We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, fantastic people!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Hotel Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LAST MINUTE DEAL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, fantastic people!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It's a great place to stay, the sisters are very helpful and the staff too.
The room always very clean and they put some lemon essence, so when you walk in, after a hot day in the beach, you smell the lemon aroma and was like heaven. The location is great 3 minutes walk to the best beach (palm). Where you can find everything to do, restaurants and bars.
Near but not next door you find supermarket to by your groceries. But it's a tiny minimarket just around the corner.
The all experience was incredible. With my husband we're want to return on October, because the hotel and the island are unforgettable.
Can't wait

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Fabrahams2007,

We can not thank you enough for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! Thank you and see you in October!

Warmest regards,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    97
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
184
252
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We only had one night here and we will definitely be back! Fortunately it was the night of the rum punch gathering and Stephanie whipped up some tasty appetizers to go with the punch. The recent remodeling with bright colors, modern decor and skillful tiling of the shower give a very Carribean, relaxing experience. Our casita was right off the pool with a barbecue and chairs to lounge in. Very quiet and private with the lush gardens. The beach is a close walk and you have your choice of going into the high rise hotel area with a free pass for beach chairs, restaurants/bars on the beach or stroll north of Palm Beach to a more remote site. Easy access for runners to go for a sunrise run north to the California Lighthouse past Malmok and Arashi Beach. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Bondo_13,

Thank you very much for leaving a comprehensive and fun review. We are very happy you enjoyed the Malmok shoreline for your sunrise run! We look forward to welcoming you back some day soon!

Warmest regards,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been searching the Internet for some while. We had almost booked a resort on the island but found this hotel fortunately. We believe it was the best choice; the accomodation was clean and nice between the palm trees very close to the beach. Having a BBQ on your own patio is possible too. Stephanie and Alice gave us very good tips regarding nice beaches, restaurants and things to do on the island. The personal touch by the crew is the best and you will never find this in the many resorts on the island. We will recommend this hotel to all visitors who like a luxury accomodation within a family style environment. Providing free of charge snorkel gear, beach chairs and coolbox is a good example of the boardwalk to think just further than the ordinary resorts. We will definitely return again, no doubt about it!

Room Tip: Have a look on the map on boardwalk website to choose the accomodation according to your wishes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Jan V,

Thank you for your very kind words, we very much appreciate your positive review!

Glad that you enjoyed you found us on the internet and enjoyed your first stay. We look forward to the pleasure of having you for your second visit some day soon.

Sunny greetings
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Kimberly, Stephanie and Alice are very helpful, genuine and happy people. This gem of a hotel is creatively decorated -modern, very zippy, cool colours and is very clean. There is a great small pool nestled in a beautiful garden full of butterflies, birds and flowers. Boardwalk is quiet, private with friendly guests and staff. This resort is in the centre of the best beaches -Palm Beach is just a short walk. Highlights were Boca Catalina -best snorkelling, Boca Prins -wow, Screaming Eagle, Zeerover and Barefoot. This is a very happy place to stay!

Room Tip: Casita 11 is a great one bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear BarbaraandIan,

Thank you for leaving such a great review on the TripAdvisor website! It means the world to us and I am sure the traveling community will find it very helpful! Happy we we re able to help you find some of Aruba's best snorkeling and dining! We look forward to have you stay at our happy place again really soon!

Kind regards,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My cousin, best friend and I loved our stay here! We had a trip planned earlier in the year but a bad storm crippled the northeast. Stephanie and Kimberley were so accommodating with a reschedule! The casitas had just been renovated so we did run into a small unexpected plumbing issue they handled professionally including offers to use a shower in another room ( our drain was slow due to bad connection). The Boardwalk has all the amenities you need for a home away from home feel and is close enough to the restaurants if you want to ignore your kitchenette. The colors are bright and cheery. We had enough room to turn the living room into an aerobics spot for an after beach workout! The beach is walking distance and there are chairs and an umbrella you can borrow. Staying at the boardwalk is like staying with friends. Heading back soon.

Room Tip: Great for group travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear MEM-Ellis,

It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us! Many thanks for leaving such a happy and cheerful review. Also, thank you for your understanding with the drain issue we experienced during your stay. Luckily this issue was professionally resolved and hasn't caused any further problems. We look forward to have you stay with us!

Sunny greetings,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Boardwalk is a great place to stay. The nicely furnished Casitas are surrounded with a tropical garden, cosy areas around the pool and excellent service make this place a little paradise. Each Casita has its own patio and Weber Grill. Stephanie and Kimberly and the whole team are great hosts and very supportive with tipps and recommendations what to do in Aruba. The hotel is located in a very nice area of Aruba, Palm Beach is across the street and also the beautiful smaller beaches like Boca Catlina and Arashi Beach are not far away. It is the perfect place also for Kitesurfers as all the Kitesurfing Schools are at Fisherman's Hut next to Palm Beach. It is better to rent a car as Supermarkets and shops are not in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Carmen2111,

Thanks for your lovely review and fantastic tips for the TripAdvisor community. We are very happy you enjoyed everything Boardwalk has to offer, from the BBQ grill to the tropical gardens!
We also love Boca Catalina and Arashi and the peace, quiet and amazing snorkeling it has to offer! Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully will you come back to vacation with us again!

Sunny greetings
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel. We had a wonderful time with our two young kids. The managers were wonderful and always there to help make our plans for the day. The casitas are all recently renovated, AC units are new and silent, outdoor space is large and perfect to eat outside. The island is beautiful, beaches and sea are (almost) picture perfect everywhere. Our suggestion is to rent a car and see as much as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Fr0mItaly,

Delighted to hear that you had a great time at Boardwalk Hotel! We very much appreciate your positive review! Many thanks here for and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon! We noticed you gave us 3 stars on the "sleep quality" category. As we are always eager to improve our quality we would love to hear how we could improve our sleep quality. Please feel free to contact us directly to learn more about your feedback. My email is kimberly@boardwalkaruba.com. Thank you very much in advance!

Warm regards,
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba is a boutique style hotel spread out on the site of a former coconut plantation. The hotel features a limited number of beautifully renovated one and two bedroom vacation houses, called "Casitas". Each fully air-conditioned Casita is foreseen of a complete kitchen, cozy living room, separate bedroom and private patio with hammock and BBQ set. The hotel is located just steps from world-renowned Palm Beach, with its pristine white sandy beaches and its bustling restaurants, casinos and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.