We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend with Reservations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommend with Reservations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Let's start with the positive: I was impressed with how clean this resort is. The common areas, rooms and beach were well maintained. Additionally, the location cannot be beat. It's right in the middle of the "high rise" area which has many shops and restaurants, very convenient.
The negative: the staff leaves a lot to be desired. They are obligated to be polite, but it's very clear that it pains them to be so. I can't really blame them, they're catering to a bunch of entitled pains in the butt, however, many of us are not entitled pains in the butt and are just asking a simple question.
Additionally, the rooms are very dated and in desperate need of a face lift.
So I guess my take on this is, if you're a return visitor to Aruba (as we were) and do not require much assistance from the staff (and don't care about what your room is like or that its view is the roof of the casino), this may be an ok place for you. However, if this is your first visit, I would stay someplace where they won't give you attitude and eye rolls if you ask for directions to Baby Beach.
We plan on returning to Aruba in a few years and will not be staying at this resort.

Room Tip: Don't bother making requests, they won't honor them and they'll give you attitude for as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    417
    131
    33
    17
See reviews for
310
484
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

last week we stayed at the H.I. in Palm Beach, Aruba. We (as IHG members) were upgraded to the newer tower, the Sea Building. This was nice as we have no children and were a bit further away from the crowds and activity. The hotel was clean and the customer service excellent. would be happy to stay there again, a good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear yaymez,

Hi from Aruba, and first, we would like to thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Memeber. Thrilled to read that you had a wonderful vacation, and a very Happy Birthday to you. We look forward to welcoming you back again to our Happy Island on your next vacation.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first time in Aruba and my wife and I both had a great time. We are IHG Platinum members and were able to use points for our stay. As a member, you get an automatic upgrade on the room, depending on availability. You also get palapas/tiki huts on the beach reserved for your entire stay, and 15% off food at the hotel.

The location of this hotel cannot be beat! It is in the heart of Palm Beach and within walking distance to many, many things. If you're planning on going to Aruba for the first time, I'd recommend you stay either in Downtown or in the Palm Beach area (we personally prefer Palm Beach).

There are plenty of options for getting back and forth from the airport to the hotel and back. We used a company called De Palma Tours and paid $15 per person, round trip, which is probably the cheapest you'll find on the island. They use big coach busses and the make multiple stops along the route at various hotels. You have to reserve online at least 24 hours in advance to your arrival and must reconfirm 24 hours in advance for your return trip. Very easy and friendly company to travel with.

There are three towers, a few pools, a few restaurants, and one casino. We stayed in the Sea Tower which seems to be the most renovated out of the three. Our room was large and clean with a balcony. The bathroom was updated and nice size as well. We were fortunate enough to get an oceanfront room on a high floor of the tower. If you can swing it, I would recommend you stay in the Sea Tower, oceanfront room, on a high floor. They have "standard" garden view rooms, partial ocean view rooms, and oceanfront rooms. The towers have six floors. If you want to be able to just walk out to your terrace, then go for the rooms on the first floor, otherwise, try to get a high floor as you will have unobstructed view of the beach from the top.

Overall, the hotel is good. It's def. not a Hyatt, Marriot, or the Ritz, but then again, you're also not paying those high prices. The restaurants and not that great either at this location. We did not go for the all-inclusive option. I would recommend you do not go for the all-inclusive option, it's not worth it at this location. Read the fine print on the hotels website about all-inclusive and you'll see. There are so many options just outside the front door of the hotel. Lots of bars, restaurants, and shopping right outside or within a few minutes walk from the hotel.

There are plenty of places to eat and drink across the hotel, or just turn right outside the hotel and walk about 5 mins and you'll come to an area with many restaurants and bars across the Hyatt hotel. That's were we ate many times and the choices are abundant. Like I said before, the restaurants at this property are not great so I would recommend you just take a short walk and enjoy the local options the island has to offer at a much better price.

The landscaping at this property could use some updating, including the pool area and the pool bars. If you want to see what an updated property looks like, take a short walk down the beach over to the Hyatt and you'll see what I'm talking about. The pools at the hotel also "close" at around 7-8pm every night for some reason. Pools should stay open. They put up signs saying "pools close, chemicals at work".

The hotel does provide free wi-fi throughout the property. It's not always the fastest, but it works and has good coverage.

The beach is beautiful in this area. You can reserve the palapas/tiki huts for you if you want. They go fast so you need to hurry if you want one, unless you're an IHG member. You can get on line at 3pm the day prior and reserve one, or if you wait, you can show up around 10am the day off and see if anything is open.

There are tons of excursions you can do and plenty of people offering them. If you shop around a little bit, you can save lots of money from one place to another. We did the sunset dinner cruise with Red Sail Sports, which sails from the pier behind the Hyatt. They offered us the best price out of many others selling similar excursion and we had a great time. Food was very good (catered by the Hyatt).

Aruba is a very safe island. It's only about 20 miles long and about 6 miles wide. It pretty much has one main road, Route 1. You can rent a car if you want and explore or you can take public transportation like a bus. There are lots of bus stops along the road. The cost is $2.30 per person each ride, or $2.00 if you buy the card. There are lots of taxis cabs as well.

Unlike many other Caribbean islands, Aruba has a different climate. It's very warm and gets very little rain. It's usually always sunny. The landscaping is not as green and lush as you might see at many other Caribbean islands, but rather more dry and desert like with plenty of cactuses. It is very windy most of the time. Pretty safe bet to assume it's always windy, pretty much every day and night, so girls dress accordingly.

Room Tip: Sea Tower, high floor (ocean front rooms if possible, if not, go for partial ocean view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Yasir R,

Many greetings to you from all of us here at the Holiday Inn Aruba, and let us thank you for your loyalty as a IHG Platinum Member. Thank you so much for taking your time to share with us, and also other Travelers on Tripadvisor, your tips and feedback. We were thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful vacation, and look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to our Happy Island.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-beach Resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Holiday Inn Resort is a great value for the money. Highly recommend joining the IHG Rewards program and making the reservations directly with the Hotel.

The room was spacious, the view spectacular, the service exceptional.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and join the IHG Rewards program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear John M,

Hi, and many greetings from all of us here at the Holiday Inn Aruba. Thank you so much for taking your time to share you feedback, your comments are very important to us, and also other guests on their way to Aruba. Great to hear that you had a wonderful vacation, and enjoyed our beaches and great location. Come back and stay with us again soon. Happy Travels.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Celebrated our tenth wedding anniversary in early April at the Holiday Inn Resort Aruba. We stay almost exclusively at IHG properties and I am an IHG Platinum Ambassador member, so we actually stayed eight nights here using our IHG rewards points.

We had a lovely time and the hotel is so well-situated. It was so convenient to stroll down the beach and visit other hotels, restaurants and entertainment such as the Pelican cruises (awesome) or head out the front entrance and hit up restaurants and shopping. For the value, you won't find a better location on the island.

We knew the resort wouldn't be as fancy as the Marriott or Hyatt or Ritz, but the property has been recently renovated. We had a partial ocean view in the Palm tower and did not receive the room upgrade that Platinum IHG members often get - we asked a couple of times and were told no rooms were available. Not a huge deal, would've been nice to have an ocean view and larger bathroom for the length of our stay but we were staying free on points after all. We did receive a nice bottle of champagne when we mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary, and that was a very nice touch. Platinum members do get priority on beach palapas, and that was convenient for sure.

We did not do all-inclusive. One bonus of staying here is no one gives you a hard time for bringing your own coolers with food and drinks out on the beach or even poolside. We stocked up at SuperFood on Balashi, champagne and meat/cheese/crackers and had some very relaxing days just hanging out and not spending a ton of cash on food. We did have dinner one night at SeaBreeze - the service was rather slow and the food was just ok. Platinum members do get a 15% discount on food and beverages. There are so many good seafood restaurants on the island that come highly recommended by locals - there's no reason you need to limit yourself to the resort options. Just ask a cab driver where the locals go.

The casino could use some renovations and is pretty smoky. The Stellaris casino at the Marriott is nice and we spent a little time there when we wandered down the beach one night.

We knew this would be a family-friendly property and it seemed like most other guests had kids. We don't, and it would be nice for one of the pools to be designated as an adults-only pool for those who would like more peace and quiet. That said, we had a couple of really nice days relaxing in a pool cabana (make sure you get down to the cabanas by 4:30 am to lay out your towels and secure your spot).

Really only minor complaints for a lovely property at a great value. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear memyers,

Greetings from Aruba, and first, a very Happy Wedding Anniversary. We would like to thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Platinum Ambassador Member, and apologize that we were unable to upgrade your room due to availability. We were thrilled to read that you had a wonderful vacation, and thank you for taking your time to share with us your great feedback, your comments are very important to us. Great to read that you enjoyed our beaches, and great location on Palm Beach. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon to our Happy Island.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is located on a lovely stretch of beach, with three pools, two jacuzzis, plenty of huts on the beach and even free cabanas poolside (for those who can reserve them early enough -- first come, first serve). We were initially assigned to a room on the third floor of one of the buildings. Although the room was described as "renovated," it had a horrible musky odor immediately upon entry and overlooked a fence. Even the bellman who had assisted us with our luggage winced at the odor!

We called the front desk to request a new room and left a message for the manager, Brenda, who had already left for the day. We weren't expecting to hear back but, to our surprise, Brenda called us the very next morning at 9AM and asked us exactly what was wrong with the room. We let her know that we had an issue with the musky smell of the room and she assured us that she'd personally find us a new and better room. Well she did! That afternoon we were moved to a room on the 5th floor with a much better view and no odor whatsoever! Brenda even sent us a bottle of wine and cheese and cracker tray. We were VERY grateful and our new room was perfect. Thanks to Brenda and the wonderful staff at the Holiday Inn.

Our stay was very pleasant and the location of the hotel is ideal. It's close to everything. We literally could walk across the street to plenty of shopping, restaurants, etc. Everything is safe and no one hassles you for anything. It was our first time in Aruba but it will not be our last!! Our favorite Caribbean island by far!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Amicabella,

Many greetings to you from all of us here at the Holiday Inn Aruba, and thank you very much for choosing our Resort for your recent vacation. We were very happy to read that you had a wonderful time, and we shall be happy to share your comments with Brenda, a great compliment. We also look forward to your next visit to our Happy Island.

Kind regards,
Guest experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel sits among the name brand hotels without the name brand price. Absolutely beautiful beaches and the most attentive friendliest staff you'll run across. Rooms are clean and bright and the grounds are immaculate. We chose not to take advantage of the all inclusive as the hotel's location offers plenty of eateries and shopping. This was our first visit to Aruba and we plan on visiting again staying at the Holiday Inn of course!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palm Tower, part of the main hotel. Very Satisfied. The Sea Tower was offered bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Joyce B,

Hi, and many greetings to you from our Happy Island, and we would like to thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn for your recent stay. We were thrilled to read that we met your expectations, and you enjoyed our beaches, and great location. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, and also other guests planning a trip to our Island.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beachfront Holiday Inn Resort Aruba, we’ve gone to great lengths to further enhance the miracle that is our island by creating a carefree getaway that truly has something for everyone. With the best location on Palm Beach, wide variety of water sports including PADI certified diving and designer shopping just across the street look no further when booking our Aruba vacation. Whether you’re here for a corporate retreat, family vacation or just a little downtime you’ll find refreshing accommodations, an attentive staff and a vast array of amenities and activities. The resort features free in-room Wi-Fi access and is perfect for families since children 17 and under stay free when sharing accommodations with parent or adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Hotel
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba
Holiday Inn Palm Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Aruba
Aruba Holiday Inn
Palm/Eagle Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.