We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from winter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Away from winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

updated hotel with a great location.Beach bar is great with excellent food and drinks.One of the best beaches that we have been to. Shopping mall across the street.Resteraunts are good but not great. If you choose this property go all inclusive.This was our 6th trip to Aruba and we will go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    288
    89
    24
    6
See reviews for
182
306
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our first time to Aruba and we are so happy that we stayed at the Holiday Inn.
R
The beach was beautiful. Clean and calm, perfect to swim in for hours. Be sure to get a hut so that you can get some shades from the sun and you can stay out even longer. The front desk didn't say too much about the huts. What you have to do is start standing in line in front of the towel hut at about 3:45pm. At 4:00 pm, they start
taking reservation for the hut for the next day. There's a map on the wall so you can select which hut you would like.

the hotel is central to many shops and restaurants. We are so glad we didn't get the inclusive program as there are so many restaurants nearby to try. We went to Scala, Le Bistro, Old Cunucu, Cafe Tua and Smokey Joe's and were happy with all those restaurants. We ate breakfast at the Corral Cafe, which costs about $25 per person. It's worth it when they have lox. Otherwise, we went to Eduardo's Shack, which is located in the hotel next door. They have the best fruit bowls and fruities.

If you have time, take advantage of the work out programs the hotel toffer daily - Yoga, Pilates, Tai chi, water aerobics. The instructors were very nice and helpful to all levels.

The hotel room is clean and comfortable. You have a TV with cable. We emailed ahead and asked for an ocean front room but was informed that they can only guarantee for an additional $80 per night. When we arrived,there was no ocean front rooms available so we asked for the highest floor with partial view. We were happy with the room we were assigned on the sixth floor as we were able to see the ocean and the sunset from our room. Our room # 7617 was right next to the elevator but we were not bothered by any excess noise.

For a couple of dollars, you can take the bus downtown. I ended up purchasing a lot of my souvenirs from the free market stalls, where they have a lot of tank tops and t-shirts. The vendors will give you better price if you buy multiple items from them.

The workers at the hotel are vey nice and friendly, always willing to help. They have Security Officers at many places so you feel safe even in the super early morning and late at night.

Try Aruba, try Holiday Inn, Aruba. You will be glad you did just like us!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From entering the lobby to getting checked in, the staff are courteous, friendly and totally professional.They made us feel right at home. We met Imrie, in charge of Food Services and he assured us that they would look after my wife's gluten free diet. They fulfilled the promise and the selection of food experiences there were good. We are basic travelers with our only needs being, a clean room, good food and a nice atmosphere. This resort met those and exceeded them. Great location with lots of things to do. Only suggestion would be is have some non-motorized sport equipment available through the resort. Can't say enough about the staff at this resort, we had great conversations with a great many of them, making our stay one of the most enjoyable that we have had in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Upper floor that we had with a great view of the resort and the sea was great. If you are not happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear njilesen,

Greetings from Aruba, and first let us thank you for your kind feedback. We were very happy to hear that we met your expectations during your stay and were able to met your dietary needs and will be very happy to pass your kind comments onto Imrie from our Food and Beverage department. We do offer the use of bicycles for free in the resort just for your information for the next time we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to our Resort. Thank you very much.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have just came back from a 3 night stay at the Holiday Inn Aruba and had a wonderful time. With some of the reviews I've read it's hard to believe they were at the same place.I must say that on the drive to the hotel you pass nicer looking hotels and I was a little nervous about my choice , but once we walked through the doors I was sooooooo happy. Check in went very smoothly thanks to Allen, he was extremely nice, helpful and not bad on the eyes :) . The view from the lobby out to the beach was beautiful, I was in Aruba celebrating my bday and was given an upgrade to a pool/ocean view in the sea tower bldg on the odd # side 4th floor. The room was a nice size and very clean with a good size refrigerator, the bathroom had a shower only which was great for me because I don't use hotel tubs, the water was always hot and the water pressure was good. The beach was great and the only time we reserved a palapa was our 1st day there and we arrived around 5pm and got a palapa in a very good spot the next morning ( we did have someone trying to claim our palapa by puting bags down, they did move without incident ). There are several shops within the resort ( jewelry, souvenir, convenience), bars and dining facilities, I can't speak on the quality of the meals or drinks because all my meals were outside the hotel at the mall across the street and up the street, many to choose from. Smokey Joes had tasty ribs and west indian patties( a little different from jamaican patties but still good), also had breakfast at Aromi italia for $10 and Le petit cafe for $9.95 and $7.95, a lot less than the $23 charged at the restaurant (Corals) in the hotel. The mall also has a movie theatre and bowling alley. I also did 2 tours which I will be reviewing later. This was my 1st trip to Aruba and I fell in love with the island and the friendly people I had the pleasure of coming across. The dominican republic was my favorite island to visit but thanks to a very memorable and fun stay I just might have a new favorite. Masha danki Aruba, Te aworo.

Room Tip: Any room with an ocean or pool view on 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear adyj17,

Greetings from Aruba, we were thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us and our rooms and beach side and pools met with your expectations. Thank you very much for your kind feedback and it will be our pleasure to pass your comments onto Allen at our front desk. We too are happy that Aruba is your is your new favorite and very much look forward to welcoming you back to our Happy Island. Masha Danki.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am writing this while still here. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and in a perfect spot. Across the street is a mall with numerous restaurants and high end shops. We didnt get the inclusive plan. The breakfast buffet is $22 a person and not worth it. Ate there 4 days till found a little place next door and a bagel restaurant next to that. Requested a room in the seaview tower per the reviews on here. BAD IDEA!!!!! Got a room with an even number and a band at a place outside played music , especielly the BASE. called the front desk sunday night when they played till midnight- was told they dont play anymore the rest of the week- which was a LIE. They played saturday,sunday,wednesday, and so far still on thursday. the manager on wednesday night offered to change our room , but didnt want
to pack up for 2 more nights. if we were told on sunday that they DO PLAY every night we couldve moved then. The place playing music isnt part of this hotel, but when guests complain, something needs to be worked out . i dont plan on needing ear plugs when you come here. otherwise the hotel is pretty empty so you can find a place to sit in the shade. had no desire to get a hut on the beach so didnt need to line up. the hotel had good food at the pelican restaurant. all food is very expensive as they import everything. took a palma morning tour of the island , which was very nice. we had booked this when we did the united airline booking for the trip. the staff here are very friendly. eat at el goucho restaurant in town, for delicious steaks. the large hotels have casinos but theyre very small. did win some at the casino in our hotel. there are iguanas out during the day looking for food anywhere , and saw one climb up a beach chair where a lady was eating. watch out, but they are fun to watch. i would stay here again but in a different wing, and i wish the front desk wouldve been truthful about the banging music and base.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Contributor,

Greetings from Aruba, and first let us thank you for your feedback and would like to apologise for the noise generated from the music outside our Resort, please contact us with an email at hiraguest.experience.manager@ihg.com so we can follow up on the details of your stay. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location and also our beach side and pool areas. We would like to welcome you back again on your next visit to Aruba. Thank you very much.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach resort & Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will try to provide as much info as possible not only about this hotel but also area around it in general...
First let me go over the weather....DO NOT listen to forecast in advance - The day before we left to Aruba I checked weekly forecast and it looked like it was going to rain every day (80 percent showers) we stayed there for 6 nights an it only rained once(even when it rains it lasts about 10 min max then its back to 85-90 and sunny).
Hotel- I travel a lot and when I choose where to stay price matters most since we don't usually stay in our rooms so wen it came to price Holiday Inn had the best deals -I was worried a little because this hotel has over 600 rooms and I thought maybe beach will be crowded BUT this property is pretty good when it comes to space on the beach just one advice make sure you reserve your spot(if you want shades) at 4pm the day before (you have to reserve spot between 4-7 but after 5 most spots already taken ) line moves fast may take 10 min the most, if you don't reserve spot no problem there is plenty of space but you may have to get sunny spots. Kids can spend time in kids club and they got pool just for kids but we went without kids so not sure how good these are.When it comes to entertainment don't expect much during the day this is not like in Dominican Republic or Mexico where its non stop. At night they got shows but only for about 30 min. when it comes to rooms they keep them clean and we didn't have any issues. Water is safe to drink and we loved Lemon/Orange water that they had free of charge at the main reception area. You can eat on premise if you do try restaurant that goes into the water area by activity desk they had nice sandwiches for lunch for about $9 or you can get pizza for about $11 also by the beach area. Speaking of food try to go out and experience local restaurants for breakfast I strongly recommend Garden Fresh Café which is one block away by Playa Linda each resort we try to eat healthy and this place is AMAZING for about $10 you can get freshly squeezed juice of your choice or smoothies and a healthy wrap/Panini of your choice..MUST TRY this place we went there also for lunch(they also got great soup and make your own salad menu). For Dinner try Le Petite café which is also by Playa Linda across from Garden café you have to try their food which is made on hot stone right in front of you and they also have live music there on few occasions. Food is awesome at all of their restaurants we tried most of them , try going towards Hyatt about 3 blocks they got more restaurants there. Dinner with drinks will cost you aprox $70 but they also got Dunkin Donuts , McDonald and Starbucks if you want to skip big meal and save money. As far as shopping check out their mall which is in front of Holiday Inn(about 2 blocks ) and dancing fountain also in front 1 block. But for souvenirs I found best prices at I love Aruba store which is not far from Hyatt. For fun book horse ride with Ponderosa ranch (they got two available tours take the one that cost $90 its more expensive but it will be like a private tour because not so many people go for expensive option( it was just 4 people on our tour and next day we saw same tour guide with just two people other tour will have about 10 people) also try ATV its amazing just make sure you take tour with ATV and not jeeps its more fun....Oh and water is warm especially at night but not clear.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear perfectrx2,

Greetings from Aruba, and lets us thank you for your very informative feedback which is very important to us and also to other travelers wishing to visit our Happy Island. We were happy to hear you had a great time with us and our great location suited your needs during your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Aruba. Masha Danki.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort 7 Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest town, illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here several years ago - not 2014- the beach was wonderful - the location was within walking distance of several stores, restaurants and shopping at night. I went with my sister & another friend & it fit the bill for what we wanted to do. We stayed at another hotel the next visit.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear beachjumper64,

Greetings from Aruba, we were so happy to hear that you had a great time with us during your stay and loved our beautiful beaches. We would like to inform you that our Hotel had undergone considerable renovation this past year and we would very much like to welcome you back on your next visit to our Happy Island. Thank you very much for your kind feedback which is very important to us.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beachfront Holiday Inn Resort Aruba, we’ve gone to great lengths to further enhance the miracle that is our island by creating a carefree getaway that truly has something for everyone. With the best location on Palm Beach, wide variety of water sports including PADI certified diving and designer shopping just across the street look no further when booking our Aruba vacation. Whether you’re here for a corporate retreat, family vacation or just a little downtime you’ll find refreshing accommodations, an attentive staff and a vast array of amenities and activities. The resort features free in-room Wi-Fi access and is perfect for families since children 17 and under stay free when sharing accommodations with parent or adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Hotel
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba
Holiday Inn Palm Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Aruba
Aruba Holiday Inn
Palm/Eagle Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.