We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papillon Restaurant

Papillon Restaurant
J.E. Irausquin Blvd. 348 A | The Village, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
+297-586-5400
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Henri Charrière, one of the world’s most famous prisoners, would surely have had the time of his life at Papillon Restaurant in The Village, across from the Radisson Resort. Nicknamed Papillon because of the butterfly tattoo on his chest, he was the first convict to escape from Devil’s Island. Charrière’s thrilling, gripping autobiography has been the concept behind Papillon Restaurant.Papillon Restaurant’s menu reflects the Frenchman’s arduous journey to freedom: classic French dishes have been dusted with daring Caribbean flair and are a culinary journey for your taste buds. The spacious outside terrace is perfect for casual fine dining or one may enjoy the air-conditioned inside dining space.
Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food is phenomenal and the service is also excellent. Doesn't matter how busy they are, they attend to your needs. Don't miss the Bourgignon...delicious!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    142
    57
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful French Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We managed to get in without a reservation and it was worth it. Papillon is a wonderful French Bistro. We had Escargot en croute which was excellent. Great garlic butter. The shrimp dish I had was excellent with a Mediterranean red sauce. My wife had a delicious grouper with lobster sauce. Wonderful. Great food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A ery enjoyable dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fantastic! For starters the ceviche was great followed by entrees featuring grouper and red snapper. We prefer simply prepared seafood as opposed to many of the gourmet sauces & salsas that come on so many dishes. The chefs accommodated us and blackened both entrees at our request. Excellent! The roasted veggies that came with the entree were equally delicious! Save room for dessert - the chocolate molten lava cake is phenomenal! Served with a butterscotch ice cream with walnuts. It is soooooo worth the calories!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location across the street from the main high rise hotel area, lovely decor, wonderful hostess, classy spot with amazing food and a good wine list, don't mind paying a little more when it's this good..don't miss this one. Would def revisit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were fortunate to get a last minute reservation. It was a nice walk from our high rise hotel and in front of restaurant is an outside shopping area which was a lot of fun. Great to walk off the wonderful food after such an amazing dinner. We ate outside which was a bit noisy but we enjoyed the people watching very much so did not mind at all. My meal wa unique and truly amazing. I got the sea bass en sel. The fish is cooked in a salted pastry. Sounds strange but was recommended by the server. Some of the best fish I have ever had. The fish just melts in your mouth. Rest of our party also very much enjoyed their meal. I highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papillon Restaurant also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Papillon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papillon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.