We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach front hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort
L.G. Smith Boulevard 51-53, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great beach front hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently took our friends timeshare at this resort. Rooms were clean and spacious, kitchen was fully supplied with pots, dishes, cups..etc. and the bathroom was pretty decent. However, unfortunately our room was not located on the beach front but rather away from the hotel.. Which bummed me out a bit, but due to the slow season we had plenty of access to the huts that are available to the guest. I not only had a great view from my balcony of the pool, but we had the convience of other resturants and casinos just a few steps away.We also had convience of booking all kinds of tours with the coordinator that is on staff (ask for Bea) she was not only friendly, but offered great alt. to different tours!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    64
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
76
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I, along with four of closest friends, all decided to take a trip in the summer of 2012. A year later, we ventured off to the beautiful paradise life of Aruba and stayed at the Casa Del Mar Beach Resort. We had two bedrooms, a fully functional kitchen, common room, and balcony overlooking the pool with an ocean view. The resort was extremely relaxing and quiet. The beach was a mere walk from the resort and everyone could swim in the water without any problems. All the staff members were helpful and the room was well-cleaned everyday.

The only thing I wasn’t the biggest fan of was the resort restaurant called Matthew’s. They charged $12.99 for their breakfast buffet, which consisted of a few different fruits and some lukewarm scrambled eggs. All items we made in our own personal kitchen for half of that price. As far as lunch and dinner goes at Matthew’s, the food was good, but the prices didn’t seem to match up to the quality presented.

The beach area connected to the hotel was wonderful. It’s never too crowded since it’s practically Casa Del Mar guests only. However, you have to get up at practically 5:00 A.M in order to claim a hut with an umbrella right by the shore. It’s completely worth it though considering you have it all day! The bartender at the poolside bar was always a delight and his positive energy could lift anyone’s spirits. This resort truly has their act together and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter when everyone is out by the bar on the opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we just spent a week at this time share with friends 8/17-8/24/13. i want to alert future travelers of some hidden cost that we were not correctly informed of even when we called .
let me just say that this is the first Time share we vacationed at, we normally do all- inclusive.
The flat taxi fee, is $9.00 us dollars no matter if it is 1 mile or 15 miles, one person or 5 people, the Taxies are the personal cars, suv,or mini vans of locals, men & women. However ;0, as soon as you get out of the airport, they have it well marked for the line to catch a taxi, they look at your baggage and charge accordingly, if they touch a bag or haul extra, figure at least a $2.00 charge per pc of luggage. We had 4 in our party, 2 large bags, 4 carry one and two hand bags, $24.00. lol. same amount of baggage leaving hotel to go to the airport, $25.00
Bus fare. $2.00 PP + .45 tread charge. At this particular resort we walked to the grocery store but paid the taxi on the way back. However.. on one of our trips we walked the beach to get some food for supper, we had our suits on , we tried to catch a taxi for our trip back, the man looked at us and said" if your cloths are wet i charge $50.00!!! well decided to walk, the lings&Sons IGA attendant offered to call a taxi , but we just walked. He was the only rude one we ran across.
oky so we arrived at the hotel at 12noon, we could not get into our room until 4pm :( we went to Matthews to eat and grab some beer. 4 simple meals and happy hour prices $$105.00. Beer, 5.95 a bottle, really cheap, nasty beer, $2.95 a bottle. GO TO STORE BUY A COOLER OR BETTER YET PACK An INSULATED LUNCH TOTE. Food/beverage PRICES HIGH. As of Aug 1. 2013 government implemented new environmental taxes for the use of electricity and water per day.. $21.00 per day PLUS A ONE TIME FEE OF $25.00 FOR THE STAY. one week,extra, hidden charge $180.00. They advertise the use of grills, did not tell us of $7.00 charge. I bought a cheap plastic beverage cooler with the Aruba logo on the outside $9.00 ridiculous!!
There is a mall right across the street with small shops and restaurants, including Duncan donuts. Bob's pizza also in a very short walking distance, would not recommend. $2.95 for a soda, in a 12 oz glass filled with large ice, only had about 6oz of soda, NO FREE REFILLS! This seems to be the norm no free refills on non-alcohalic beverage except water.
Aruba is very safe, we walked all over, I spotted security all over the resort, we walked from the low rise hotels to the high rise, had no issues, except it took over an hour. Plenty of shops up buy the high rise hotels, wear comfortable shoes, no one really dresses fancy, almost like a fair environment.
Eagle BEACH was the best beach I saw there , plenty of frontage but not to much, minimal to no coral, the water is amazing, water beautiful and clear, so tranquil to look at.
Our room was on the 5th floor, updated and redone two br. two baths, fully equipped to cook meals in . Washer / dryer & ice machine on same level. We watched the sunrise one one side of the hotel and the sunset off out patio.
Exercise room, umm alot of equipment in a tiny space, small t.v, to every ones back, it was very busy from 8am -11am, often had to wait to use anything.
The grounds are very clean as well as the resort itself.
Check out; leave early!!! Remember everyone in almost all the resorts are checking out the same time on Saturdays. get out by 11am if you have a 2pm or later flight. you will have to stand in the blistering heat on part of your wait to go through customs. we had a 3pm flight and there were already hundreds of people already there and coming in fast.
we had a very relaxing vacation. i would recommend this resort, it is centrally located to down town and to the high rises where many of the stores and restaurants are located. The Ambassador suits are located behind the main hotel, i do not think i would have enjoyed walking across the street to the beach for the cost . But that is just me,

Room Tip: rooms on the upper levels seemed to be redone, 1508, was all updated, perfect view to ocean and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for a week. the end of July in August of 2013. Location is perfect. The beach is just amazing!! The down falls, the front desk staff is not helpful and didn't resolve any of our issues. If you want to swim in the pools after 7:00 pm, you are out of luck, the pools close at 7:00. If you want to print something out in the business office after say 3:30, again out of luck they are closed. The room was clean and the cleaning staff was awesome. Very attentive and did a great job. You do feel secure here, as they have 24 hour security. Matthew's restaurant the food is great the wait staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at Casa Del Mar in June as a gift from my employer. Excellent Location! Pools were not over crowded. Happy Hour at Matthew's...Best place for breakfast! Enjoyed an early morning breakfast beachside everyday. Maybe one or two other couples in restaurant at that time...it was nice and quiet!

If you are looking for a great time out on the ocean, look into Jolly Pirate!
If you are looking for best steak in your life!!...eat at El Gaucho!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited during the week of July 20, 2013 with our 15 and 23 year old daughters. We had a Presidential Suite ( 2 bedrooms/2baths/full kitchen ) that was oceanfront. The room was immaculate and the kitchen was well stocked with all items you would need in order to cook or eat in. Staff was always friendly and courteous. Housekeeping was excellent, too.We ate at Matthews, the on site restaurant, a few times and found the food to be good, in fact, better than some of the restaurants we visited off premises. Service was excellent there, and at the bar as well! The kids like the watersports, which are available, but not right on top of you like in the high rise area. Front desk can arrange, or just walk to next resort ( the Divi )where they have an outpost. They pick you up right there and bring you back. Beach is beautiful with gentle rolling surf, so younger kids might like to bring boogie boards or skim boards. The only concern I would have is that only the 2bedrooms are in the oceanfront building, so be careful not to end up across the street from the beach if you rent a 1 bedroom. That would have been disappointing, even though there is a second pool there. We met some people who had that happen to them. Yes, you have to get a beach hut early, but then go back to bed and get there after breakfast. Hang a beach bag and place your towels on chairs under your hut .There were enough for all. We used an international calling card, and thought there would be no room charges for it, but there were. The local phone company charges a fee, so that cost us, but it was our own fault for not checking it out more carefully before my older daughter called her beloved a million times. Even so, that was not so costly. Casino and some shopping are right across the street, and supermarkets are right nearby. Reciprocal privileges with Aruba Beach Club made for a nice change for daytime activities and light lunch at the Tortuga Grill there. Resort had its own security which was nice when my teen was out and about at night with the friends she made. Nice mix of couples, families, younger and older. Not really a singles place, though.Would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Swin in refreshingly clear blue/green ocean water with "waves of fun" and open beach, enjoy some of the largest bedroowms of all the time share resorts on the island and dine at Matthews Restarurant where you can see and hear the ocean cascading against the shore. Property has a new adult pool, separate kiddie pool, new flat screen TVs, a large open lobby with friendly front desk staff and a new Mini Market with fair prices as well as a Thrifty Rent a Car desk in the lobby.
Within walking distance to the Alharmbra Casino and shopping mall, The French Steakhouse and Pizza Bobs. Great choice for the entire family....away from the congestion of the high rise hotels and which has a beach superior to theirs.

Room Tip: If available, request up high with ocean/pool side view. Also, recommend special theme nights for d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 51-53, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Casa Del Mar Aruba Beach Club Resort
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.