We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with nice people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Hotel Aruba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LAST MINUTE DEAL
Oranjestad, Aruba
1 review
“Nice place with nice people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Normally we were going to stay in Boardwalk just for one week, but we liked it so much that we stayed in Boardwalk for more then 4 weeks. The 2 owners are so nice and friendly, you can count on them every day, every time. Every Friday they organise a rumpunch (or even a bbq) for all the visitors of Boardwalk. Very nice initiative and also pleasent to get to know all the other visitors.
We stayed in casita # 11, which was very nice, a lot of comfort and a lot of space. We also liked the swimming pool and the jaccuzi!
So for everyone who doens't want to stay in the high rise resort, Boardwalk is the ideal place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your trip review and for sharing your vacation experience. We are glad you got to enjoy the renovated and modern "casitas" and the other things - such as the weekly rum punch happy hour - that make Boardwalk a special place to return to year after year. Many greetings from the One Happy Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    97
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
181
250
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burrillville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went to the boardwalk at the beginning of december and stayed in casita # 4.The casita itself was wonderful ,although under repair on arrival.The wonderful owners were in the process of renovations when we arrived (so noisy and a construction site),yet once completed (and it could be done now),will be a quiet oasis!!!Although it's within walking distance from palm beach,it's a little off the beaten track,and a rental car is recommended (you'll be glad you did).We were not able to use the pool area related to construction ,and although it's small,looked inviting.The lovely owners were very accommodating and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable,always willing to give advise .We are looking forward to visiting again,and have considered a family & friend trip there with multiple casitas. NICE PLACE!!!!!GREAT PEOPLE!!

Room Tip: Casita #4 was a single casita,very private and a lovely patio area. casita #1-3 were all connected,a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed our wonderful resort and thank you for sharing your experiences with the Tripadvisor Community. The renovation works are over and Boardwalk has returned to being a quiet oasis. We look forward to host you, your family and friends here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Everything about this hotel is incredible. The Service, Location, Amenities, Atmosphere, Ambiance, everything is perfect. We will certainly recommend it to anyone and hope to stay there again real soon..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. It sounds "perfect" to us. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere nice with modern conveniences, but didn't want to stay someplace completely faceless or generic. The Boardwalk was the perfect fit. The casitas were certainly as nice as any room you could get at a high-rise, but the hotel is small, quiet, and private. Plus, you definitely can't get your own patio with a grill and hammock, or your own full kitchen at a high-rise. I don't know why anyone would want to stay anywhere else--you get more amenities at the Boardwalk, plus, you're not stacked on top of each other with all the other tourists. The Boardwalk has its own personality and relaxed, local feel. We loved it.

We also loved the individual attention from the ladies at the front desk. We loved that we were able to borrow a cooler, chairs, and get fresh towels every day. They gave us great advice on where to go, where to eat, and helped us get reservations. As you'll read in the other reviews, their service really is the best.

Lastly, I would just echo other reviewers and recommend that you rent a car. The Boardwalk is within walking distance of Palm Beach, but some of our favorite days were spent exploring other beaches and other parts of the island. Renting a car gave us the ability to explore the entire island and get around to shops and restaurants. I guess you could stay at the Boardwalk without a car, but you would miss out on so many other great experiences in different parts of the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Reading your review put a smile on our faces. We are very happy you had a fantastic vacation at our resort. It makes us all feel very proud reading all of the pleasures you got to enjoy both on property as well as on our One Happy Island. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you want to feel very special, go to the Boardwalk! Construction was under way, and you could really see the vision that Kimberely and Stephanie have. Yes, it was not as quiet as last year but thats ok, because next October 2013, Casita # 7 will be beautiful and I can't wait!
Thank you everyone at the Boardwalk for your kindness making me feel so special!!
Miss you and will be in touch soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Front Office Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for visiting Boardwalk hotel Aruba for years.. We want to thank you for all those years for being loyal to us whenever you come to Aruba. In 15 days Boardwalk will be again the quietest place on Palm Beach. We are placing the sand color tiles in casita 7. You will fall in love with casita #7 in October 2013.

See you soon! Big kiss from Kimberly, Stephanie, Lola, Veronica, Carmen and Fernando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

When we arrived late in the evening , the first things we saw were the construction works. They were far more thorough then we thought. And that worried us ... Unfortunatelly this worry became real early in the morning :( They tried very hard finishing casitas for other people and they had a delay. The consequence was that we almost never could sleep late, no quiet breakfasts on the terrace, no relaxing at the pool (as the worker constantly pass by), ... This was a bit of a disapointment.
BUT: Kimberly and Stephanie are great, they help you with everything & they understood that we weren't happy, Alice is very nice and also their maintenance crew is fantastic.
Rooms are large & very clean. Location is great. When these casitas will be finished it will be a gem again and a huge difference with the high rise hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope you had a good trip back to Belgium. We are working very hard to finish our constructions on time. We hope to welcome you and your family again when the construction is finish.

Sunny greetings from the Belgium girls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Boardwalk as part of our honeymoon trip and it was just perfect! The hotel is set out into a number of chalets, which are really nicely furnished and had absolutely everything we needed. We made use of the private BBQ 2/3 nights, but beware groceries are expansive in Aruba!
The pool was beautiful and we had it to ourselve twice, which was really nice!
The hotel is run by two sisters who are lovely and very accommodating. Booking.com failed to communicate our reservation to the hotel and luckily they had one room available and managed to get us sorted - infact we got a newly renovated room! Happy days! I only deducted one star as the hotel is undergoing renovation and it got a little noisy at times... But I suppose this will just make the hotel better in the long run.
I would highly recommend this property for its value and proximity to the beach - I had to add this because I read in a previous review that someone complained about this hotel being too far from the beach....that's rediculous. The beach is about 150 meters across the road!

Overall i would say do not hesitate book! We'll definately be back :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Front Office Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your nice words: the explanation about our location and pointing us 5 stars on Value. Your review is very helpful for us.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba is a boutique style hotel spread out on the site of a former coconut plantation. The hotel features a limited number of beautifully renovated one and two bedroom vacation houses, called "Casitas". Each fully air-conditioned Casita is foreseen of a complete kitchen, cozy living room, separate bedroom and private patio with hammock and BBQ set. The hotel is located just steps from world-renowned Palm Beach, with its pristine white sandy beaches and its bustling restaurants, casinos and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.