We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef is off his game” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistro Aruba

Le Bistro Aruba
Paseo Herencia Shopping Mall, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
+297 586 7393
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Bistro is located across from the Holiday Inn Beach Resort on the Palm Beach boulevard strip.Managed by the owners, Le Bistro stands out between the brightly colored shops of the Paseo Herencia Shopping Mall. It is a spot of understated elegance and affordable luxury. A team of very good chefs and waiters serve hot and cold beverages, lunch and dinner items in a French Mediterranean style. This means that the tiny amount of extra thought and effort makes coming back a next time so easy.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chef is off his game”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The waiting staff is working hard and does their best, but the chef is off his game.
The starter Carpaccio was sliced too thick, the accompanying bread was too sweet to taste the butter and the decorative melted cheese tasted plastic/cheap.
The main dish was the shrimp plate of the day, which was excellently fresh, but served with a side of frozen industrial fries.
The worst failure is that despite the kitchen is at a distance from the restaurant area, the chef does not pre-heat the plates. He/she can cook, but is either under crippling budget pressure, or has no spirit in the game. Bake your own bread, slice your own potatoes and for heaven sake: heat your plates.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    49
    20
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inconsistency With the Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hostess was super friendly as was the waiter. The biggest biggest problem and I'm having a hard time rating this place is that the food was inconsistent. Two dishes were HORRIBLY salty. It's almost as if the chef just dumped an entire canister of salt into the french onion soup and the Caesar salad. It was disgusting and horrible. Then, the chicken in my mixed skewer dish was SO undercooked it was basically raw. All the other meats were tasty though.

You'd think with all of the above, that I would really have given this place 1 star. But the rest of the meal was wonderful. My son had Spaghetti bolognese from the kids menu and it was great. The portion was pretty large as well. My husband had the Fruits de Mer and he absolutely loved it and said it was one of the best meals he had on the trip.

So basically, I'm thinking 2.5 stars. They have inconsistencies with their kitchen so they really need to check up on that. I would definitely not recommend this place unless you happen to be in the area.

Btw, I believe the restaurant has an indoor seating area that's a short walk away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Le Bistro is located in a shopping mall, and while separated from shoppers, I had the feeling we were eating in a food court. The service was good and the wait staff attentive, however the bread was brought in a basket with no plates. Le Bistro advertises tapas, however I did not see a tapas menu nor were tapas on the menu provided. I must admit that I did not ask, but nothing was offered. Our waiter did not provide a description of the specials - which I noted on a chalk board as we were leaving. I ordered a pasta Bolognaise with linguine as the pasta - it was served with spaghetti (which was one of the other pasta choices for this entree). We had to request Parmesan cheese as none was provided on the table. Tables are pretty close together, and I was treated to the cigarette smoke from the diner sitting behind me (and holding her cigarette about 2 feet from my head - delightful). Even though this is an outdoor restaurant, the odor of cigarette smoke does not make for a nice dining experience. . Prices seemed to be a bit high for the entrees offered. The food was adequately prepared and served hot with a reasonable wait. I would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and made to order”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Fresh and made to order. Wife and I both had pasta dishes. Portion was small for the price. Could've come with a salad for a better value. We'd go back on next visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban D, Owner at Le Bistro Aruba, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
thanks for you remark, we are working to make this place better day by day, and hope in your next visit get a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great new find!

Stumbled onto this little gem in the Paseo Mall with friends on our 2nd trip to Aruba. Tonight's dinner has turned into the best dinner of the trip. All courses were magnificently flavored, starting with the tapas that we had as appetizers, into the fish soups, grouper and tuna dinners shared and ending with 2 great deserts, including a fried banana with chocolate and dulce leche dipping sauces which just knocked it out of the park. Based on this visit i highly recommend Le Bistro for both lunch and dinner on your next trip to Aruba!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban D, Owner at Le Bistro Aruba, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the comment, we apreciate your friendship. Best regards, hope to see you back again at Le Bistro, looking forward to spending a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro Aruba also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Le Bistro Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistro Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.