We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this boutique hotel. A real gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Hotel Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $185
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
“We loved this boutique hotel. A real gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Boardwalk for 13 nights in April. It was our first trip to Aruba and the Boardwalk was perfect for us. We echo all the other positive comments posted on Trip Advisor. This property is quaint, cozy, comfortable, clean, quiet, and nicely decorated. Love all the bright colours, beach decor. All the casitas have been renovated recently and more upgrades are still planned, like new furnishings still for some casitas We were in casita 2 which is a one bedroom, good size living room and kitchen, inside eating area. Great shower and comfy bed too. We enjoyed our garden patio area eating breakfast, lunch and dinner there and enjoying the lovely evenings after full days of snorkelling, touring Aruba. The location is terrific, so close to the beach and close to shopping. Morning and evening walks along Palm Beach were great, Palm Beach it self was not in our opinion a good swimming area, too busy, too many motor boats back and forth and the water not as clear and bottom weedy, which made it smell in areas. Loved Boca Catalina and Arashi, short bus and car ride away from the Boardwalk in the Gold Coast area. Great snorkelling beaches and water so clear and warm. Other great beach for walking and swimming is Eagle Beach, Awesome sunsets. To Stephanie, Alice and all the Boardwalk team ( Kimberly we didnt meet as she was on vac) and we cannt forget the Boardwalk cats who really made us feel at home, Dushi, & Lola, who came and hung out every day, thanks so such much for making our first trip to Aruba such a fun, relaxing, memorable time. Highly recommend staying at the Boardwalk to anyone planning a trip to Aruba. Definitely hope to go back someday and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Grethe T,

Thank you for your super review! Your feedback on Aruba's beaches is excellent. Many of our guest chose to rent a car and this way they get the chance to discover the many beautiful beaches Aruba has to offer! I am really happy and hope you will stay with us again soon!

Warm greetings
Stephanie
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    99
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
196
267
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wow! We feel so fortunate that we selected the Boardwalk for our first visit to Aruba. It was the perfect hotel for our 15 year wedding anniversary trip. Private, secluded, quiet, comfortable, cozy ... what other descriptive words can I use? Great value, felt like home, convenient to everything, but just far enough away from the crowds. We cooked breakfast in our room every day - and also cooked an evening meal there. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful when we had questions, and they didn't bother us when we were relaxing. Clean, well-decorated, fresh colors, updated amenities. The free wi-fi was awesome - very fast. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Buddybrou,

Wow, what a review! Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We hope this will be the first of many anniversary celebrations at Boardwalk hotel!

Warmest regards
Stephanie
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I went with the boardwalk for our anniversary trip which ended short by no fault of our own. The hotel is super pretty, decorated very nice (recently renovated), and friendly staff. They provide you with beach towels, toys for babies, and they sell sunblock and mosquito repellant if you need. The pool is small but very warm and nice. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Nice area to sit and just drink a glass of wine, relax on hammock or with friends and the patio off the rooms is fantastic! The beds are super comfy! I think the only I said 4 stars instead of 5 was for the same reasons others mentioned, a little bit of walk to beach. You do need a car I think unless you want to only visit Palm Beach. No restaurant on premises which we knew, but you have a kitchen (no salt and pepper - bring condiments) and a charcoal grill so go grocery shopping (they will tell you where). Wish they did not charge you for coffee or local calls - bummer. And wish they were open on Sunday, we almost were locked out of our room and the office was closed and no way to get in touch with anyone since we do not have a cell phone that works in. We ended up having to leave early, they are very strict with their cancellation policy so just keep that in mind. But they were very nice and accommodating. I would go back and think it is very nice, and staff was great with recommendations. Just keep in mind it has less amenities than a resort (we are not resort people so perfect for us). Would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Nflores07070,

Thank you very much for your kind words and detailed review. We appreciate your comments and tips to create an even better guest experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful casitas and tropical gardens of Boardwalk and hope you will be staying with us again soon!

Warmest regards
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My friend and I had a great stay... the staff is lovely, the room was lovely... you can walk to the beach, although having a car to get around is really necessary (which we like to have). The hotel was pretty quiet, which is something we wanted... the rooms very clean, the maid service was excellent. The only thing that would have raised some of the categories from a '4' to a '5' would be stuff like being able to get some extra beach towels, having more than one mirror in the hotel room (there was just the bathroom mirror)... the maintenance guy/groundskeeper was a bit noisy in the morning a few times right outside the bedroom window (I guess a storage shed is there?). ...This is not a 5-star luxury hotel with all of the amenities and staffing, but rather a charming bungalow with good-sized and colorful rooms, and very pretty outdoor areas and gardens. Overall, this is a delightful place to stay, and I would not hesitate to do so again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Rallennyc,

Thank you very much for your kind review and comments. I have passed on your comments to the handy man. With regards to the beach towels. We offer our guests as many beach towels as desired (we keep track of the towel count per casita by means of charging a refundable deposit per towel on your casita folio). I do recall us having troubles with both of our laundry machines around the time you were staying with us, which forced us to limit the number of towels to one per person per day. Our apologies for this inconvenience.

We are glad to be able to inform you that, in addition to the bathroom mirror, we now placed tall body length mirrors in all bedrooms. We appreciate your feedback, it allows us to improve our services and offer a better overall experience to our guests. Many thanks and myself and the team look forward to welcome you back at Boardwalk soon!

Warmest regards
Stephanie
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

we stayed at boardwalk from may25 to June 1st. we thought it was great ! the place is extremely clean,air condition in bedroom + living room (needed because Aruba is hooooooot)!, well equipped,people are very friendly and really do their best to make sure you enjoy your stay. Its also calm, which is exactly what we were looking for.The beds are comfortable. Pool fantastic.There are also two kitties....the brown one and the withe one....sooo lovely ! I hope they are doing ok..i didn't see the white one before leaving. My only comment is regarding the BBQ. Every casita has their own BBQ, which is great, it would just be nice if we didn't have to buy the matches and the coal and the lighting fuel....these should be provided. Overall we Loved Aruba and we loved Boardwalk ! weather is fantastic,people are friendly beaches are amazing ! ..just make sure you rent a car...if you can afford it rent a jeep and go see the natural pool and the national park !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Danju123,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are happy you enjoyed Boardwalk and Aruba and all it has to offer! We appreciate your comment on the BBQ and will take it into account for future improvements!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Boardwalk Hotel Aruba for a week and had an amazing time! Not only was the island beautiful, but being at the Boardwalk made our vacation very special. We enjoyed the space in the casitas and spent lots of time hanging out on our patio. The grounds are beautiful and in a perfect location; close enough to everything but not right in the middle of the large resort area. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Jenny M

Thank you very much for your great review and highly recommending us - delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming all of you back soon!

Sunny greetings from Aruba
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I were a little skeptical of picking a hotel away from all the action of the High-Rise Resort area. We knew we would missing out the large pool and beach front those hotels had to offer as well as instant access to the stores and restaurants. However, we trusted that the overwhelming amount of positive reviews couldn't be wrong so took a chance and decided staying at the Boardwalk would be our best choice. Upon arrival, we did notice the quiet atmosphere much different from the hustle-bustle of the High Rise Resort area. At first, we wondered if it was the right decision since it was a little too quiet for our taste. Secondly, the room we picked albeit nice and right by the pool, was a studio and not the large one-bedroom we had anticipated. Because of a slight error from the third-party website we booked from, Kimberly, one of the hosts almost immediately gave us the one bedroom we we were expecting. The room was beautiful! Large, spacious, clean, etc. etc....it was one floor up too so we had a nice view from our patio balcony. As the the days went by the room grew more and more onto us. We were happy to come to what we considered home while we were on vacation. After a long day at the beach, dining out, sight-seeing and shopping this is the place we wanted to come back to. The pictures on the website are like what you would expect at the room - very colorful, clean, and spacious. We took advantage of the kitchen as we had a few meals there. One night we even decided to do a nice quiet BBQ on the patio. Many reviewers including us would say the pool is small, but it was nice and quiet and never crowded. Also, it is indeed a five minute walk to Palm Beach which we did the first day; but, we ended up getting a car from the second day on and was able to explore and enjoy other parts of the island. In any case, the worst part of staying here was when we finally had to leave. It was sad to go and leave this nice, friendly hotel. We were even given a warm farewell from Alice and Tom. All the staff including the housemaids were incredibly nice and helpful to us; any sort of help from recommendations and reservations to finding our way around the island they graciously helped us. The only downside was they are only there Monday to Saturday 9am-5pm, but it was not difficult at all to work around that (the sisters Kimberly and Stephanie are always available via cell, if need be after hours). I could definitely go on about how wonderful our stay was, but to summarize I would say: we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Jjohn80,

Wow, what a comprehensive, thought out and honest review. It was an honor to have you stay with us and are very glad you enjoyed the small hotel experience. It is correct that we do not offer all the amenities large resorts offer, but we offer a place for you to call home whilst vacationing on Aruba. We love to help our guests out with guiding them towards the island's best beaches, activities, restaurants and more...

Thank you very much for your feedback. I know my team and I really look forward to welcoming you both back!

Warmest regards
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba is a boutique style hotel spread out on the site of a former coconut plantation. The hotel features a limited number of beautifully renovated one and two bedroom vacation houses, called "Casitas". Each fully air-conditioned Casita is foreseen of a complete kitchen, cozy living room, separate bedroom and private patio with hammock and BBQ set. The hotel is located just steps from world-renowned Palm Beach, with its pristine white sandy beaches and its bustling restaurants, casinos and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.