We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Hotel Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Oranjestad, null, Aruba
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I am currently doing my internship on Aruba and my parents came over for 10 days. I booked a stay for them at Boardwalk, and the stay could not have been better. The houses are very nicely decorated, the garden with pool is very relaxing and all in all this is really a place to stay if you want to get away from all the chaos, big hotels, casino's and just enjoy the peace and quiet the island can also offer!
The owners are amazing people who are really doing everything they can to make sure your stay is as good as it can be. Nothing but positive experiences with this hotel and I can definately recommend anyone this spot if you want a more personal, quiet stay in an amazing place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Frankv1987,

Thank you for your kind words here on Tripadvisor! Tripadvisor is the place where a lots of future guest research to plan their vacation in the very best way. We are happy your parents had a great stay with us! Your message is clear ☺ anyone who read your review will get the picture – Boardwalk is a personal, quite relax oasis away from the chaos!
Your description of Boardwalk is exactly what we are! Thank you to share this with us and the entire TripAdvisor community. We hope to see you on your next visit at our “One happy island’!

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owners & managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    95
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
177
245
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Boardwalk is a breath of fresh air! breakfast in the garden listening to the birds singing knocks the socks off the buffet in a 5* hotel!
A lovely oasis the grounds outside are beautiful and designed in a way that provides both, privacy or the option to be social with neighbours. The accommodation was a good standard, with all the needed amenities, the house keeping staff did a great job too.
A really well run establishment, it is clear there is a passion to make the stay special for their guests. Whilst Stephanie and Kimberly were away for some of our stay, Alice took good care of us. We were pretty independent but did get lazy at times and Car Rental, Restaurant reservations were taken care of along with a number of recommendations, all of which were great with some hidden gems!
The ice box came in very handy for lunch, it doubled nicely as a wine cooler for the odd evening sunset on the beach (just a short walk away)!
Well done to everyone at the Boardwalk for memorable stay and one that easily competes with the big hotels! Definitely recommended and would be my number 1 choice, despite the new Ritz Carlton just a stone throw away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Bravehurt2,

Thank you so much for your very flattering review on Tripadvisor!
We love your comments and appreciate every word, especially that we are your number one choice on Aruba! ☺ Indeed Running our hotel is Kimberly and my passion! We keep working every day together with our Boardwalk team to make every holiday for every guest a memorable experience at our Coconut oasis. Alice is charmed that she was able to add onto your positive experience on Aruba by helping you with reservations and recommendations! We look forward to seeing you again.

Sunny regards
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Owners & Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

everything you read is true! Stephanie and Kimberly were awesome and did every thing to make our honeymoon the best week ever! zero complaints, we plan on bringing back the kids asap! only sort of complaint was that a leg came loose on one of our beds and that was totally our fault and easy to fix and continue our honeymoon activities!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Jason S,

Thank you, Dank U, Masha Danki, Gracias, Obrigado, all of this means THANK YOU in all the languages the locals speaks in Aruba for you nice words. It is such a compliment that you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon! Boardwalk is a favorite amongst honeymooners looking for a quite and private stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A forever honeymoon from all of us,
Stephanie and Kimberly
Hotel Owners & Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

1) Felt like a private residence and sooo much better than high rise hotel rooms.
2) we'll maintained/decorated garden and plantation around each room.
3) beautifully placed hammocks and nice small pool for kids.
4) good cleaning crew.
5) owners want to do even better.
6) you can borrow beach towels , snorkel gear and chairs from the lobby.
7) owners know all the good places in town for every occasion. Just ask them.
8) best recommendation made by the owner was zeerover where fish was fresh of the boat.
9) great beaches without a doubt.
10) keep kids hydrated before heading out for the day.
11) the wifi is pretty good and surprisingly fast internet connection if u want to stream a movie from Amazon or Netflix.
12) sufficient utensils in the kitchen and a good charcoal grill.
13) favorite grocery superfood suggested by the owners.
14) try Linda's Dutch pancakes it is a treat and taste of Belgium desserts or how about the cocoa truffles
15) enjoy the sun the beach the casita(room) the pool the hammock - that is aruba for you

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Arunramuu,

Our whole team ( Veronica, Carmen, Alice, Kimberly, Lola ( cat), Lola ( dog), Dushi ( cat) and myself ) want to thank you for your nice words and thank you for staying with us at Boardwalk. Your kind words are the best reward we could get. You made our day!

We are happy you enjoyed the restaurants we picked out together and that you had a great local dinner at Zeerover! Thank you very much for sharing your 15 tips with our future guests.

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Owners & Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

When you are planning to take a holiday on Aruba and you don't fancy one of the large resorts than this is the place to go! We stayed in a double bedroom casita, which was tastefully decorated in local colors. The casita's are located around a lush garden and there is small pool for cooling down. All casitas have a terrace, including a BBQ and hammock :) For us this was ideal as we were traveling with little children, so once we put them to bed we could still sit outside having a bbq! Also worth mentioning is the excellent service with a personal touch from the owners Stephanie, Kimberly & Lola as well as all other staff (of course). Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you visit with little children you should stay in one of the garden casitas to avoid being too cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Stephan P,

Thank you for your time to write a review about your stay at Boardwalk Small Hotel! Your description of the casita and grounds couldn’t be more accurate. The two bedroom casita’s are perfect for families or groups of friends. Glad that you enjoyed it. It is great to hear that your children loved our pool and that you made great use of your personal BBQ. We hope that you and your family will be back to stay with us very soon!

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owners and managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Boardwalk is my home away from home! Every year when I come back, its like I never left. The owners Stephanie and Kimberly really know how to treat their quest. They always make time for you no matter what. Going that extra mile for your guest makes you feel so important and special.
The serenity and beauty keeps me going back every year.
Thank you everyone at the Boardwalk for another awesome visit.

Room Tip: My favorite is Casita #7 near the pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear June O,

Thank you so much for your review! It is always such pleasures having you back with us. We miss your good morning smile at the front desk! It is a pleasure for us to have you every year as guest at Boardwalk Small Hotel! Our group return guest grows every month.
We are happy to hear that you had an other amazing holiday on Aruba, and that Boardwalk Small Hotel, was a part of that positive experience! We are looking forward to seeing you again next year ☺.

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owners and managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Peaceful small hotel, makes you feel at home right away.Nice little swimming pool, not overcrowded like some big hotels but very private. Trees that give you the shade you need once in a while..Although very peaceful, just across the road you can find the beach for a walk by the waterside.
Staff is extremely friendly and owners give you a feeling of staying in a luxury hotel with all the extra's they offer.
The cassata's (little houses) have everything you need; hotel service, equipped kitchen, excellent airco, nice bathroom. In the bedroom thick curtains keep out the light in the early morning and beds are first class. Everything is very clean and well maintained.
tip: Before going to the supermarket you can have your first breakfast just across the street in a big hotel (Marriot).
Hotel also made a deal with a beach club at a mini harbour. where you can have excellent breakfast (feet in the sand..) and dinner (watch the sunset ).My husband called this his "best vacation ever" and wants to come back to this small paradise.
Before we left, an article in the New York Times Travel appeared under the title "36 hours in Aruba".

Room Tip: All the cassat'a have shade from the palm trees. For a more sunny terrace, there are three rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Op_reis188669

Thank you so much for rating us 5 stars! And thank you for sharing this information for other guests to read. It is so nice that your husband had the best vacation ever at Boardwalk hotel!
We are very honored that the New York Times recommended Boardwalk Small Hotel for lodging in their article ’36 hours in Aruba’!
We are looking forward to see you again at our little paradise.

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba is a boutique style hotel spread out on the site of a former coconut plantation. The hotel features a limited number of beautifully renovated one and two bedroom vacation houses, called "Casitas". Each fully air-conditioned Casita is foreseen of a complete kitchen, cozy living room, separate bedroom and private patio with hammock and BBQ set. The hotel is located just steps from world-renowned Palm Beach, with its pristine white sandy beaches and its bustling restaurants, casinos and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.