We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Occupied Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Occupied Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived late on Thursday, last flight into Aruba so was checking in along with the airline crew/pilots at around 10-10:30 pm. As a platinum member my room was assigned to me prior to check in and that overall check-in went smoothly. I was told our room was upgraded to an Oceanfront room. We were happy with the reward and went to room and opened the door and to our surprise the room had all of a past guests clothes/luggage still in it along with the room not being cleaned.

Went back to front desk and told the employee. They went to back room to figure out what happened and apparently that room was occupied by a frequent guest and he just left. They have some kind of agreement that they store his clothes until he comes back but the room was not cleaned. I would of understood more if we were checking in at 3 pm but this was after 10 pm so somebody should have checked the room to know beforehand. But that left me without our upgraded room and was moved to the farthest tower from the lobby. It was apparently a suite because it had a living room but it is similar to the quality of all older US Holiday Inns. We would of much rather had the oceanfront room since we were in Aruba but it was late and we were getting tired so took the room. Went to the new room and low and behold it was the room right next to elevator and since it had living room and bedroom, the bedroom was actually right behind the elevator so we could hear it go up and down all night long. We weren't willing to go and make a big deal about it since we didn't figure we would be in our room much but it ended up being something we were ready to be done with by the time we left since we got to hear it anytime we were in the room.

Besides that, the hotel is nice. Being a platinum member allowed us to reserve a spot on the beach the entire duration of our stay. The beach is in good shape and we were able to get a good spot thanks to status. Bars were nice and we took advantage of Happy Hour since it was half price drinks. The restaurants were good but pricier than other area restaurants so we only ate breakfast and lunch there once and out at other restaurants the rest of the trip. Overall it is in a good location on Palm Beach and centrally located.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators and try to get an oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear cwspoon,
Thank you so much for your recent visit to our resort and for taking the time to share your invaluable feedback with regards to your stay.We would like to know more details about the issues you faced during your stay and would appreciate if you could kindly contact us at hiraguest.experience.manager@ihg.com so that we can personally follow up on your experience. Rest assured I have taken note and shared with the team your comments on the rooms - I do apologize for these shortcomings and we are investigating further into your case. We pride ourselves on our consistent excellent service and I see we fell short on this occasion for which I reiterate our apologies. Once again thank you and we hope you afford us a chance as a loyal IHG Member to visit us again
Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    289
    90
    24
    6
See reviews for
182
308
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived Tuesday, 18 Nov, to find all renovations completed, and well done. Staying in the Sea Tower, completely renovated, including new pool and spa. (This was the once avoided Curaçao Tower). Rooms totally redone and spotless.
Revamped menu, real coffee and espresso available at the Lobby Bar. Heineken draft now added to Balashi draft beer at the bars.
Formal review to be posted at end of stay. Any questions, post or PM if desired.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Silver-Elite,

Greetings from Aruba, and we were so happy to welcome you back to our newly renovated Resort, and were thrilled to hear that you are enjoying our new rooms, spa and pools. Thank you very much for your important feedback on Tripadvisor which is very important to us and also to new travelers on their way to our Happy Island. Masha Danki.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

updated hotel with a great location.Beach bar is great with excellent food and drinks.One of the best beaches that we have been to. Shopping mall across the street.Resteraunts are good but not great. If you choose this property go all inclusive.This was our 6th trip to Aruba and we will go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear gettingaway2014,

Many greetings from Aruba, and were so happy hear that you had a great stay with us and found some winter sunshine to relax and our location also suited your needs. Thank you very much for your kind review and also recommending us to fellow sunshine seekers during the long winter months. It will our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Aruba.

Masha Danki.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our first time to Aruba and we are so happy that we stayed at the Holiday Inn.
R
The beach was beautiful. Clean and calm, perfect to swim in for hours. Be sure to get a hut so that you can get some shades from the sun and you can stay out even longer. The front desk didn't say too much about the huts. What you have to do is start standing in line in front of the towel hut at about 3:45pm. At 4:00 pm, they start
taking reservation for the hut for the next day. There's a map on the wall so you can select which hut you would like.

the hotel is central to many shops and restaurants. We are so glad we didn't get the inclusive program as there are so many restaurants nearby to try. We went to Scala, Le Bistro, Old Cunucu, Cafe Tua and Smokey Joe's and were happy with all those restaurants. We ate breakfast at the Corral Cafe, which costs about $25 per person. It's worth it when they have lox. Otherwise, we went to Eduardo's Shack, which is located in the hotel next door. They have the best fruit bowls and fruities.

If you have time, take advantage of the work out programs the hotel toffer daily - Yoga, Pilates, Tai chi, water aerobics. The instructors were very nice and helpful to all levels.

The hotel room is clean and comfortable. You have a TV with cable. We emailed ahead and asked for an ocean front room but was informed that they can only guarantee for an additional $80 per night. When we arrived,there was no ocean front rooms available so we asked for the highest floor with partial view. We were happy with the room we were assigned on the sixth floor as we were able to see the ocean and the sunset from our room. Our room # 7617 was right next to the elevator but we were not bothered by any excess noise.

For a couple of dollars, you can take the bus downtown. I ended up purchasing a lot of my souvenirs from the free market stalls, where they have a lot of tank tops and t-shirts. The vendors will give you better price if you buy multiple items from them.

The workers at the hotel are vey nice and friendly, always willing to help. They have Security Officers at many places so you feel safe even in the super early morning and late at night.

Try Aruba, try Holiday Inn, Aruba. You will be glad you did just like us!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear LaLuna27,

Greetings from our Happy Island, we were very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and would like to thank you for very important feedback. Great that you were able to enjoy our work our programs that we offer and also that our great location suited all your needs. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort on your next visit to Aruba. Masha Danki.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager,

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From entering the lobby to getting checked in, the staff are courteous, friendly and totally professional.They made us feel right at home. We met Imrie, in charge of Food Services and he assured us that they would look after my wife's gluten free diet. They fulfilled the promise and the selection of food experiences there were good. We are basic travelers with our only needs being, a clean room, good food and a nice atmosphere. This resort met those and exceeded them. Great location with lots of things to do. Only suggestion would be is have some non-motorized sport equipment available through the resort. Can't say enough about the staff at this resort, we had great conversations with a great many of them, making our stay one of the most enjoyable that we have had in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Upper floor that we had with a great view of the resort and the sea was great. If you are not happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear njilesen,

Greetings from Aruba, and first let us thank you for your kind feedback. We were very happy to hear that we met your expectations during your stay and were able to met your dietary needs and will be very happy to pass your kind comments onto Imrie from our Food and Beverage department. We do offer the use of bicycles for free in the resort just for your information for the next time we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to our Resort. Thank you very much.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just came back from a 3 night stay at the Holiday Inn Aruba and had a wonderful time. With some of the reviews I've read it's hard to believe they were at the same place.I must say that on the drive to the hotel you pass nicer looking hotels and I was a little nervous about my choice , but once we walked through the doors I was sooooooo happy. Check in went very smoothly thanks to Allen, he was extremely nice, helpful and not bad on the eyes :) . The view from the lobby out to the beach was beautiful, I was in Aruba celebrating my bday and was given an upgrade to a pool/ocean view in the sea tower bldg on the odd # side 4th floor. The room was a nice size and very clean with a good size refrigerator, the bathroom had a shower only which was great for me because I don't use hotel tubs, the water was always hot and the water pressure was good. The beach was great and the only time we reserved a palapa was our 1st day there and we arrived around 5pm and got a palapa in a very good spot the next morning ( we did have someone trying to claim our palapa by puting bags down, they did move without incident ). There are several shops within the resort ( jewelry, souvenir, convenience), bars and dining facilities, I can't speak on the quality of the meals or drinks because all my meals were outside the hotel at the mall across the street and up the street, many to choose from. Smokey Joes had tasty ribs and west indian patties( a little different from jamaican patties but still good), also had breakfast at Aromi italia for $10 and Le petit cafe for $9.95 and $7.95, a lot less than the $23 charged at the restaurant (Corals) in the hotel. The mall also has a movie theatre and bowling alley. I also did 2 tours which I will be reviewing later. This was my 1st trip to Aruba and I fell in love with the island and the friendly people I had the pleasure of coming across. The dominican republic was my favorite island to visit but thanks to a very memorable and fun stay I just might have a new favorite. Masha danki Aruba, Te aworo.

Room Tip: Any room with an ocean or pool view on 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear adyj17,

Greetings from Aruba, we were thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us and our rooms and beach side and pools met with your expectations. Thank you very much for your kind feedback and it will be our pleasure to pass your comments onto Allen at our front desk. We too are happy that Aruba is your is your new favorite and very much look forward to welcoming you back to our Happy Island. Masha Danki.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am writing this while still here. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and in a perfect spot. Across the street is a mall with numerous restaurants and high end shops. We didnt get the inclusive plan. The breakfast buffet is $22 a person and not worth it. Ate there 4 days till found a little place next door and a bagel restaurant next to that. Requested a room in the seaview tower per the reviews on here. BAD IDEA!!!!! Got a room with an even number and a band at a place outside played music , especielly the BASE. called the front desk sunday night when they played till midnight- was told they dont play anymore the rest of the week- which was a LIE. They played saturday,sunday,wednesday, and so far still on thursday. the manager on wednesday night offered to change our room , but didnt want
to pack up for 2 more nights. if we were told on sunday that they DO PLAY every night we couldve moved then. The place playing music isnt part of this hotel, but when guests complain, something needs to be worked out . i dont plan on needing ear plugs when you come here. otherwise the hotel is pretty empty so you can find a place to sit in the shade. had no desire to get a hut on the beach so didnt need to line up. the hotel had good food at the pelican restaurant. all food is very expensive as they import everything. took a palma morning tour of the island , which was very nice. we had booked this when we did the united airline booking for the trip. the staff here are very friendly. eat at el goucho restaurant in town, for delicious steaks. the large hotels have casinos but theyre very small. did win some at the casino in our hotel. there are iguanas out during the day looking for food anywhere , and saw one climb up a beach chair where a lady was eating. watch out, but they are fun to watch. i would stay here again but in a different wing, and i wish the front desk wouldve been truthful about the banging music and base.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Contributor,

Greetings from Aruba, and first let us thank you for your feedback and would like to apologise for the noise generated from the music outside our Resort, please contact us with an email at hiraguest.experience.manager@ihg.com so we can follow up on the details of your stay. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location and also our beach side and pool areas. We would like to welcome you back again on your next visit to Aruba. Thank you very much.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beachfront Holiday Inn Resort Aruba, we’ve gone to great lengths to further enhance the miracle that is our island by creating a carefree getaway that truly has something for everyone. With the best location on Palm Beach, wide variety of water sports including PADI certified diving and designer shopping just across the street look no further when booking our Aruba vacation. Whether you’re here for a corporate retreat, family vacation or just a little downtime you’ll find refreshing accommodations, an attentive staff and a vast array of amenities and activities. The resort features free in-room Wi-Fi access and is perfect for families since children 17 and under stay free when sharing accommodations with parent or adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Hotel
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba
Holiday Inn Palm Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Aruba
Aruba Holiday Inn
Palm/Eagle Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.