We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, if you are not going to be much in your room or at the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“OK, if you are not going to be much in your room or at the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I know I tend to write longer than usual reviews, but I wish I could read reviews as this one to get a better idea of where I am going to.
So I went to this hotel given the reviews I read, which as they said would be a hit or miss. First I am not sure what all the rave was about the remodeled rooms, they were Ok, but smelled pretty bad. The lobby is a nice place to be and hang out as well as the pool, and overall at the beach and I suggest you stay out of your room. This hotel does not have a room you will enjoy, but keep in mind you will pay half the price of the Marriott or Hyatt, and still enjoy the same sand, water and restaurants on the strip by the high rises.
It makes sense to stay here without an all inclusive plan, so you will not be tied down to spending a whole lot of time at this place. And instead go out in the evening to all the great restaurants across the street.
They hotel sells breakfast for $20pp full buffet, if you want to spend here go ahead, but keep in mind you can get at the little bar by the lobby a nice cappuccino and a ham and cheese croissant for $7 and at least for me it was enough, I did go to the buffet as well, but it was way too much food for me. My son and husband did eat every day at the buffet, as the manager gave us two complimentary breakfasts for every day during our stay. Unfortunately a few hours after we checked in, I was taking a shower and ready to get out, and my husband ready to get in, when suddenly two people walked into our room with a key and all were able to open our door!!!! HELP!!! I almost died, called immediately the front desk and gave them a piece of my mind, as for a worldwide chain hotel this CANNOT happen so as a way of apologizing they gave us this.
The hotel is very well located, in the heart of the hotel zone, at one side is Marriott and the other playa Linda, both great hotels as well. Across the street lots of food, from a crepe stand, to cupcakes, restaurants for all budgets, from McD’s to some nicer food.
So to end, all I have to say is that if for next year I get the same price I did this year I would go back to the Holiday Inn, if not would rather pay someone else the higher rate.

Room Tip: Do request a higher floor, we were on 6flr to get a better view, no need to pay ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Andy2002,

First let us thank you for time to review our resort your comments are very valuable to us. We are sorry for your inconvience and happy to hear that action was taken let us apologise once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome back to again on your next vacation to Aruba.

Kind Regards,
Management Team.


Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    271
    86
    24
    6
See reviews for
175
285
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel was clean, staff were friendly but the reservation procedure to procure a "hut" is ridiculous. People started lining up at 1:45 to be first in line for the 4:00 start of the reservation process! To make matters worse, the first 10 or so people had 2 rooms so they were able to reserve 2 huts each. Visitors with late airline arrivals or who had excursions planned for the afternoon were out of luck. There should be a better way to handle this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Kim0714,

Thank you for your recent stay at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino. We appreciate all feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to make improvements. I am so sorry to read that you were dissapointed with our palapa reservation systeml. Please rest assured that I shared your comments regarding this issue with the appropriate team members already as we always strive to improve our guest's experience.

Sincerely,
Management Team
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba- Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was very pleased with the Holiday Inn. Rooms clean and had a great beach view. Stood in line everyday to reserve a hut and that wasn't too bad. Everyone was nice and helpful. Can't wait to come back next year!
Very relaxing vacation and beautiful beaches!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Karen W,

Greetings, and thank you for your time to review our Resort during your recent stay with us. We were thrilled to hear that we met your expectations and that you will be back again for some more sun and relaxation on our beautiful beaches. Masha Danki.

Kind Regards,
Management Team.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As mentioned above service isn't great with exception of Rosa Maxwell, bartenders Edward, Domingo and Jesus. My bed linen was not changed without my request, the maid did not provide the complimentary lotion, shampoos and actually left us without toilet paper. The security guards were rude and probably not a place I will return to. We went with a huge travel group and they really were not prepared to meet our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Villamd,

Thank you for your time to review our resort your comments are very valuable to us. Let us apologise for any inconviences during your stay and rest assured we will pass them onto our Managment Team.

Kind Regards,
Managmenet Team.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

First, I'd like to say that finally the renovations to this hotel appear to be complete and there was no construction going on during my visit. Also as an update, the happy hour policy has changed. No happy hour discounts are allowed at the beach bar. You must go to the bar that is inside the hotel near the front desk. There, drinks are buy one get one from 5:30 PM to 7 PM.

This hotel is by far the best value in Aruba, as we have returned to it on all of our 5 visits to this amazing island. The location is perfect. It's right on the beach and within walking distance to many restaurants, shops, etc. It's by far the best value on the island, as neighboring property rates are double and in some cases even higher!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear BenandMe,

We were thrilled to welcome you back again to our Happy Island and also would like to thank you for your time to review our Resort and your continued loyality. Great to hear that our location suits your needs and our new renovations met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon on your next vacation. Masha Danki.

Kind Regards,
Management Team.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just returned from a fantastic week in Aruba, 9 nights at the Holiday Inn Resort. This was our first time in Aruba after being away for 25 years!! The hotel is great for a beach vacation and has everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We stayed in the Sea Tower where the Spa and fitness center are located. It was quiet, rooms were great and updated recently (they are renovating the whole hotel). We had a nice view of the ocean and pool area and a short walk to the Moomba Bar/Restaurant where we spent several evenings :) Watersports are right in front of the hotel. Special kudos to Pauline at the front desk for helping us move over to the Sea Tower, she went out of her way to assist. Eduardo, the bellman was a peach, and we found everyone to be very friendly, from the housekeepers to the restaurant staff. It was a very busy week at the hotel and still, everyone went out of their way. Eddie at the Seabreeze waited on us and we had a delicious dinner. Food was very good, no need to walk the strip searching for restaurants each night, the Holiday Inn has a great variety. You have to remember that you are on Island time and you may not get a drink or meal in a few seconds or with snap of your fingers! When you are vacation, the goal is to chill out and relax. We will definitely go back to Aruba and will stay at the Holiday Inn. Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable week. Galuardi Family from CT

Room Tip: I recommend the Sea Tower, we had rooms 6725 and 6727
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Linds G,

Greetings from our Happy Island and thank you for your time to review our Resort your comments are very valuable to us. We were thrilled to hear that we met you expectations and also that our Team Associates helped make your stay all the more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next vacation. Masha Danki.

Kind regards,
Management Team.

Holiday inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Holiday Inn Resort Aruba is in the BEST possible location for the beach goer-the shopper-and those looking for night life. The Staff was wonderful. This resort has gift shops, bars, beach bars, restaurants, mini mart, casino, pools.........the list goes on and on. Even washers and dryers in room wifi, lobby wifi, beach wifi, you'll never loose connection. I'm not to fond of the process for signing up for a beach hut but other than that I honestly have no complaints. The bus stop is right outside your door, for $2 you can catch the bus down town for more shopping and food options. I enjoyed my stay and i cant wait to return to the happy island of Aruba and the comfort of the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: There are two shopping malls directly across the street, nightly water shows. This hotel has the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Mi Hayes,

Greetings from our Happy Island and thank you for your time to review our Resort, we were so happy to welcome you back and hear that you had an amazing time during your holiday. We were thrilled to hear we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again sooon.

Kind Regards,
Management Team.

Holiday Inn Resort Aruba-Beach Resort & Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beachfront Holiday Inn Resort Aruba, we’ve gone to great lengths to further enhance the miracle that is our island by creating a carefree getaway that truly has something for everyone. With the best location on Palm Beach, wide variety of water sports including PADI certified diving and designer shopping just across the street look no further when booking our Aruba vacation. Whether you’re here for a corporate retreat, family vacation or just a little downtime you’ll find refreshing accommodations, an attentive staff and a vast array of amenities and activities. The resort features free in-room Wi-Fi access and is perfect for families since children 17 and under stay free when sharing accommodations with parent or adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Hotel
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba
Holiday Inn Palm Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Aruba
Aruba Holiday Inn
Palm/Eagle Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.