We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guess I should not have got it to go.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Smokehouse

Hollywood Smokehouse
Alhambra Casino & Shops, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
+297 280 9989
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Recently relocating to the low-rise hotel area at Alhambra Casino & Shops in Eagle Beach, Hollywood Smokehouse is the island's only smokehouse where we are "doin' it low and slow" over hickory and apple wood. Classic barbecue favorites include pulled pork, beef brisket, and ribs, and our award-winning tacos that gave us our first place win in Battle of the Food Trucks. Catering also available for groups. Our mixologist has created one of the most unique craft cocktail menus in Aruba, featuring our signature Bourbonwood Lemonade made with fresh lemonade, blackberries, Elderflower, and agave.
INDIANA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Guess I should not have got it to go.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

After reading all the great reviews I figured we had to try it out. I wasn't all that impressed with the overall experience, which may have been because we got it to go. Six of us got the combo meals and the meat was good. Unfortunately the sides and the sauces were pretty skimpy. For each meat (ribs, brisket, etc.) which have no sauce on them, you received a small, thinking 1.5 once container, that is filled about half way. If your going to brag about your homemade sauce, give me enough to enjoy it was my feeling. We all ran out of sauce about halfway thru.

Taste wise, the food was good, though my ribs and chicken were alittle overdone. My wife loved the 1/2 ranch 1/2 bbq sauce. Brisket was very good. Will maybe try again but eating there instead of to go.

As to location, we stopped there on way back from baby beach. It is in the rough part of town a block or two from the "red district", though we had no issues.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    64
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Delicious, reasonably priced food...well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

After reading the excellent reviews of Hollywood Smokehouse, we were looking for a reasonably priced dinner option, and decided to give it a try. We drove down in the evening for dinner, and were the only ones there. From what I understand, it is busy during the day. But it was sure worth the trip that evening!

I had a combo platter of brisket and ribs. Family ordered chicken breast sandwiches, pulled pork platter, and brisket platter. All agreed that the dishes were absolutely delicious! Sides of baked beans, coleslaw and fries were great too!

We'll definitely go back!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hollywood Smokehouse Diner - San Nicolas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had lunch twice here this week on the way back from Rodger's Beach. They're known for their pulled pork and it's the best we've ever had. It's served with your choice of sauce - mild, medium or hot. The platter comes with 3 sides. Choose from cole slaw, french fries, potato salad, black beans or baked beans -- or if you get a sandwich you can order the sides separately. I tried the spare ribs today and they were delicious too. The food is not greasy.

Some other items on their menu are smoked chicken breast, smoked sausage platter, smoked grouper, beef brisket, smoked Polish sausage dog and smoked burger.

The diner is now a stop of some of the tours, so it's better to go after 1:30 or 2:00 so it won't be crowded. It's open from 11:30 to 3:00pm every Tuesday and for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Saturday from 11:30am to 9:00pm.

Mike, the owner was telling us that the parade route for carnival passes right in front of the diner. Seems like it would be a fun place to watch from.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Pulled Pork Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

On our way to Baby Beach we passed by this restaurant. We saw it said Southern style B-B-Q, so the next day we drove over and ate their. We were the first one's there so it was very fast, and also very good. The waiters were very nice as well. When you order they give you 4 types of B-B-Q sauce. My favorite was the medium hot one, it was very liquidy, not to spicy, and it was super tasty. It was one of our favorite meals while we were there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great, as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Great food, great staff... Great place! I got here every few weeks and just fell in love with pork.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Smokehouse also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Hollywood Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.