We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Metuchen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice property. I recommend staying in the SEA tower since it is newly renovated. Staff was excellent property was clean considering much landscape work was being done to beautify the property. Brenda the manager was exceptionally helpful. She recommended restaurants for us to eat and places to go. All of which were excellent. No matter where you went on the property there was Brenda with a smile. Great outside dining at the beachfront which included a trumpet player and costume dancers in Las Vegas show costumes. Despite some of the reviews the food was not awful. We need to remember that we never will eat what we are accustomed to eating at home. I did not do the all inclusive but I did eat at D'vinci's two times and it was great. Everything was much more then I ever expected when I booked the Holiday Inn. I would go back there in a flash.Thanks for a wonderful time at the Holiday Inn. Especially to Brenda.

Room Tip: Sea Tower is the best. Newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    243
    76
    23
    6
See reviews for
161
241
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathroy, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We traveled to Aruba for our honeymoon Sept 8-15/14. We chose the Holiday Inn based on reviews, amenities, cost and the all inclusive option. We loved our stay! There are very few complaints, and frankly don't understand the poor reviews... If you book at the Holiday Inn, and expect the Ritz - then I suppose that could be the problem.

Check in: Great, quick, cold fruit infused water in the lobby, friendly staff. The lobby garden area is currently under renovation, so not exciting to look at off the bus, but if it turns out like the plans, it will be beautiful. It would have been nice to know there were construction projects on site before arriving, but it wasn't much of an inconvenience. We had contacted the hotel prior to arriving about it being our honeymoon and were thankful for the oceanfront upgrade and bottle of celebratory champagne.

Rooms: Great view, heard no complaints from many others we met. We stayed in room 5680 - the washroom is upgraded, the king bed was comfortable, fridge and AC worked well. A table with 2 chairs and a pull out sofa was also in the room. Housekeeping was fine - nothing fancy, had to ask for coffee. The fridge only had what we put in it and was not stocked by the hotel. The balcony was a great size and had wonderful views! Lots of clean towels daily, and they would check back in the evening with Hershey Kisses and towels.

Beach: BEAUTIFUL!! We walked the beach West toward the other high rise resorts, and the HI had the best beach we could see. The further West we walked the more windy it became. We would suggest taking clothes pins (the big plastic kind) to keep your clothes and towels attached to your beach chairs. The water is nice and warm, lots of fish around. The shade huts are reserved daily beginning at 4:00, the first few days we were able to go right at 4, and get a decent hut close to the water. As the week went on and the resort got busier, the lines began before 3:00 - the pro's are that there is no "towel game" but the cons are standing in line. We would have been happy to pay to reserve for the week - but the current way allows everyone a fair chance. The activities area on the beach rents flotations for $5.00/day and was the best $5.00 we spent on many days.

Food/drink: plentiful, and varied. The variety remained enough to not get boring, and the drinks were always good - lots of selection. One morning at breakfast we found mold on our bagels - so have a look. Every drink (other than water) or food item requires a signature and room number - we did not have it explained to us, so were really confused when leaving the bar the first day. On the receipt there is a tip option which is charged to your room - we learned that this tip is split between all resort staff and not reserved for the person who served you - if you care to tip someone specifically cash is best. A few staff made our time fantastic at the beach bar; Edward makes a great drink and has a great memory, Louise is SO friendly and kind, and Rosa Angelica shared so much great information about the island and was always pleasant. Wednesday and Saturday there was a buffet and show beside the pool by the beach.

We took the all day Jeep tour through EL tours and recommend it for sure - great way to see the island and learn about the culture.

We would fully recommend this resort and will consider returning. Shopping and restaurants are across the street, and everything you need is on site... Enjoy - you are in Aruba!!

The airport was chaotic, but that has nothing to do with the hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor is great, preferably not near the elevator for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel before, and there's a reason we continue to come back...it is the people. We feel right at home, truly enjoy ourselves to the FULLEST. Eddy, Louise, Hugo, Shirley, and of course Mayra! The reason we come back is because of each of you... Also, what an opportunity to see Boris and his family, with the new arrival of "Boris jr"....

This hotel and staff are amazing, they are consistent, sincere, fair and loyal... you simply can't go wrong by staying here.. in fact, we just extended our stay... we are still here!!!

This is our island, and hotel for life! Enjoy

Dawn and Randy Haughn

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Randy H,

Greetings from Aruba, and let us thank for your kind review which is very important to us. We will be happy to pass your kind words onto our Team Associates and were thrilled to hear that you have extended your stay and you are stilling enjoying your vacation with us. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming back on your next vacation to our Happy island. Masha Danki.

Kind Regards,
Guest Experience Manager.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel before they remodeled and I had a Great experience both times!! It was very clean the staff was very friendly and accommodating!! Would stay there again!! First time I visited I did the all-inclusive which was great second time I visited I did not do the all-inclusive still a great stay was able to go to the restaurants outside around the hotel which are all really good restaurants the food at the hotel was awesome in all their restaurants the Sea breeze Café was a great restaurant at the hotel for dinner we sat outside and were able to sit right on the water overlooking the sunset it was an awesome dinner would definitely go back there again. Everything is so close the beach is right outside the door the pools right there very clean just an all-around great hotel to stay in would highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Karen M,
Thank you for visiting us again and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to know you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all the new additions to our recently renovated resort. We are glad you enjoyed our service, pools, location and restaurants. We hope to see you again for your third visit!
Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Holiday Inn during our travels to Aruba this past August 25-Sept 1. Overall, we had an great stay at this resort. The location is excellent, right on the beautiful Palm Beach - only minutes to walk to from your hotel room.

We stayed in building 7 and were on the 2nd floor. The room was nice, clean and appears to have been renovated recently.

All of the staff on the resort were really friendly, but our favourite had to be Rosa Angelica who worked at the Beach Restaurant and Bar - she made our lunch and afternoon drinks a great experience.

The resort is located right on the Palm Beach strip of restaurants, shops, etc. and takes only minutes to walk to

The food was OK - the breakfast and lunch buffets were your standard food. The Sea Breeze beach restaurant for dinner was good with a beautiful view of the water.

We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who wanted to visit Aruba!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear MJSandbox ,
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. We are so happy to see you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our location, rooms and beach. Rest assured we shall pass on your kind word to Rosa Angelica, I am sure she will be more than happy to hear them. We thank you as well for recommending our resort, this is the greatest compliment we can receive!
We hope to see you back again in the near future!
Regards from Aruba,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Be advised if you stay at this property that you might be billed for nights that you did not spend at the hotel....booked two nights using Priority Club points and was charged an extra night after I had departed the island. Be careful.... Would not recommend this property!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Gordurao,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay.
There may have been confusion with the authorization requested upon check-in. For international transactions this hold may release 7-14 business days after check-out. If this hold has still not been released or you have more details for us please email us at hiraguest.experience.manager@ihg.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are avid travelers and we travel with our children. We traveled during what is considered the first week of low season so the hotel was only 75% full. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel room is no frills. 10 to 15 TV channels if satellite is working. No kids channels. No room cribs. Hotel boasts RENOVATED ROOMS, The room renovations basically were very minimal, newer beds, some fresh paint, but things were put together with miss matches screws, we found rusty parts of the doors just painted over, dressers were musty and unlined so your clothes smell if placed in them. A fridge in the room was a nice size for our family for the week. But no toaster, no microwave like I said no frills.
The beach is right outside your hotel room however if you want one of the 80 Huts or Playlapas you have to wait in a long line at 4pm the day before, oh and if you think showing up 15 mins early your good. Think again. I arrived at 3 pm and 10-15 people would be there waiting. Remember this was low season. Their are 400-600 rooms. And 80 huts. So good luck. Because you will need it. Let's talk about the beach. They have a great stretch of beach with little or no waves. However the beach is covered with garbage I mean covered. You will find bottle caps, glass, straws, cigarette butts, plastic cups among other debris. I was so surprised that they don't take the time to rake or maintain their beach. They have no machines to comb the beach of this material so if you have small children like I do you have to be aware of what your children are playing with.
We ate lunch at the hotel bar restaurant a few times and found it to be quick, tasty and convenient. They hit you with a 15% service fee for the food. You will even get hit with a service fee if you just order a coffee from the togo coffee bar. So do yourself a favor and go across the street to the SLOWEST Starbucks and order a coffee their it's better, bigger servings.
We used concierge to book our meals and Aleja was great. She made great recommendations for our family. It helped to make our stay really nice.
The hotel is located in a prime spot of Palm Beach. If they improved the condition of the rooms and the beach they could easily be a 4-5 star hotel. However due to these conditions I can only give them 3 stars.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Matthew B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about your stay at our hotel. Rest assured we shall pass on your kind words to our concierge Aleja, I am sure she will be more than happy to hear them. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay, they shall be shared with our management team. We are working on installing more Palapas (beach huts) without overcrowding our beach, and improving the reservation system. Our hotel is also undergoing a Beautification process at this moment, so our guests can enjoy a more stunning resort. We would really like to know more details of your stay- please email us at hiraguest.experience.manager@ihg.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beachfront Holiday Inn Resort Aruba, we’ve gone to great lengths to further enhance the miracle that is our island by creating a carefree getaway that truly has something for everyone. With the best location on Palm Beach, wide variety of water sports including PADI certified diving and designer shopping just across the street look no further when booking our Aruba vacation. Whether you’re here for a corporate retreat, family vacation or just a little downtime you’ll find refreshing accommodations, an attentive staff and a vast array of amenities and activities. The resort features free in-room Wi-Fi access and is perfect for families since children 17 and under stay free when sharing accommodations with parent or adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Hotel
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba
Holiday Inn Palm Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Aruba
Aruba Holiday Inn
Palm/Eagle Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.