We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed at this hotel before, and there's a reason we continue to come back...it is the people. We feel right at home, truly enjoy ourselves to the FULLEST. Eddy, Louise, Hugo, Shirley, and of course Mayra! The reason we come back is because of each of you... Also, what an opportunity to see Boris and his family, with the new arrival of "Boris jr"....

This hotel and staff are amazing, they are consistent, sincere, fair and loyal... you simply can't go wrong by staying here.. in fact, we just extended our stay... we are still here!!!

This is our island, and hotel for life! Enjoy

Dawn and Randy Haughn

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    242
    76
    23
    6
See reviews for
161
239
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel before they remodeled and I had a Great experience both times!! It was very clean the staff was very friendly and accommodating!! Would stay there again!! First time I visited I did the all-inclusive which was great second time I visited I did not do the all-inclusive still a great stay was able to go to the restaurants outside around the hotel which are all really good restaurants the food at the hotel was awesome in all their restaurants the Sea breeze Café was a great restaurant at the hotel for dinner we sat outside and were able to sit right on the water overlooking the sunset it was an awesome dinner would definitely go back there again. Everything is so close the beach is right outside the door the pools right there very clean just an all-around great hotel to stay in would highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Holiday Inn during our travels to Aruba this past August 25-Sept 1. Overall, we had an great stay at this resort. The location is excellent, right on the beautiful Palm Beach - only minutes to walk to from your hotel room.

We stayed in building 7 and were on the 2nd floor. The room was nice, clean and appears to have been renovated recently.

All of the staff on the resort were really friendly, but our favourite had to be Rosa Angelica who worked at the Beach Restaurant and Bar - she made our lunch and afternoon drinks a great experience.

The resort is located right on the Palm Beach strip of restaurants, shops, etc. and takes only minutes to walk to

The food was OK - the breakfast and lunch buffets were your standard food. The Sea Breeze beach restaurant for dinner was good with a beautiful view of the water.

We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who wanted to visit Aruba!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear MJSandbox ,
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. We are so happy to see you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our location, rooms and beach. Rest assured we shall pass on your kind word to Rosa Angelica, I am sure she will be more than happy to hear them. We thank you as well for recommending our resort, this is the greatest compliment we can receive!
We hope to see you back again in the near future!
Regards from Aruba,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Be advised if you stay at this property that you might be billed for nights that you did not spend at the hotel....booked two nights using Priority Club points and was charged an extra night after I had departed the island. Be careful.... Would not recommend this property!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Gordurao,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay.
There may have been confusion with the authorization requested upon check-in. For international transactions this hold may release 7-14 business days after check-out. If this hold has still not been released or you have more details for us please email us at hiraguest.experience.manager@ihg.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We are avid travelers and we travel with our children. We traveled during what is considered the first week of low season so the hotel was only 75% full. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel room is no frills. 10 to 15 TV channels if satellite is working. No kids channels. No room cribs. Hotel boasts RENOVATED ROOMS, The room renovations basically were very minimal, newer beds, some fresh paint, but things were put together with miss matches screws, we found rusty parts of the doors just painted over, dressers were musty and unlined so your clothes smell if placed in them. A fridge in the room was a nice size for our family for the week. But no toaster, no microwave like I said no frills.
The beach is right outside your hotel room however if you want one of the 80 Huts or Playlapas you have to wait in a long line at 4pm the day before, oh and if you think showing up 15 mins early your good. Think again. I arrived at 3 pm and 10-15 people would be there waiting. Remember this was low season. Their are 400-600 rooms. And 80 huts. So good luck. Because you will need it. Let's talk about the beach. They have a great stretch of beach with little or no waves. However the beach is covered with garbage I mean covered. You will find bottle caps, glass, straws, cigarette butts, plastic cups among other debris. I was so surprised that they don't take the time to rake or maintain their beach. They have no machines to comb the beach of this material so if you have small children like I do you have to be aware of what your children are playing with.
We ate lunch at the hotel bar restaurant a few times and found it to be quick, tasty and convenient. They hit you with a 15% service fee for the food. You will even get hit with a service fee if you just order a coffee from the togo coffee bar. So do yourself a favor and go across the street to the SLOWEST Starbucks and order a coffee their it's better, bigger servings.
We used concierge to book our meals and Aleja was great. She made great recommendations for our family. It helped to make our stay really nice.
The hotel is located in a prime spot of Palm Beach. If they improved the condition of the rooms and the beach they could easily be a 4-5 star hotel. However due to these conditions I can only give them 3 stars.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Matthew B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about your stay at our hotel. Rest assured we shall pass on your kind words to our concierge Aleja, I am sure she will be more than happy to hear them. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay, they shall be shared with our management team. We are working on installing more Palapas (beach huts) without overcrowding our beach, and improving the reservation system. Our hotel is also undergoing a Beautification process at this moment, so our guests can enjoy a more stunning resort. We would really like to know more details of your stay- please email us at hiraguest.experience.manager@ihg.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Best Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you are on a budget this hotel is okay. If you have been to AI resorts and are expecting that kind of room and service, look elsewhere. I was able to check in early when i arrived, but the room they offered me smelled musty and was not renovated (even though they said it was). They offered me the room across the hall but it was the same as the first one. I was told i had to wait until 4pm for a better room. The next room i was given was alot better than the first 2. it was renovated. We were put in the Sea Tower which was the furthest away from the lobby. The gym and spa are located in that building. The room/hotel was okay but did not feel like a resort vacation. It felt like a regular hotel room. The grounds were under construction. The pools were nice, but the adult pool always had kids in it. This hotel is seems is very popular with families. If you do not want kids around you should find another place.
The reason why i gave this hotel an average rating is b/c i chose this hotel b/c i am an IHG and i was not recognized as a rewards member until it was too late. I told the lady who checked me in, i was a rewards member and gave her my rewards number. I asked her if i get anything for being a member. She told me No. I was very suprised. Not even a bottle of water? I thought this was strange. I asked her again Are you sure? She said No. So i thought perhaps it was b/c i was at an international hotel and not in the USA that they don't offer anything. But she was wrong. And it really annoyed me when i found out she was wrong. Two days left of my vacation i asked someone else at the front desk if rewards members receive anything and his reply was "Yes, of Course" so i told him my story and he apologized multiple times. He told me i was to get 2 bottles of water, a 15% discount card which i can use at the bars/restaurants on property and a newspaper delivered to my room. Thank you! I wish i would have known this when i arrived. The resort did try and make up for this issue and they did offer me a credit. I don't know if i would return to this hotel. It just have that resort feeling. The rooms are so-so. The location and beach are really good. Not really a romantic or couple hotel.

Room Tip: Pick the Sea Tower or Ocean Tower. The other towers are not renovated and rooms smell musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Jennifer217412,
Thank you so much for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are currently undergoing a Beautification Project in our hotel, improving our landscaping and public areas in order to provide an even better experience to our guests. We are so sorry to hear about the miscommunication issue with our front desk agent, but we are happy to know it was resolved by one of our managers. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly please contact us at: hiraguest.experience.manager@ihg.com with further details of your stay. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Don't know what happened with my origianl review from January 2013...
Stayed in this hotel during renovations....had no problem with the noise. Our room was always clean and comfortable with soft and hard pillows. We got an amazing deal and had all inclusive option. Food was very good, kids had fun signing the receipts :)
Very good location with a mall just across the street. The ala carte restaurants were open every second day, but did not have to make reservations.
Not too much to do in the evening so we used to go across the street for the shows at the mall.
Weather was amazing if it rained it only lasted for few minutes.
We got bikes and went to butterfly conservatory, we also booked a bus tour that took us to natural brige, old church, aloe factory...
We really liked the layout of this hotel as the beach section was much larger than at other hotels that were tall and narrow...
We never had any problems in renting papala for next day and lineups were 5min max.
Would definately recommend this hotel but if you look for party place go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Agnes75,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you and your family had a great time with us. We now have many more activities in our hotel for both adults and kids to enjoy, such as our Carnival and Circus Show with buffet dinner by the beach. We definitely agree, we have on of the best locations and beaches on the island. We hope to see you and your family back soon for more fun in sun!
Warm Regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beachfront Holiday Inn Resort Aruba, we’ve gone to great lengths to further enhance the miracle that is our island by creating a carefree getaway that truly has something for everyone. With the best location on Palm Beach, wide variety of water sports including PADI certified diving and designer shopping just across the street look no further when booking our Aruba vacation. Whether you’re here for a corporate retreat, family vacation or just a little downtime you’ll find refreshing accommodations, an attentive staff and a vast array of amenities and activities. The resort features free in-room Wi-Fi access and is perfect for families since children 17 and under stay free when sharing accommodations with parent or adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Hotel
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba
Holiday Inn Palm Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Aruba
Aruba Holiday Inn
Palm/Eagle Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.