if it is 1 mile or 15 miles, one person or 5 people, the Taxies are the personal cars, suv,or mini vans of locals, men & women. However ;0, as soon as you get out of the airport, they have it well marked for the line to catch a taxi, they look at your baggage and charge accordingly, if they touch a bag or haul extra, figure at least a $2.00 charge per pc of luggage. We had 4 in our party, 2 large bags, 4 carry one and two hand bags, $24.00. lol. same amount of baggage leaving hotel to go to the airport, $25.00
Bus fare. $2.00 PP + .45 tread charge. At this particular resort we walked to the grocery store but paid the taxi on the way back. However.. on one of our trips we walked the beach to get some food for supper, we had our suits on , we tried to catch a taxi for our trip back, the man looked at us and said" if your cloths are wet i charge $50.00!!! well decided to walk, the lings&Sons IGA attendant offered to call a taxi , but we just walked. He was the only rude one we ran across.
oky so we arrived at the hotel at 12noon, we could not get into our room until 4pm :( we went to Matthews to eat and grab some beer. 4 simple meals and happy hour prices $$105.00. Beer, 5.95 a bottle, really cheap, nasty beer, $2.95 a bottle. GO TO STORE BUY A COOLER OR BETTER YET PACK An INSULATED LUNCH TOTE. Food/beverage PRICES HIGH. As of Aug 1. 2013 government implemented new environmental taxes for the use of electricity and water per day.. $21.00 per day PLUS A ONE TIME FEE OF $25.00 FOR THE STAY. one week,extra, hidden charge $180.00. They advertise the use of grills, did not tell us of $7.00 charge. I bought a cheap plastic beverage cooler with the Aruba logo on the outside $9.00 ridiculous!!
There is a mall right across the street with small shops and restaurants, including Duncan donuts. Bob's pizza also in a very short walking distance, would not recommend. $2.95 for a soda, in a 12 oz glass filled with large ice, only had about 6oz of soda, NO FREE REFILLS! This seems to be the norm no free refills on non-alcohalic beverage except water.
Aruba is very safe, we walked all over, I spotted security all over the resort, we walked from the low rise hotels to the high rise, had no issues, except it took over an hour. Plenty of shops up buy the high rise hotels, wear comfortable shoes, no one really dresses fancy, almost like a fair environment.
Eagle BEACH was the best beach I saw there , plenty of frontage but not to much, minimal to no coral, the water is amazing, water beautiful and clear, so tranquil to look at.
Our room was on the 5th floor, updated and redone two br. two baths, fully equipped to cook meals in . Washer / dryer & ice machine on same level. We watched the sunrise one one side of the hotel and the sunset off out patio.
Exercise room, umm alot of equipment in a tiny space, small t.v, to every ones back, it was very busy from 8am -11am, often had to wait to use anything.
The grounds are very clean as well as the resort itself.
Check out; leave early!!! Remember everyone in almost all the resorts are checking out the same time on Saturdays. get out by 11am if you have a 2pm or later flight. you will have to stand in the blistering heat on part of your wait to go through customs. we had a 3pm flight and there were already hundreds of people already there and coming in fast.
we had a very relaxing vacation. i would recommend this resort, it is centrally located to down town and to the high rises where many of the stores and restaurants are located. The Ambassador suits are located behind the main hotel, i do not think i would have enjoyed walking across the street to the beach for the cost . But that is just me,

Room Tip: rooms on the upper levels seemed to be redone, 1508, was all updated, perfect view to ocean and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 51-53, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Casa Del Mar Aruba Beach Club Resort
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Del Mar Beach Resort to your Saves list