We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Trip to Casa Del Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort
L.G. Smith Boulevard 51-53, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Second Trip to Casa Del Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Visited Casa Del Mar the second week of September 2012, was there last year late in the month and had some rain. This time the weather was very nice, no rain and 88 everyday! This time we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the main building. It was GREAT. Although the room furnishings were a little old, the unit was clean and VERY comfortable. The air conditioning worked well. Had everything we needed. The property is in great shape, the pool was clean, there were lots of chairs and huts both poolside and on the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The fitness center is small but nicely maintained and well air-conditioned. Never saw more than 2 other people there at the same time. Happy hour at Matthews poolside is the best on the island. Drinks are 2 for one and they serve warm chips with excellent spicy cheese dip. THey always get a good crowd for 4-6 happy hour. THe resort has shops and is walking distance to the Casino. They put up nice new shops next to the Casino and across the street from Casa Del Mar. All in all we had a great time, sunning, shopping, eating and drinking. Casa Del Mar is in a great location if you have a car. You are 15 minutes from the airport, 10 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes to the High-rise area. You can walk to a number of other resorts that are on the same beach strip as well, so there are lots of food choices that are walking distance, including Matthews by the Sea which is on premises and very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a 2 bedroom unit, the one bedroom units are across the street and are not as convenient t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    60
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
69
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We own 2 weeks in September and the CDM just keeps on getting better. The staff is very friendly and helpful and keep the place spotless. The only problem was one of the elavators was out of service so sometimes you would have to wait. The beach looks better than I have seen it in the last 6 years. We had no problem getting a palapa and we always found chairs around the pool. Matthews beachbar had 3 happy hours a day and had a DJ or live music between 4-6. We ate at Matthews a couple of times and food was good, love the Itilian night. We also tried the restaruant at ABC next door and we really enjoyed our meals. In fact it seems like we went there more than Matthew.

Check in and out was a breeze and they move your stuff if you have a different unit. It was painless.

Thanks to all the people who make this place run so smoothly!!

Room Tip: We loved our new unit on the 5th floor the view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The review given by Kathleen J was so negative that I couldn't help but wonder if she were talking about the same resort that we visit each year! Perhaps she should stay in the high-rise section instead! What is she looking for in a resort vacation? We liked the resort so much that when we visited the first time we immediately bought a week. Then, the next year, we bought a second week! And this year we bought a third week! Does that sound like the same resort? I think not! When you read other reviews posted by folks you'll see too, that Kathleen J might not know exactly what's good and what's not so good!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Ambassador section are smaller and quieter but most folks walk across to the main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a dump! From the tattered wicker furniture with the worn cushion pads, to the smallest condo units I have ever seen. The units were out dated to the max. Each unit has air conditioning, a dehumiderfier, and a clean air unit, what does that tell you? Mold, mildew and whatever else can be growing. Guess who's allergic to mold! The bathroom grout was black, that grosses me out. The pool area was very nice and the beaches beautiful. The restaurant Matthew's was excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff was friendly. But nothing was going on at the resort, unless you want to consider afternoon Bingo by the pool a great time. All the restaurants in Aruba were good, our absolute favorite was the Aqua Grill in the high rise section. We played golf at the Links, very nice and the rented clubs were top of the line. Sorry to say I Don't Love Aruba!!!! We left a day early! Give Spa del sol a try, its wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Family of 4 stayed at presidential unit #1504, a 2 bedroom with excellent pool and ocean views. We were not sure about the views, as this was a timeshare we were picking up from someone else, but the view turned out to be one of the highlights; we could watch the sunset from our large balcony or go down to the beach.

There were only a couple of things I did not like; no wi-fi unless you pay for it, though at Matthew's restaurant on the premises, you do get wi-fi. We asked to have our boarding passes printed the night before departure and they wanted to charge us for internet access plus 50 cents/page to print the passes. We passed and it ended up not mattering anyway; at the airport we had the passes printed there as part of check in. That's about it, all minor points but it would be nice if the CDM joined the 21st century and gave free wi-fi. Also the beach here is not as calm as Palm or Eagle beaches and there were a couple of days where the breeze kicked up the sand, but the beach is very nice and wide and relatively people free compared to Palm beach.

The staff was very friendly, most are long timers and they get to know the repeat timeshare folks. The huts and beach chairs at the beach are first come first serve; I'd usually walk down around 7am and grab one, but even when we got there one day around 11:30am, there were still options in the back near the sister adjoining site Aruba Surf Club, so no issue there. Housekeeping was top notch!

The resort has been around a bit, but we thought the rooms were very clean and well kept. No flat screen TVs yet, but that was minor, we watched little TV with so much to do.

So if you want calm, few people on the beach and lots of beach and sand to look at, for a reasonable price, and have kids you rent one of the Presidential 2BR units. Just make sure you are ok with a bit of wave action. We had a great time and would love to come back.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms over the pool on the top floor (5th). Great views including sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had a wonderful first visit to Aruba. I have already made plans to return next year. I found the staff friendly and helpful. I was visiting with a friend who seemed to have a personal relationship with most of the staff. The pools were beautiful and well-maintained. The bar had happy hour three times per day. There were always activities during the day. The beach was gorgeous. I had no complaints during my stay at all. I plan to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

we loved our stay. oour room was as advertised. daily maid service was exceptional!! we did use the laundry room. two bucks a load for washer and dryer. (our timeshare has free laundry in each room). like the other reviews state karoke night is very loud. our room was 1222 second floor two bedroom overlooking beach and pool/bar.
We used Matthews twice breakfast specials include $3 omelet and 7.95 complete meal deals.
We went for dinner it was exceptional. Beware flys fly at the beach at sunset so you might want to eat earlier or later. entire staff was friendly and would go out of their way for you.
the beach was lovely...owners told us that there is new sand there because it all washed away before. waves were very big...not a gentle beach. we alked to the divi and up to costa linda where it was a bit calmer.
we would stay there again!

Room Tip: i would have preferred to be a little further away from the bar on karoke night it was very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 51-53, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Casa Del Mar Aruba Beach Club Resort
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Del Mar Beach Resort to your Saves list